MM is constipated - Stella & Chewy too much Probiotic?

Status
Not open for further replies.

MamaLovesMomo

Member Since 2020
Hi everyone @jt and trouble (GA) , @Nan & Amber (GA) , @tiffmaxee ,

Hello.. My MM is constipated... She did not do it on Saturday.. did it Sunday.. nothing from Monday until now... it is already Thursday and nothing yet.
Her stool on Sunday .. very light yellow and very very dried like a rock.
I gave her like 18 pcs of Stella & Chewy (SC Chick & Chick) - Saturday.
Sunday - 8 pieces
Monday-6
tuesday-6
Wed-6
Thursday - 0

She is only eating boiled chicken (I put a lot of water)... I started to put boiled chicken liver since yesterday (with Vit B12)


She is also taking 1 packet of Fortiflora (the vet gave it to her)due to her mild stomach inflamation.

Please if someone can help me what to do?

Thanks..
 
When you feed raw food the stool is dry and doesn’t smell much. It’s normal for them to even skip a day before going. I do add a teaspoon of 100% canned pumpkin as one of mine is prone to vomiting fur every so often.

Elise, you use pumpkin to help with hairballs? That's a new one for me. I might try it for Tux.
 
All I can say is add water to food and try the miralax. I sometimes think adding too much fortiflora can constipate. I add it for Zoe cause her BM's tend to be soft. And it gets her to eat her food.
AS ALWAYS hold on for more replies.
(pumpkin for hairballs hmmm I might try that also)
I WISH Zoe would eat raw food :(
jeanne
 
Elise, you use pumpkin to help with hairballs? That's a new one for me. I might try it for Tux.
I do but not sure it works. I just figured since I feed raw and my cat that gets them has such dry stool it’s worth a try. What works best if dry egg yoke which I bought from EZComplete but she has allergies and it might have triggered her dermatitis and/or EGC so I stopped. If her allergies con3 back I will try it again. I give it to my other cat but she’s not a puker..
 
Elise, you use pumpkin to help with hairballs? That's a new one for me. I might try it for Tux.

Hello all,
@jt and trouble (GA), @tiffmaxee

Thank you so much... will pumpkin not make her BG go up?

I read a lot of good things about pumpkin, but not sure about her being diabetic?

Thank you to all.. you are always on top of every member that has problems. I really appreciate. I wish I can meet you all someday and express my gratefulness.

Thanks...
 
I think the small amount of Pumpkin wont have too much affect. Try testing before and then a bit after and see the difference in the numbers from yesterday. (that is of course if you havent changed the dose)
 
Last edited:
As long as it's pure pumpkin and not the pie filling. Libby's brand seems to be the preferred. Ollie did not like store brand. Freeze it in cubes and take out as needed.
@Olive & Paula, @ Jt & Trouble, @ Tifmaxee, at Nan & Amber

Thank you so much to all of you, when I came home Thursday.. she did it.. great... and Friday again... She did not do it yet today.. I could not find a pumpkin. I only saw squash..
Alos, Olive & Paula, my Momo looks like your Olive...so cute.. they look like pretty sisters.. and same age... Olive was born in 2013? right?

I also have quick questions to you all.. only if you have time.. I know that Momo's nadir happens most of the time at her +10-+12.. and she has low pre-shot (when i give her 1.25u, since she was always high @1.00u), so I always wait for few hours, then shoot her..
I just want to find out - if I see her rising (like today at 110 from 83.) , should I dose her @ 110 right away (since she was rising already)--- instead of waiting to rise more== because the more I waited the higher she goes @330? which is no good..

Thank you to all.. I really appreciate..
 
@Olive & Paula, @ Jt & Trouble, @ Tifmaxee, at Nan & Amber

Thank you so much to all of you, when I came home Thursday.. she did it.. great... and Friday again... She did not do it yet today.. I could not find a pumpkin. I only saw squash..
Alos, Olive & Paula, my Momo looks like your Olive...so cute.. they look like pretty sisters.. and same age... Olive was born in 2013? right?

I also have quick questions to you all.. only if you have time.. I know that Momo's nadir happens most of the time at her +10-+12.. and she has low pre-shot (when i give her 1.25u, since she was always high @1.00u), so I always wait for few hours, then shoot her..
I just want to find out - if I see her rising (like today at 110 from 83.) , should I dose her @ 110 right away (since she was rising already)--- instead of waiting to rise more== because the more I waited the higher she goes @330? which is no good..

