Mittens 12-8-13 AMPS=402, +6=503?!?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Lyndsey & Mittens

Active Member
AMPS=402, gave 1.2u (used u-100 syringe)
+6=503!!

Not sure what is going on, I'm pretty sure this mornings shot was not a fur shot...I'm a little worried...Hes eating, but acting very tired & kinda staying away from everyone today. Dont think he went low last night, last nights +7 was 325 so I don't think it's a bounce.

Wonder if I should increase back to 1.25u or 1.4?
 
Nope-now it's saying 592...really not sure what to do but I am very worried (and I normally don't freak over high numbers).

No chance that he could have gotten into any contraband and I converted correctly to use the u-100 syringe (filled to the 3u mark).

So worried-don't know what to do.
 
Gosh, Lindsey, I don't know what to advise. If he is bouncing, more insulin will not help. Have you taken a recent ketone test? Any chance of an infection?
 
No-I haven't been able to catch him in the litterbox lately-he's been going overnight recently. Wonder if I should take him to the emergency vet (am I overreacting?), or just continue to monitor? Since his +7 was 325 & he's never bounced this high before-I really don't think it's a bounce.

I'm very worried. nailbite_smile

Not sure about an infection-he's not acting sick except for the fact that he's acting lethargic & disconnected today.
 
If you could get a ketone test, I would feel better. The lethargy isn't good but that he is eating is. I guess the ER could check for an infection and get a ketone test. Maybe it's a good idea?
 
I carried him to the litterbox to try & get him to pee-he wasn't having it...lol. This is such a hard call to make, I want him to be safe, but don't want to take him in & stress him out unnecessarily.

Guess I'm mostly concerned b/c he wasn't even this high when he was initially diagnosed (585 on an AlphaTrack) & was on dry food at the time.
 
If not, then keep watching him (like you weren't planning on that :mrgreen: ) get another bg test sometime soon and a ketone test when you can. Maybe feed him some food with water mixed in to give his bladder more to work with?

I'm around today. I'll keep a watch out for you.
 
Thanks Sue :smile: . I was also thinking about giving him his shot early (about 1.5 hours early) and check around +3 to see if he drops? And if he continues to rise, take him in then? Assuming I was unable to get a ketone test by then.

Good idea on the food & mixing in extra water...going to try that now.
 
This cat is a puzzle! He's now at 385 (checked twice, 2nd reading was 387)-delayed cycle perhaps?

Thank you Sue for talking me through this-I was so worried. I'll still keep an eye on him & try to get a ketone test, but I think we are in the clear for now?

Wondering if I should increase back to 1.25u (at least for the 400 preshots).
 
That is odd. If it happens as a pattern more than once, it might be an inverted cycle - higher in the middle than at the end. The wisdom with inverted cycles is to lower the dose.

Glad to see a lower number. Maybe if this cycle he continues to drop past pmps, lowering the dose would be good....
 
Hmmm...ok-so maybe decrease to a fat 1u tonight if his numbers continue to go down? And your suggestion of more food plus water to make him pee-got a ketone test=negative (whew)!
 
Ok, he's going back up now-his +10 is in the 400s, would this still be considered an inverse curve? Not sure what dose to give for tonight's shot.
 
Sue

Do you suppose that ProZinc elicits New Dose Wonkiness, too? (where an increase in dose results in chaotic numbers for a couple of days)
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top