Missed/Partial Shot

Status
Not open for further replies.

Summer and Susie (GA)

Member Since 2020
I'm sorry to post on this thread twice in one day but I believe I had a partial missed shot. Susie pulled away just as I was shooting. I did not feel anything wet on her fur. There was a tiny bit left in her syringe so I went ahead and gave it to her. Her AMPS was 241 and at +2 she was only down to 230. I know you are not supposed to shoot again if there is any question that she did/did not get her shot. Is there anything else I should know other than to continue to test? I guess I just wait until her PMPS time to give her more insulin?
 
I'm sorry to post on this thread twice in one day but I believe I had a partial missed shot. Susie pulled away just as I was shooting. I did not feel anything wet on her fur. There was a tiny bit left in her syringe so I went ahead and gave it to her. Her AMPS was 241 and at +2 she was only down to 230. I know you are not supposed to shoot again if there is any question that she did/did not get her shot. Is there anything else I should know other than to continue to test? I guess I just wait until her PMPS time to give her more insulin?

Hi Summer
This has happened with me, Duke moved as i injected him and i didn't get the full dose into him or fur shot but whatever you do don't give her anymore insulin. All you can do is wait until her next injection time but if it were me i would still test just to be sure.
You know me Summer, i test a lot.
 
Hi Summer
This has happened with me, Duke moved as i injected him and i didn't get the full dose into him or fur shot but whatever you do don't give her anymore insulin. All you can do is wait until her next injection time but if it were me i would still test just to be sure.
You know me Summer, i test a lot.
Thanks, Tee. Better safe than sorry - right? Yes, you do test a lot. Do you sleep much?
 
Thanks, Tee. Better safe than sorry - right? Yes, you do test a lot. Do you sleep much?
Lol, no i don't sleep much, i'm knackered most of the time and cat nap lol throughout the day inbetween testing. He's ok now until his PM shot so i will take an hour or two now and check him again at +9 or +10
Fear is the word for it :nailbiting:, i just dare not leave him until i know he's safe from dropping too low even if i think he will be ok.
But he's worth it.:)
 
Last edited:
Lol, no i don't sleep much, i'm knackered most of the time and cat nap lol throughout the day inbetween testing. He's ok now until his PM shot so i will take an hour or two now and check him again at +9 or +10
Fear is the word for it :nailbiting:, i just dare not leave him until i know he's safe from dropping too low even if i think he will be ok.
But he's worth it.:)
That is my biggest concern too. I would be testing a lot as well if Susie had low numbers. Wish I could just get her in the low 100's. I would be happy with that forever.
 
That is my biggest concern too. I would be testing a lot as well if Susie had low numbers. Wish I could just get her in the low 100's. I would be happy with that forever.

Summer, would it be worth asking your vet to switch Susie to Prozinc instead of the Vetsulin. As far as i'm aware Prozinc is a lot better for cats and Vetsulin/Caninsulin is better for dogs or maybe Lantus which i know absolutely nothing about.
I'm sure someone with better knowledge of insulins will explain the difference but what i do know is that Vetsulin can hit hard and fast whereas Prozinc is longer lasting and more gentle.
 
You hum it, I'll play it.

:bighug:


Mogs
.
Lol.
3b1da8e1762ba34e8c45952a88d361a7.png
 

Attachments

  • 3b1da8e1762ba34e8c45952a88d361a7.png
    3b1da8e1762ba34e8c45952a88d361a7.png
    267.6 KB · Views: 268
Summer, would it be worth asking your vet to switch Susie to Prozinc instead of the Vetsulin. As far as i'm aware Prozinc is a lot better for cats and Vetsulin/Caninsulin is better for dogs or maybe Lantus which i know absolutely nothing about.
I'm sure someone with better knowledge of insulins will explain the difference but what i do know is that Vetsulin can hit hard and fast whereas Prozinc is longer lasting and more gentle.
I'm actually switching to Lantus on March 1st. I already have the pens in my refrigerator. Just needed a little time to read up on it before I take the plunge. Besides, my Vetsulin is still good and I hate to throw away good insulin. Susie definitely missed her shot. She is up to 331 at only +7. I will hate to see what her PMPS test will read. Poor cat. I need to be more careful.
 
You hum it, I'll play it.

:bighug:


Mogs
.
Mogs, is it possible to give Susie her PMPS test, food and shot an hour early today (5:30 normal time for todays shot)? Maybe at 4:30 or 5:00 and then go back to the 5:15 or 5:30 shot in the morning. I know it is a longer time between her PMPS shot and tomorrows AMPS but I'm worried her glucose is going to go "sky high" if I wait to shoot until 5:30 tonight and she doesn't feel too well - I don't think.
 
