Misha 5/23 AMPS=97, PMPS=110

Status
Not open for further replies.

Squeakycats

Member Since 2017
Hi, all--just checking in again--here's my most recent thread: http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/5-17-misha-dose-opinions.178047/#post-1965169 .
(hope I did that right).

Misha is holding steady! I'd still like to see his evening PMPS a little lower, so today I decided to try someone's suggestion to offer a snack during the day. Since I'm not able to be here, I accomplished that by leaving out some Young Again for him to snack on. I guess we'll give this a try for a few more days and see what happens. Certainly he and the civvie both approve of the experiment. He's been eating like he's starving to death at night, which is very weird; I've tested him and not found anything unusual going on, BG-wise.

Should I be thinking about increasing his dose to .5 again over the weekend (when I could observe him closely)? Would I already know the answer to that question if I carefully read the SLGS info here? ;) I haven't been actually following a protocol, since he was reasonably well under control by the time I found this amazing forum--but I'm wondering now if I should try to start. I keep thinking "Hmm, what am I really aiming for here?" I know that staying in the green numbers is good, and going below 68 on my AlphaTrak is bad and calls for some intervention (I am prepared for that!), and that any changes (food, dose, etc.) can take several cycles (12 hours? 24? I'm not sure what counts) to fully show up. I know that low-carb wet food is generally best, and that getting lots of data is a good thing, and that I need to pick a meter and stick to it; I've gotten much better at testing. I guess what I have not yet learned is how to decide when/whether a dose change is necessary.

I guess I also need to consider whether it's time to get a new Lantus pen--this one looks ok, but I've had it for 2 months, so maybe I should? If so, I guess I should use the new one a few times before changing any other variables.

Anyway--just rambling--advice always welcomed. Hope everyone is having a good night/day/whatever it is where you are!!!!!
 
I accomplished that by leaving out some Young Again for him to snack on. I guess we'll give this a try for a few more days and see what happens.
Do you not usually feed during the day?

As far as the pens go, they can easily last 6 months in the refrigerator.

Should I be thinking about increasing his dose to .5 again over the weekend (when I could observe him closely)?
Can you get a few cycle mid tests to see how low the Lantus is taking Misha? The last two days he started off in greens and could have gone lower during the cycle but there aren't any test beyond the AMBG's. If you could tonight's at least before you go to bed and tomorrow a +2 and beyond, that could help us to know what is going on in the cycle and determining to raise the dose would be more apparent.
 
I can definitely do some mid-cycle testing on the weekend, but not during the week--I can catch him when I first wake up and then again right before I leave for work (so I can do +2), but then I'm not back until something like +10. I usually leave one of his Primal Nuggets for him during the day, but I figure he may be eating it fairly early on and not have anything available later--he finishes it. With the Young Again, I'm planning to leave enough that he won't finish it and can keep munching if he's hungry. He's generally good about not overstuffing himself. I guess I could leave more of the Primal, too; I just know it's not intended to be fed dry and felt bad about leaving much of it in that state. Now that I think about it, I suppose that's silly; dry is dry.

I had no idea the Lantus could last so long--I've left it out for a few hours on occasion when I forgot to put it back in the fridge, but mostly it's been in there. I don't know how to tell whether it looks "cloudy"--it seems pretty clear, but I don't remember what it looked like when I first opened it, and condensation always forms as soon as I take it out of the fridge. I guess I'll assume for the moment that it's working and focus on getting some more mid-cycle numbers ASAP. Thanks!
 
He didn't, and he's at 100 this morning. I'm feeling lousy and may take a sick day today; if so, I'll try to get some more tests.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top