Mo just vomited 2 hours after insulin - Update

Deep breaths first. His bg is high enough so that he doesn’t need to eat immediately. Has he had the ff salmon before? Does he have any history of stomach issues? How is he acting? Was it the food or liquid he vomited?
 
Deep breaths first. His bg is high enough so that he doesn’t need to eat immediately. Has he had the ff salmon before? Does he have any history of stomach issues?
His BG is 19.3/347. He doesn't seem to be acting any differently except for the not eating. He used to be prone to vomiting but he always had an appetite and would always eat straight away. He hasn't done that in a few months at least so this is weird for him now.
 
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB...279-4-333-6-306-pmps-295.237959/#post-2671698

Mo didn't want much food this morning but ate a couple of treats and some salmon FF. Two hours later and he has just vomited. We can't convince him to eat anything. What do I do?
Chloe doesn't eat much when she's high like that. If she did, it would raise her numbers even higher. Anyway, you have to wait a day or two because you increased her dose. Do you have a way to measure ketones?
 
In the past when it happened was he given anything for nausea?
He wasn't given anything. We were able to manage it with hairball treats. It's just very unusual for him to not have an appetite.

I'm going to stay from work today and keep an eye on him.
 
Chloe doesn't eat much when she's high like that. If she did, it would raise her numbers even higher. Anyway, you have to wait a day or two because you increased her dose. Do you have a way to measure ketones?

I don't, but I can look into getting some strips. Otherwise, I might call my vet and get them to run some tests if he continues not to eat.
 
Just had to rush him to the vet. He started crying then threw up again. It's best that he gets monitored by them until they call me in for his appointment. Please keep him in your thoughts :(
 
Thank you everyone :bighug:

I got a call from the vet. We did the right thing by taking him in as he has a high temperature and is a bit dehydrated. She tested for ketones and there are none thank goodness! She is running blood tests now to test for pancreatitis and to see how his liver and kidneys are. We will get a call back in about an hour and a half hopefully with the results and how to move forward.

I'm feeling a bit relieved knowing he is ok but not knowing what the problem is still makes me anxious.

Thank you for your support. Hoping it's going to be a simple solution.
 
I was hoping she would test for pancreatitis. It’s so common with diabetes. I’m glad there aren’t ketones. Keep us posted. :bighug: A fever is not so common with pancreatitis though. I wonder if there’s an infection too.
 
:bighug::bighug::bighug:
Relieved it isn’t ketone related. I went through similar with Butters 3 weeks ago, starting with the exact same symptoms Mo had. It was pancreatitis.
I hope they have an answer for you, soon. I know that waiting for an answer is very hard.
 
Thank you both :bighug:

It has been confirmed as pancreatitis. His pancreas is inflamed which is causing the high temperature. They said we caught it early so he should be ok with a few nights at the vet, IV fluids, antibiotics, pain meds, and whatever else he needs really. I'm so relieved it's not ketone related.

@Butters & Lyla How is Butters doing regarding the pancreatitis?

Hope you are all well :bighug:
 
Make sure she gets sent home with plenty of pain medication, cerenia for nausea and an RX for ondansetron, a good human medication for nausea that works differently. Vets tend to give mirtazapine or the transdermal version as an appetite stimulant but I prefer the human drug cyproheptadine. I always was stocked with all the drugs because Max had chronic pancreatitis. Another crucial piece yiu need is pain medication. Buprenorphine worked for Max but Lyla did better with a pain patch and gabapenton.
 
Make sure she gets sent home with plenty of pain medication, cerenia for nausea and an RX for ondansetron, a good human medication for nausea that works differently. Vets tend to give mirtazapine or the transdermal version as an appetite stimulant but I prefer the human drug cyproheptadine. I always was stocked with all the drugs because Max had chronic pancreatitis. Another crucial piece yiu need is pain medication. Buprenorphine worked for Max but Lyla did better with a pain patch and gabapenton.

Thank you, that's really helpful!

I'm going to do as much research as I can about it. By the sounds of it, Pancreatitis takes a while to calm down. Hoping it will be a smooth road for my boy.
 
Butters is doing fairly well. Recovery hasn’t been totally smooth trying to make sure her pain is being managed properly. That’s one reason why it is so important to get proper pain meds. I haven’t had any issues with vomiting or getting Butters to eat. I followed Elise’s suggestion and convinced the vet to give me cyproheptadine, and it has really worked like a charm, along with the cerenia.
 
Pancreatitis can be chronic or acute. If Mo is having an acute episode he may not have another. Max had chronic pancreatitis for two years before becoming diabetic. There’s a whole primer here on it. I will be back to give you the link. I like the IDEXX article a lot. It’s really good you got her seen quickly. Often cats don’t vomit and just slowly stop eating. Then by the time a vet gets involved they have hepatic lipidosis from not eating enough and making it difficult to treat.
 
Butters is doing fairly well. Recovery hasn’t been totally smooth trying to make sure her pain is being managed properly. That’s one reason why it is so important to get proper pain meds. I haven’t had any issues with vomiting or getting Butters to eat. I followed Elise’s suggestion and convinced the vet to give me cyproheptadine, and it has really worked like a charm, along with the cerenia.
So glad Butters is eating and you're doing the right things to manage her pain. I hope her pain continues to be managed and gets her BGL back in the greens where she belongs :bighug:
 
Thanks. :bighug:Keep us posted with updates on Mo. I still started a thread daily where I would post updates on Butters (tests being run, meds being given, eating/not eating, etc) and ask questions. I know how hard this is. :bighug:But do your best to take Elise's advice and rest up right now.
 
Back
Top