So, as far as the increase at the +6 (i was def expecting a decrease in bg) what are your thoughts?
Well, I will just tell you the way I normally think...
I don't put a lot of weight on the whole "inverse curve" theory. Others do, and they have their reasons and logic. I've just never really agreed with the theory.
To me, when you see a frowny faced curve, if the high in the middle is due to too much insulin, then I guess I need to "see" the low number that caused the high number that follows. Usually, I can't see it. That doesn't mean it isn't there, just that nobody saw it on a meter. So at best, it's not supported by data. Having said that, I think two reasons exist for high numbers, no matter when they happen in the cycle
1- a "bounce" due to the numbers going low enough for the liver to panic and dump "sugar" into the bloodstream. And bounces can take a couple days to go away sometimes. Sometimes they go away more quickly. So I look for the "low" that caused the "high".
2 - not enough insulin. If you see a flat cycle, one that doesn't show a "dip" in the middle of the cycle, AND you don't believe the kitty is in the middle of a bounce, then it's probably due to the prior dose being too small.
The cycle in particular on your spreadsheet that confuses me, that I can't explain, is the PM cycle on the night of the 20th. The one that gave you a beautiful but not shootable 48 the next morning. On that one cycle, it looks like Mittens responded great to 1.0u, and just kept dropping longer than logic would say he should have. I can't explain why that happened. It just did. The previous cycle, that morning, the same dose seemed to do nothing for him.
Then I think on the morning of the 22nd, two things caused that red preshot number. And you noted both on the comments on the SS. 2 skipped shots AND a bounce from that 48. You may have been able to shoot a small dose on the 176 PMPS the evening of the 21st, because the number was definitely a rising number. I understand why you may not have done that....he was under 200, and that's the "line in the sand" we usually draw as far as not shooting.
That AM cycle to me, looks like the bounce decided to not stick around for long. It wasn't that the AM dose of .75 was too much. It was that dose combined with the bounce clearing that resulted in the yellow PMPS of 286. But I think that the .25u shot he got at PMPS was too little. It didn't seem to cause a drop and let the numbers rise instead.
Getting back to today's higher number at +6.
It looks like the dose just didn't last long enough. It obviously did something, as his BG dropped over 100 points in four hours. It just seems to have petered out earlier than it should have. Sort of the opposite of what happened with the shot the night of the 20th, the one that seemed to last forever. It don't think the rise since +4 is "bounce" because I don't see a number that might have been low enough to cause him to bounce. Just for whatever reason, the dose wore off early.