Momo is 1 unit good?

Status
Not open for further replies.

MamaLovesMomo

Member Since 2020
Good morning! Sorry I missed this earlier. If you type my username starting with an @ sign, like @Nan & Amber (GA) , I will get an alert.

Yes, Momo has earned another reduction :). Let's try 1.0U, see how he does. Remember, he might be high for a couple days after the low. This is normal, you need to stick with the 1.0U for several days before you can really evaluate how the dose is doing (unless he goes under 90 again; then you would reduce immediately).
 
Good morning! Sorry I missed this earlier. If you type my username starting with an @ sign, like @Nan & Amber (GA) , I will get an alert.

Yes, Momo has earned another reduction :). Let's try 1.0U, see how he does. Remember, he might be high for a couple days after the low. This is normal, you need to stick with the 1.0U for several days before you can really evaluate how the dose is doing (unless he goes under 90 again; then you would reduce immediately).

@Nan & Amber (GA),

Hello, no it is fine... your response in much appreciated.. Oh ok... I am just worried she is high again.. So it takes few days for her body to get used to insuling dosing changes..

Thank you very much for your guidance to me.. I am just afraid-because the renal threshold is at 220? and I don't want her to damage her kidney.

That 's what I read.

Thanks a lot.
 
I am just afraid-because the renal threshold is at 220? and I don't want her to damage her kidney.

You are correct. We do want to try to get her to where she's spending most of her time below the 200's. It's just a little tricky to get there, but I think she's on the right path.

What is happening with the high numbers you are seeing now is that they are (temporary) reactions to the low numbers she's seeing at other times. They are frustrating to see, but we just have to wait them out. Lowering the dose can help, because if she doesn't go too low in those brief periods, she may spend less time in the longer reaction period when she's high.

But the other thing that helps is just time and patience. As her body gets more used to the safe lower numbers, it will start reacting to them less. You can see on her spreadsheet that she's definitely getting better with time and the lower doses-- there's a lot more blue now than there used to be! She is on the right track.

How is she feeling lately?
 
You are correct. We do want to try to get her to where she's spending most of her time below the 200's. It's just a little tricky to get there, but I think she's on the right path.

What is happening with the high numbers you are seeing now is that they are (temporary) reactions to the low numbers she's seeing at other times. They are frustrating to see, but we just have to wait them out. Lowering the dose can help, because if she doesn't go too low in those brief periods, she may spend less time in the longer reaction period when she's high.

But the other thing that helps is just time and patience. As her body gets more used to the safe lower numbers, it will start reacting to them less. You can see on her spreadsheet that she's definitely getting better with time and the lower doses-- there's a lot more blue now than there used to be! She is on the right track.

How is she feeling lately?

@Nan & Amber (GA)

Good morning,

How are you? Hope all is well with you all. Momo's a little high lately. She was 183 at her +12. I decided not to dose her because few days ago, she was low at her+12, and I need to wait for few hours to dose her when her numbers started to rise. The problem - it went all the way to 1am- and so hard for me and my husband to wake up, plus- I have to go home during my lunch break (1Pm) to dose her.
She was at 183 (+12) last night, so I did not dose her. I waited until 7 am, (+18.5 ) she was at 405, and gave her 1u. I hope we get a better number (she is now at 1u only).
Thank you so much for guiding me.. really don't know what to do if no one tells me what to do.

I appreciate everyone's guidance and help here, especially yours...
 
So, if I understand, you skipped last night's shot, which allowed you to get back on schedule? I think that was a good strategy, it's really hard to have the shot times so far off.

She may have "wonky" numbers for a little while as the depot re-settles, but that's fine. She'll get back on track! You are doing a great job with her :cat:
 
So, if I understand, you skipped last night's shot, which allowed you to get back on schedule? I think that was a good strategy, it's really hard to have the shot times so far off.

She may have "wonky" numbers for a little while as the depot re-settles, but that's fine. She'll get back on track! You are doing a great job with her :cat:

@Nan & Amber (GA),

Yes, I did skip her shot and tried to control her eating, because of the shot time schedule. She is mostly awake at night..
She is very high today at her PMPS (+12) = 480. I am a little nervous with her numbers again @1 unit.

Tomorrow will be her 6 cycles to be @1. Hopefully her number will go down. Thank you Nan & Amber.
 
Good morning
I hope her numbers come down soon, too!

Fyi, with that skip, you are going to have to start over in your shot count for this dose-- the depot will take some time to settle back down after a skip.

Good morning all,

Hi @Nan & Amber (GA),

I think I know now the problem- my fault again ( I am so sorry Momo). Yesterday morning, when I was injecting her, I feel something was wrong - "not a fur shot". I felt that when I pushed the needle so that the insulin will be injected to her (kind of wondering why - I feel that nothing was injected, as if when I pushed it, it did not move, meaning it was empty?).

I was like - did I inject her already? why it looks when i pushed the (stopper?? don't know how it is called), looks like it was in the same position. It looks like it happened the other day too..

I did not really know what was going on?

This morning - I am ready to inject her again - I already prepared the syringe with 1 unit on it. I tested her (my husband was holding her), she was at 364 AMPS., then took the syringe - ready to inject.. Since I always know I already put the right dosage of insulin on it - I never checked it - just dose her.

It so happened - I looked at it today on her AMPS, put it under the light if there was a bubble - oh my... it was empty... I never knew what happened. I have been trying to recall what happened -. I think there were times, when I put the cap back, I must have mistakenly push the end, and Lantus goes to the cap- meaning, I injected an empty needle to her - oh my-- another mistake..

Why am I doing all these stupid mistakes? might be having less sleep and so tired doing taxes (deadline yesterday)... Oh... Thank God, I gave a 2nd look this morning.

Hope no one here does the mistake I do.

Thanks a lot to all of you...
 
Mistakes happen, its when we find them and correct them that it becomes clear. Dont beat yourself up too badly. Now that you know what to look for things should get on track quickly.
Thank you for sharing this because it could help someone else.
WE LIVE, WE LEARN, WE GROW!:bighug:
jeanne
 
Mistakes happen, its when we find them and correct them that it becomes clear. Dont beat yourself up too badly. Now that you know what to look for things should get on track quickly.
Thank you for sharing this because it could help someone else.
WE LIVE, WE LEARN, WE GROW!:bighug:
jeanne


@jt and trouble (GA),

Thank you so much. I hope no one makes this mistakes I did. Thank you for always being here to give encouragement.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top