I'm actually switching to Lantus on March 1st. I already have the pens in my refrigerator. Just needed a little time to read up on it before I take the plunge. Besides, my Vetsulin is still good and I hate to throw away good insulin. Susie definitely missed her shot. She is up to 331 at only +7. I will hate to see what her PMPS test will read. Poor cat. I need to be more careful.

That's good Summer, so next Monday is the day then. I'm sure you will see better numbers with the Lantus as it's supposed to be the best out of the bunch.
It's not your fault Susie decided to move at the wrong time. Duke's getting wise to it all now and jumps of his chair when he see's me coming with the needle, he's not frightened or anything just a case of sod of with that thing i'm off but a piece of chicken and he's running back on to his chair but he does fidget a bit sometimes when i'm trying to inject him.
 
That's good Summer, so next Monday is the day then. I'm sure you will see better numbers with the Lantus as it's supposed to be the best out of the bunch.
It's not your fault Susie decided to move at the wrong time. Duke's getting wise to it all now and jumps of his chair when he see's me coming with the needle, he's not frightened or anything just a case of sod of with that thing i'm off but a piece of chicken and he's running back on to his chair but he does fidget a bit sometimes when i'm trying to inject him.
Susie is usually very good with the shot. She will react just a little from time to time but this time really caught me off guard. I always give her a PureBits or Whole Life treat afterward. Yes, Monday is the day. A whole new procedure from the Vetsulin and I am nervous about it. Using a pen will be different for me but I have read up on it and even bought a caliper, a whitebox and a lighted magnifying glass for those tiny little adjustments that might be necessary.
 
Hi Summer , you will be happy with the lantus, do you mean you will be shooting using the pens?
With the pens you can only increase by 1 units
We all buy U-100 syrings with half unit markings so we can increase or decrease
by 0.25 units.
Just take the top off of the pen and you will see a small gray rubber stopper and stuck your syringe in that and draw up your dose
If I misunderstood sorry about that :cat:
 
Mogs, is it possible to give Susie her PMPS test, food and shot an hour early today (5:30 normal time for todays shot)? Maybe at 4:30 or 5:00 and then go back to the 5:15 or 5:30 shot in the morning. I know it is a longer time between her PMPS shot and tomorrows AMPS but I'm worried her glucose is going to go "sky high" if I wait to shoot until 5:30 tonight and she doesn't feel too well - I don't think.
No, Summer, you need to stick to your regular shot time because, even though Susie's higher today, you don't know how much insulin might have gone in this morning. You need to work 'as if' the full dose had been administered successfully.

By way of general info, if a shot is skipped then you can bring the shot time for the next dose forward a bit.


Mogs
.
 
Susie definitely missed her shot. She is up to 331 at only +7. I will hate to see what her PMPS test will read. Poor cat. I need to be more careful.
It's not your fault Susie decided to move at the wrong time. Duke's getting wise to it all now and jumps of his chair when he see's me coming with the needle,
I've got a similar problem when trying to give the Noodle her bupe. I can tell you for a fact that there's nowt wrong with her hearing because as soon as she hears me in the kitchen flicking the side of the syringe to shift the air bubbles - through a closed door! - she retreats behind the sofa. (Crafty minx.)

Lúnasa's fairly OK with pills but she's a lightin' divil for jerking her head as I'm pressing the syringe plunger to administer her oral bupe. Doses have variously ended up spattered all over my glasses, the floor, her chest... :banghead:


Mogs
.
 
Hi Summer , you will be happy with the lantus, do you mean you will be shooting using the pens?
With the pens you can only increase by 1 units
We all buy U-100 syrings with half unit markings so we can increase or decrease
by 0.25 units.
Just take the top off of the pen and you will see a small gray rubber stopper and stuck your syringe in that and draw up your dose
If I misunderstood sorry about that :cat:
I wasn't clear, Diane. I will be using the U100 syringes, with the 1/2 unit markings, to draw from the pens. I'm all set. I have the pens and the U100 syringes and the caliper for any tiny adjustments - which I hope I never have to do. It is good to hear from you. Thanks for following my thread. I am nervous but hopeful about my switch to Lantus.
 
No, Summer, you need to stick to your regular shot time because, even though Susie's higher today, you don't know how much insulin might have gone in this morning. You need to work 'as if' the full dose had been administered successfully.

By way of general info, if a shot is skipped then you can bring the shot time for the next dose forward a bit.


Mogs
.
Okay. I know she got a little in this morning and I will wait to shoot again until her regular time at 5:30. Dreading her PMPS test.
 
