Mona Amps-190, +5-174 +10-117, +12-121!

Status
Not open for further replies.

atajev

Member Since 2014
Seriously? I only gave her .5 (reduced .25 each day for the last two days previous), and she's still borderline to shoot 12 hours later.

I only have one more testing strip for the next day and a half. Shoot blind in an hour and then test at the nadir? She was hypo yesterday on .75 in the am, but has had an increase by +1 every single time I've stalled.
 
Re: Mona Amps-190

What about skipping today since you're low on strips? You may have an OTJ kitty.

If she's high when you get strips then we can figure out where to start her back. But if she hypos you can't test to walk her out of it.

I'd rather she her high for a day or two than too low for a minute.

Mel and The Fur Gang
 
Re: Mona Amps-190

Mel, phew, thanks for responding. I'm cool with that. I'm also really afraid of her being too low and not being able to know, particularly since she's been asymptomatic during her hypos and we live so far from any vet (40 minutes).

Hmm, maybe it should include that stuff in my signature?
 
Re: Mona Amps-190, no more tests today

I have my phone set to alert me when there is a post here lol. I'm the mother hen here lol

My Autumn is the same way not a single outward sign of impending disaster. I've tested and caught her in the 20s. Talk about heart failure!! I'm much better at skipping insulin than shooting blind with her.

Mel and The Fur Gang
 
Re: Mona Amps-190, no more tests today

Thank you for being such a caring mother hen to us all! I really, really appreciate it.
 
Re: Mona Amps-190, +5-174

FedEx delivered the package today rather than tomorrow like their tracking predicted. Yay! I need to drive to our drop off box this evening, but I used the last Alphatrak strip to test her today when she usually has her nadir and she was only at 174 without any insulin this morning, which shocked me. Obviously her pancreas is at least doing something since she was slightly down from this morning's reading and she's been eating steadily since then. Woo hoo!

Anyway, I should get at least a PMPS test in tonight and hopefully one a bit before that, but will need some guidance on insulin dosing if anyone will still be up 7-10pm Pacific time.
 
Re: Mona Amps-190, +5-174

I'll be watching for you. But at this point I'm thinking you may very well have an OTJ kitty.

Mel and The Fur Gang
 
Re: Mona Amps-190, +5-174 +10-117 (new monitor)

I got the Arkray/Relion and she just tested at 117 at +10 from when she normally would have had her am shot, and +22 from the last actual .5u of insulin.

It's not as drastic since it's Alphatrak # for the beginning of the day and Relion for the last one, but that's still in the normal range, right?? I'll test again in another hour and a half, but it's looking like I should not shoot and just keep testing if she's not above 200 later, right?
 
Re: Mona Amps-190, +5-174

Yep 117 is NORMAL!!! Your normal on a human meter is between 40 & 120. If she stays in that range for 14 days without insulin we party because Mona is OTJ!!

Mel and The Fur Gang
 
Re: Mona Amps-190, +5-174

oh this is so exciting! Yahooo!

Mel, send the the info on how to get alerts about posts... I could do that too.
 
Re: Mona Amps-190, +5-174

I'm trying not to get too ahead of myself before the next test, but I am thrilled!!
 
Re: Mona Amps-190, +5-174

Linda go to the main page of this forum....scroll down to the bottom...check the box that says follow this forum or some such thing. That will send an email to you then set your phone to announce new emails. I have an email set up just for this board and other kitty related emails.

Mel and The Fur Gang
 
Re: Mona Amps-190, +5-174

No shot!!! Woohoo!!! Sleep tight and dream of a big OTJ trial...one day down 13 to go.

Mel and The Fur Gang
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top