Mittens 10-6-13 AMPS=346

Status
Not open for further replies.

Lyndsey & Mittens

Member Since 2013
AMPS=346, +5=356

Think it's time for another dose increase. Planning in inc PM dose to 1u tonight. Will see what the AMPS for the next few days looks like before inc AM dose.
 
I do not understand his numbers, Lyndsey. They almost look like he is getting no insulin at all, just completely flat. We should see some movement with the increases you have done. I think you can only do what your doing, slow increases until you see some movement.

I am sure we have asked before, but you are sure the insulin is good, right?
 
Yes, I'm pretty sure it's still good-it's clear on top & cloudy on the bottom before mixing; and after mixing (rolling) it turns all cloudy w/little floaties (no clumps). I've had it for little over a month & store in the refrigerator. Exp date on the bottle isn't until next year, Oct 2014.

I'm starting to get discouraged...I cannot figure out what is going on; at first he had such a strong response & now it's like he isn't responding at all. I'm sure he needs a bigger dose than what I'm currently giving him-but I'm scared of increasing too quickly... :YMSIGH:
 
The good thing is that you can plan to be around and you know how to handle a low number if you get one. Time for him to have SOME kind of reaction!
 
I agree-just did a +3 and got 407! Conflicted b/c I HAVE to increase his AM dose this week, but I cannot be home until +8 to monitor due to work. Argh!

Good news is that I've been able to test for ketones (negative).

He does have a history of urinary crystals (hospitalized twice due to a complete blockage) hoping he's not starting to block up again (but the canned FF diet should prevent that-right)? Since switching to an all wet food when he was diagnosed, he isn't drinking ANY water, so I've been mixing it in with his food, so I am a bit concerned about that...

If this pattern keeps up, I may contact the vet, but I'm sure they might say that it's b/c I wasn't giving him his prescribed dose of 3u... :YMSIGH:

ETA: was just reading Dr. Piersons website and it appears that I should be looking for a food that is also low in Phosphorus for urinary crystals....Weruva or Wellness (grain-free) seems to be a good choice for LC & low Phos (I should be looking at the dry matter % values-correct)? think I may give that a try...
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top