? Misha AMPS=57, PMPS=63

Status
Not open for further replies.

Squeakycats

Member Since 2017
Hi, all--

Previous thread
. Things have been going pretty well with Misha, but last night he dropped lower than I would've liked, and I had to dole out some MC food twice.

I am skipping this morning. Last night's pattern concerns me a little, and there is no way I can stay home today; I have my annual performance review at work (thanks, kitty, for waking me up multiple times in the night! the 5 a.m. howling fit was especially nice). DH also can't be home.

What do y'all think of his spreadsheet? What is this crazy kitty doing?

Hope everyone has a good day! I'm pretty sure this will be one where I lament not being a coffee drinker.
 
I think Misha is telling you he's ready for an OTJ trial with the 48 last night on a drop dose. Lets see what some other experience members think. It is good to keep them on the drop dose for as long as they tolerate it.
 
I think he's ready for two reasons:

--he's been in all green numbers for over a week even with skipped shots
--he went below 50 last night on a drop of insulin

Here are the OTJ Instructions:

  • Start the trial on the next green pre shot.
  • If he is green at your normal test times, no need to test further until the next "PS" time; just feed small meals and go about your day. If he is blue at your normal "PS", feed a small meal and test again after about 3 or 4 hours. If his number is lower 3-4 hours after a meal, then the pancreas is working!
  • Post every day so we can monitor your progress and see if any tweaks are needed. He may have a sporadic blue number. Don't panic but post before you decide whether to shoot so we can have a discussion.
  • After 14 days of no insulin, we have a party!!
Sometimes the trial doesn't work the first time and we have to give a little more support in the form of resuming insulin. It's not the end of the world if that happens; we just give him the support needed. Our goal is a strong remission and it's better to take our time to get that than to rush into remission just to have it fail later on.

Once he is through the trial successfully, you enter a new phase. Your cat is still diabetic but has now become diet-controlled. Continue feeding low carb food in the manner successful for your kitty. If you decide to change his feeding schedule, let your meter be your guide to the best times to feed. Avoid medications with sugar in them and steroid medications unless they are medically essential. Continue testing blood glucose weekly for the first month and then monthly forever. It's a good idea to weigh him monthly. Weight should remain stable. If he seems "off" or sick, or is showing signs of diabetes (excessive drinking, eating, urinating, weight loss), test his blood glucose right away. Keep the teeth and gums clean and healthy; dental issues can bring a cat out of remission. If you see rising blood glucose numbers, it's time for a visit to the vet!

Good luck with the trial!!!
IMG_0643.GIF
IMG_0643.GIF
IMG_0643.GIF
IMG_0643.GIF
 
THANK YOU ALL!!! I'm so excited to start the trial! I will follow all the instructions and hope for the best--but if it turns out that he's not quite ready yet, that's ok. We've gotten to where I can test him when he's snoozing and he just sort of sighs and goes back to sleep, and the injections aren't hard. So it's not a big deal if his pancreas needs a little more help.

Please wish me luck--I'm trying to stay in remission myself (from cancer), and I have an important CT scan on Thursday. This will be a truly happy week if Misha stays in the green and I get "no evidence of disease" as my scan result!

This board has been amazing; I don't know what I would do without all of you. I hope I'll somehow be able to be useful to others here as well.
 
So happy That Misha is starting his 14 day trial!!!

Looking forward to the countdown and celebrating at the party (keeping paws and fingers crossed it goes smoothly)

Hope your CT scan goes well this coming Thursday, sending vines for a good outcome.:bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top