No, Summer, you need to stick to your regular shot time because, even though Susie's higher today, you don't know how much insulin might have gone in this morning. You need to work 'as if' the full dose had been administered successfully.

By way of general info, if a shot is skipped then you can bring the shot time for the next dose forward a bit.


Mogs
.
I am really confused now and I'm sorry to bother you again. I just tested Susie, twice, at PMPS. She got a 275 and a 271. Why wouldn't she be much higher with a 331 @+7 and no insulin on board. I was expecting her to be in the 400's at PMPS.
 
I see from your spreadsheet notes that you fed Susie at +6. If so, the 331 is likely a food bump. Good illustration of why we do fasted readings at preshot before giving insulin.


Mogs
.
 
I see from your spreadsheet notes that you fed Susie at +6. If so, the 331 is likely a food bump. Good illustration of why we do fasted readings at preshot before giving insulin.


Mogs
.
Thank you. Makes sense that the food bumped her glucose up but what dropped it down prior to PMPS without insulin on board. Anyway, thanks for your help today. I will not bother you again tonight. I hope you "tag team" with others so you can get some sleep when you need it. Goodnight.
 
I wasn't clear, Diane. I will be using the U100 syringes, with the 1/2 unit markings, to draw from the pens. I'm all set. I have the pens and the U100 syringes and the caliper for any tiny adjustments - which I hope I never have to do. It is good to hear from you. Thanks for following my thread. I am nervous but hopeful about my switch to Lantus.
You and Susie will do fine. Tyler used to be on vetsulin a long time ago,then I switched to lantus, and boy was I glad I did
After 2-1/2 years he's in remission. I don't want him to hear me say that lol
I'm sure you will be pleased switching to lantus :cat:
I never used calipers I would just eyeball the lower doses.
But many do use calipers and love them
Here is an illustration



Pictorial guide using a U-100 syringe marked with half units:
49823504036_be8b19dcbc_o.jpg

49822973598_f0540f7a37_w.jpg

49822973683_0559ae843a_o.jpg
 
I've got a similar problem when trying to give the Noodle her bupe. I can tell you for a fact that there's nowt wrong with her hearing because as soon as she hears me in the kitchen flicking the side of the syringe to shift the air bubbles - through a closed door! - she retreats behind the sofa. (Crafty minx.)

Lúnasa's fairly OK with pills but she's a lightin' divil for jerking her head as I'm pressing the syringe plunger to administer her oral bupe. Doses have variously ended up spattered all over my glasses, the floor, her chest... :banghead:


Mogs
.
You and Susie will do fine. Tyler used to be on vetsulin a long time ago,then I switched to lantus, and boy was I glad I did
After 2-1/2 years he's in remission. I don't want him to hear me say that lol
I'm sure you will be pleased switching to lantus :cat:
I never used calipers I would just eyeball the lower doses.
But many do use calipers and love them
Here is an illustration



Pictorial guide using a U-100 syringe marked with half units:
49823504036_be8b19dcbc_o.jpg

49822973598_f0540f7a37_w.jpg

49822973683_0559ae843a_o.jpg
Such a small, small measurement. Honestly, I don't see the circles but I get what you are saying. I think I could do this with a white box and a lighted magnifying glass which I have. I cannot worry about these tiny details - yet. Just need to get my feet wet with the Lantus, learn confidence and take it from there.
 
You and Susie will do fine. Tyler used to be on vetsulin a long time ago,then I switched to lantus, and boy was I glad I did
After 2-1/2 years he's in remission. I don't want him to hear me say that lol
I'm sure you will be pleased switching to lantus :cat:
I never used calipers I would just eyeball the lower doses.
But many do use calipers and love them
Here is an illustration



Pictorial guide using a U-100 syringe marked with half units:
49823504036_be8b19dcbc_o.jpg

49822973598_f0540f7a37_w.jpg

49822973683_0559ae843a_o.jpg
By the way, it is amazing that Tyler is still in remission after 2 1/2 years. I have heard that 2 out of 3 cats, that go into remission, come back out and you have to start all over again. Please keep an eye on me during this journey with Lantus. I will need friends and guidance.
 
By the way, it is amazing that Tyler is still in remission after 2 1/2 years. I have heard that 2 out of 3 cats, that go into remission, come back out and you have to start all over again. Please keep an eye on me during this journey with Lantus. I will need friends and guidance.


Hi Summer , Tyler has been in remission since 1-24-21
It was 2-1/2 years of being on insulin is what I meant

So after 2-1/2 years of being on insulin he then went into remission
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top