Mittens 12-5-13 AMPS=411, +10=59

Status
Not open for further replies.

Lyndsey & Mittens

Active Member
AMPS=411, gave fat 1.25u

Didn't seem like he was dropping that much & I was hoping for a lower preshot number in the yellows, so I increased slightly to a fat 1.25u this morning.

His +10=59...guess I shouldn't have increased-as ill probbably have to skip tonight's shot. Uggg ohmygod_smile
 
No worries. Now you know what dose and that's good. So maybe there is a limit to how much to dose through a bounce. Maybe still not reduce, but increase a little less.
 
You gave a fat 1.25 this am, right? I think, since the regular 1.25 has been okay, I might stick with it or try a skinny 1.25 on those red numbers , when I could monitor. You can bring him up with food if you can monitor and we want him to be in those greens and blues whenever he can. If you consistently get lows for pre shots, then drop the dose on the reds? If he gets a yellow preshot, then definitely give less. Does that make sense? Do we have a sliding scale for him? Shall we try to make one?
 
Mittens seems to be all over the place so I think Sue is right. Perhaps a custom dosing schedule for specific numbers might work instead of a fixed amount? Also, the higher dose of 2 units really lasted a loooong time it seems so definitely that seems to me to be too much insulin for Mittens.

Simon really did not go higher than the 300's more than a few times so I would be no help in the higher ranges in terms of dose, but if you look at what has worked well for specific numbers, you may be able to figure out good doses for numbers between 200-300 and for 300-400 and then for any number above 400 by seeing what worked before to bring Mittens down.
 
Thanks guys! So, just to make sure I'm following-either hold the 1.25u or 1.25s for now, and if I continue to get red preshots try decreasing just a smidge? And if a yellow or pink preshot definitely decrease (maybe 1u) for that range??

On another note, tonight I stalled & didn't feed and at 30 minutes past his normal shot time he was at 108, so I went ahead & gave him a skinny 1u since his numbers are increasing pretty rapidly...pretty sure he will be bouncing like crazy by tomorrow so I wanted him to have some sort of coverage overnight.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top