Thank you to all.. I really appreciate..

Olive was over 13 yrs old. She was a stray so didn't know her true age or history.

Canned pumpkin is fine to use as long as pumpkin is only ingredient. Pure squash is okay too if you can find frozen, or buy fresh, cook it and scoop it out. That's to much work for me. I used canned.

Now is the time to start adding it. To want to prevent constipation.
 
Olive was over 13 yrs old. She was a stray so didn't know her true age or history.

Canned pumpkin is fine to use as long as pumpkin is only ingredient. Pure squash is okay too if you can find frozen, or buy fresh, cook it and scoop it out. That's to much work for me. I used canned.

Now is the time to start adding it. To want to prevent constipation.
@Olive & Paula,
So sorry for your dad and Olive...This time must be very hard for you...
I just read the messages..Olive looks like my Momo. but I have Momo since she was a week old...
she is my son’s cat. His friend found her crying in their backyard and her mom left her, so she took her.. but my son’s friend’s mom did not like a cat- they have a dog( told her to put her back in their backyard). Good thing she called my son and brought her here. She is one of the precious gifts I have in our family- Momo.
Thanks a lot..
 
I also have quick questions to you all.. only if you have time.. I know that Momo's nadir happens most of the time at her +10-+12.. and she has low pre-shot (when i give her 1.25u, since she was always high @1.00u), so I always wait for few hours, then shoot her..
I just want to find out - if I see her rising (like today at 110 from 83.) , should I dose her @ 110 right away (since she was rising already)--- instead of waiting to rise more== because the more I waited the higher she goes @330? which is no good..

Thank you to all.. I really appreciate..[/QUOTE]
If you see she’s rising it’s safe to shoot as long as you are sure she will eat. You would then need to get a +1 and +2 and if she’s at or below the preshot number you will need to watch closely. If you shoot lower than you have shot before post and see if someone is available to guide you as to when and what to feed and how often to test. With Lantus you try to shoot low to stay low. Read the sticky on shooting low numbers. I printed it so I could reread it when I shot low and nobody was around to help me.

If you decide to shoot low post on the Lantus forum as the more experienced Lantus folks are there.
 
I also have quick questions to you all.. only if you have time.. I know that Momo's nadir happens most of the time at her +10-+12.. and she has low pre-shot (when i give her 1.25u, since she was always high @1.00u), so I always wait for few hours, then shoot her..
I just want to find out - if I see her rising (like today at 110 from 83.) , should I dose her @ 110 right away (since she was rising already)--- instead of waiting to rise more== because the more I waited the higher she goes @330? which is no good..

Thank you to all.. I really appreciate..
If you see she’s rising it’s safe to shoot as long as you are sure she will eat. You would then need to get a +1 and +2 and if she’s at or below the preshot number you will need to watch closely. If you shoot lower than you have shot before post and see if someone is available to guide you as to when and what to feed and how often to test. With Lantus you try to shoot low to stay low. Read the sticky on shooting low numbers. I printed it so I could reread it when I shot low and nobody was around to help me.

If you decide to shoot low post on the Lantus forum as the more experienced Lantus folks are there.[/QUOTE]
I also have quick questions to you all.. only if you have time.. I know that Momo's nadir happens most of the time at her +10-+12.. and she has low pre-shot (when i give her 1.25u, since she was always high @1.00u), so I always wait for few hours, then shoot her..
I just want to find out - if I see her rising (like today at 110 from 83.) , should I dose her @ 110 right away (since she was rising already)--- instead of waiting to rise more== because the more I waited the higher she goes @330? which is no good..

Thank you to all.. I really appreciate..
If you see she’s rising it’s safe to shoot as long as you are sure she will eat. You would then need to get a +1 and +2 and if she’s at or below the preshot number you will need to watch closely. If you shoot lower than you have shot before post and see if someone is available to guide you as to when and what to feed and how often to test. With Lantus you try to shoot low to stay low. Read the sticky on shooting low numbers. I printed it so I could reread it when I shot low and nobody was around to help me.

