Mittens 12-23-13 AMPS=371

Status
Not open for further replies.
I think I've seen it-is it the reference ranges for glucose numbers? I can't seem to locate it at the moment-is it a sticky?

Is there something I should be taking into account that I'm missing? His +3 is usually lower than his +4's (I've noticed that his +4 usually jumps up quite a bit-I'm thinking a good spike from his preshot meal)...
 
Not yet!

The difference in using a pet-specific meter vs a human meter (aside from the very high cost of the former) is mostly a matter of scale (though not exactly 1:1). Think of it as reading temperature in Celsius vs Fahrenheit. Both are correct. If you have the reference values for each, you can interpret them.

Here are some glucose reference ranges used for decision making using glucometers. Human glucometer numbers are given first. Numbers in parentheses are for non-US meters. Numbers in curly braces are estimates for an AlphaTrak.

[Glucose reference ranges are unsubstantiated and have been removed by Moderator]

[c]* * * * * * * * * * * * * * *[/c]

How to use the glucose reference values chart:

When you get a test, look for the number on the chart that either equals, or contains, the test value you have. Read the information. As needed, make a decision and act.

Ex. You are a new insulin user and you test your cat before giving insulin. The test is 300. It probably is safe to give insulin.

Ex. You are an established user of Lantus, following the Tight Regulation protocol. You've tested around +5 to +7 to spot the nadir. It is 200 mg/dL. You probably need to increase the dose, following the instructions for the protocol.

Ex. Your cat is acting funny. The eyes are a bit dilated. You are concerned and test the glucose. The number is 35 mg/dL. ACK! The cat may be in a hypoglycemic state. You quickly follow the HYPO protocol linked in the glucose reference values chart. (which we really, really, suggest you print out and post on your refrigerator.)
 
Thanks BJM, def need to print that out now since dosing for Lantus is completely different than with Prozinc. I'm just glad we finally got a yellow & are making progress-he's been in the pinks/red/blacks for so long now, but I know that there is still progress to be made :-D .
 
And you got a nice blue for your nadir, along with pre-shot #'s coming down since dose increase. Making progress...yay!
 
Woo hoo! His +6 is now 164. Just wondering if I should concerned b/c I increased his dose from 1u to 1.5 last night-using the logic that dose increases typically take a few cycles to kick in??

Also anticipating a big ol bounce in the AM, but we shall see...
 
It does take Lantus roughly 3 days to stabilize at a new dose. Also, we like to do changes in eyeballed 0.25 increments so we don't miss the best dose.

That said, if you can test around his nadir over the next 5 shots or so, you might stick with the dose and see how low he can get on it. If you can't get the nadirs or will be unable to monitor, I would back off to 1.25 units.

If he goes lower than 50 mg/dL it is an automatic dose reduction per the Tight Reg criteria and if he goes below 90 mg/dL I believe the Start Low, Go Slow protocol stipulates a reduction.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top