Mom-Mom 07/11 & 07/12 PMPS 582,+10-76 FINALLY

Status
Not open for further replies.

Mom-Mom

Member Since 2014
I have been going crazy trying to get a good blood reading from her and finally, this morning, I got a 77 @ + 8, she ate a half 3oz. can of Fancy Feast and at +10 she is a 76. I was definitely getting worried since I haven't seen a good number in a few days. I did get the strips to test her keytones and she is 100% negative. Thank You Jesus for not forgetting about my little angel. Have a great weekend all !!! :-D :-D :-D :-D
 
Have a Great Weekend, Laura and Mom-Mom.
Those are some nice greens. I hope you can give her her insulin this morning.
I am so glad she has no ketones.
 
hi laura!

nice to see you. i want to suggest that if you have a preshot you don't feel comfortable shooting, wait just 30 minutes for it to rise and then shoot it. So today you could've shot the 112 at +2. It looks like you skip everything under 100 right now. we encourage people to shoot everything over 50ish, then get a +1 and +2.

Skipping shots makes Mom Mom go SO high, and then her cycles look like a giant zig zag, instead of a gentle curve or flat line.

i'd suggest trying to shoot everything over 75. i think you'd see her cycles would flatten out some and she wouldn't keep going to those awful 400's and 500's. that must make her feel really crappy.
 
:sad: :sad: I definately messed up with missing a dose this morning. She shot WAYYY up there. I am a big chicken when it comes to numbers under 100. I just get :? :? confused about those numbers at times. She will NO DOUBT need one tonight. Sorry Baby Girl :sad: :sad: :sad:
 
It's okay, Laura. Next time.
Next time, you get a number that you are scared about, we can help you along the way and help you to decide when to shoot. We can be your support, when you're scared. We've helped lots and lots of people shoot them greens :mrgreen:
 
everybody is scared about it in the beginning. the thing i learned is that it's like an entirely different game when you shoot low. completely different than shooting a high number. It's like the difference between baseball and croquet - both involve a ball and a stick that hits the ball, but other than that, there's nothing the same at all.

after you've shot low a couple of times and see how the cat won't plummet down, but instead has this really great, flat cycle, it becomes really attractive, and then you WANT the low numbers to shoot.

in a lot of ways, shooting high numbers has more "risk" to it than shooting low. the cat can get a lot of speed going down from a high number, but shooting low there isn't very far to "fall." and typically, they don't.

the lower the number is that you shoot (above 50ish), the less the cat's BGs are likely to move. if you shoot a 75, she might only move 15 points or 20 points in the whole day. When you shoot 500, she might move 300 or 400 points.

maybe if you think of it that way, it will give you courage. She's going to continue giving you the opportunity, so just think about it, and like dyana said, if you post here asking for someone to stay with you when you shoot low, we will. whoever helps you make the decision to shoot will either stay with you or will find someone else who is experienced to keep checking on you.

you won't have to do it alone.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top