If you decide to shoot low post on the Lantus forum as the more experienced Lantus folks are there.[/QUOTE]
@tiffmaxee,
Hello... what you said actually makes sense to me.. instead of waiting more to rise.. like today... just after I dosed her.. just test her +1 and +2.. that is really very helpful to know...and if she goes lower than pre shot.. meaning.. the previous dose still working and maybe going low more.. which I should be keeping an eye on her..
Wow.. really a good idea.. ok thanks a lot
Yes- I will print them

Thank you again..
I also have quick questions to you all.. only if you have time.. I know that Momo's nadir happens most of the time at her +10-+12.. and she has low pre-shot (when i give her 1.25u, since she was always high @1.00u), so I always wait for few hours, then shoot her..
I just want to find out - if I see her rising (like today at 110 from 83.) , should I dose her @ 110 right away (since she was rising already)--- instead of waiting to rise more== because the more I waited the higher she goes @330? which is no good..

Thank you to all.. I really appreciate..
If you see she’s rising it’s safe to shoot as long as you are sure she will eat. You would then need to get a +1 and +2 and if she’s at or below the preshot number you will need to watch closely. If you shoot lower than you have shot before post and see if someone is available to guide you as to when and what to feed and how often to test. With Lantus you try to shoot low to stay low. Read the sticky on shooting low numbers. I printed it so I could reread it when I shot low and nobody was around to help me.

If you decide to shoot low post on the Lantus forum as the more experienced Lantus folks are there.[/QUOTE]
@tiffmaxee, @jt and trouble (GA), @Nan & Amber (GA) ,
Hi guys.. should I dose her now? She is slowly rising.. I am a little scared to dose her at 72?..
But I know in few hours- she will spike again..
I have never shoot her this low.. should I wait again?
Thanks a lot..
 
Aww of all the ones you ask... I'm that one that cant give dosing advice. AND I would be nervous about shooting on a 72 also. I never used lantus though. If Nan or Tiff dont see your tag, post on the lantus forum . Put something like "stalling advice needed."
@Deb & Wink might be able to help.
Sigh I'm sorry. :(
j
 
She earned a reduction yesterday a.m. cycle. I would not shoot now. Her dose in the morning will be 1.0. She dropped again today but that was the old depot in play. I’m glad you didn’t shoot.
 
Aww of all the ones you ask... I'm that one that cant give dosing advice. AND I would be nervous about shooting on a 72 also. I never used lantus though. If Nan or Tiff dont see your tag, post on the lantus forum . Put something like "stalling advice needed."
@Deb & Wink might be able to help.
Sigh I'm sorry. :(
j
Thank you so much... I really appreciate.. I just created a thread in Lantus..
 
She earned a reduction yesterday a.m. cycle. I would not shoot now. Her dose in the morning will be 1.0. She dropped again today but that was the old depot in play. I’m glad you didn’t shoot.
@tiffmaxee,
Sorry.. do you mind to explain to me what you meant by “old depot” in play? Was that the last shot before this coming shot? Was that when I shot 1+drop at her 134?
Thanks
 
I’d really stick with what you call .75+drop and see if you won’t need to skip and can shoot every 12 hours unless she earns a reduction.
@tiffmaxee. @Wendy&Neko, @jt and trouble (GA) , @Nan & Amber (GA),
Hello... sorry to keep bothering you all.. I gave her .75+ drop (close to 1unit). And today she is at 365 on her +12.5 ( I just got home, so 1/2 hour late)...
I am a little nervous now that she goes back high with less insulin. I gave her same dose like last night... but, how soon I should go back to 1.25 if she is always high like this?
Thanks a lot
 
You need to edit for her to stop bouncing. Then see where she is. We are happy to answer your questions but you need to understand how Lantus works. Have you read the yellow stickies at the top of the Lantus forum? She went into hypo territory on more insulin. A hypo is far mire dangerous gam bring too high after a bounce. Hypos can kill. It’s funny in a way. I’m usually yelling people it’s okay to shoot green numbers. I was scared my first times. Max never had a symptomatic hypo because I followed the guidance here. Patience is required. Look at my first spreadsheet and then my next one. Look at other ones too. It might help.
 
Don't worry about the high today, stick with the lower dose for a while. On SLGS, you should hold the dose for a week. No need to change the dose based on this number, it's counterproductive when using lantus. And it's not dangerous for her-- she's just bouncing a bit again, and will come down.

I agree that spending more time in the lantus forum would be a good thing. Lots of friendly people there to chat with! Even if you don't start posts for Momo it's helpful to read other people's posts and see how they are managing with this insulin.
 
You need to edit for her to stop bouncing. Then see where she is. We are happy to answer your questions but you need to understand how Lantus works. Have you read the yellow stickies at the top of the Lantus forum? She went into hypo territory on more insulin. A hypo is far mire dangerous gam bring too high after a bounce. Hypos can kill. It’s funny in a way. I’m usually yelling people it’s okay to shoot green numbers. I was scared my first times. Max never had a symptomatic hypo because I followed the guidance here. Patience is required. Look at my first spreadsheet and then my next one. Look at other ones too. It might help.
@tiffmaxee
Thank you so much for your prompt reply. Yes- I read that sticky and actually printed it. They actually said ok to shoot @low like over 50 for TR and over 90 for SLGS.. but I am scared to risk.. so I always wait for her to rise (even I only have 5 hrs sleep, just to wait for her)... That’s why my dosing time sometimes @+16, or +18, it always varies..then dose her..ok, thanks Let me check your SS, maybe will give me an idea..
I am just afraid that if she is always high- it will damage her organs..
 
That’s why my dosing time sometimes @+16, or +18, it always varies..then dose her..ok,
That may not be helping. Lantus gives the best results with consistent dosing (12/12 dosing schedule) that keeps the cat in safe numbers.

I think the suggestions you've received about revising the stickies about how Lantus works, reading the threads on the Lantus board and posting there for input on *safe* and effective dosing are good ones. There is so much to learn about FD, especially in the early days of treatment. There are some extremely experienced members contributing to the Lantus board and you will be able to learn an enormous amount from them.

I understand and appreciate your discomfort about seeing your little one have high BG readings; we all feel like that. Alas, much as we might wish it, we can't force our kitties' systems into better numbers. Their little bodies didn't get diabetic overnight, and they need to relearn how to respond properly to insulin again. It takes time and patience.


Mogs
.
 
That may not be helping. Lantus gives the best results with consistent dosing (12/12 dosing schedule) that keeps the cat in safe numbers.

I think the suggestions you've received about revising the stickies about how Lantus works, reading the threads on the Lantus board and posting there for input on *safe* and effective dosing are good ones. There is so much to learn about FD, especially in the early days of treatment. There are some extremely experienced members contributing to the Lantus board and you will be able to learn an enormous amount from them.

I understand and appreciate your discomfort about seeing your little one have high BG readings; we all feel like that. Alas, much as we might wish it, we can't force our kitties' systems into better numbers. Their little bodies didn't get diabetic overnight, and they need to relearn how to respond properly to insulin again. It takes time and patience.


Mogs
.

@Critter Mom, @tiffmaxee, @Nan & Amber (GA), @jt and trouble (GA)

Hello there,

I was thinking overnight what you said.. it kept coming back to my mind... this word "consistent" kept playing like a broken record to me... You were absolutely right... Per Kirsten - consistent dosing (dosing wise and time wise).. which is every 12 hours.
I just really need to find the right dosage to her... a dose that will keep her in a normal healthy range... avoiding hypo and hyper (at least within the renal threshold). Every day is like a trial to me...(her foods, proper diets, vitamins, insulin dosage (its effects), blood test works -- and always worrying what she may be feeling every single day... was not easy... I hate needles, and here I am.. injecting and pricking her ears every single day.. I feel so bad I have to do this to her..
I wish I have taken care of her and started her with good diet earlier.. I wish I did not give her dry goods (I cannot move the time back.. I just need to move forward and do the best I can do to her now, just like what you guys used to tell me.
She was @361 this am, and gave her 1 unit and dropped at 286 (+3).. I realized per Kirsten, decreased the dosed in increment of .25... since she was getting 1.25 (1 should be the next level down right?. not .75u..
Thank you to all of you and I will see how she goes @1 unit.. then will decrease her again if she continues to be at hypo numbers.. unless otherwise.. I will continue to read more at the Lantus forum, I have not had the chance to read them all...


You area all very helpful and give me your precious time as always.. Take care and God bless...
 
This is such any easy thing to say yet important to repeat:
Diabetes is a Marathon NOT a sprint.
It takes time to find all the perfect levels. Sometimes it takes weeks sometimes years. W all do the best we can with what we have.
Together hopefully we make the journey pleasant and fruitful.
You will find your own peace with needles and pokes. It WILL come.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top