Minky is very high for her tonight--need advice

Status
Not open for further replies.

Sheila and Minky

Member Since 2024
Since Thursday when I had to skip a shot because she was at 92 and because I could not come home for lunch due to a field trip that had been planned out of town, Minky has had numbers all over the place. I thought we were leveling off some, but she had some of her favorite stew/gravy food tonight and had more than she should have. I was upset due to a lot of personal issues and didn't have the heart to pick up the plate that she had started to eat off of. That was on me. But we are now at 672 when she had been at 350 this afternoon. She doesn't usually respond in this way. I just gave her two units of insulin and will not be giving any of that food for a while. Any advice for how high she is?

https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/11-6-minky-amps-282-350-5-25-pmps-672.295520/
 
She's likely bouncing. She saw at least low blues yesterday. And since there is no data at night past PMPS the last couple nights, it's possible she saw another lower number than she's used to then. Are you leaving food out for her to eat at night? Food is what keeps them safe.

Make sure you test for ketones while she's high. Other than that, just wait for the bounce to come down.
 
She's likely bouncing. She saw at least low blues yesterday. And since there is no data at night past PMPS the last couple nights, it's possible she saw another lower number than she's used to then. Are you leaving food out for her to eat at night? Food is what keeps them safe.

Make sure you test for ketones while she's high. Other than that, just wait for the bounce to come down.
I do get up every four hours and feed her plus leave out whatever is left from the previous feeding. Sometimes there isn't as much so maybe I should leave out some additional wet food. I have a Precision Xtra meter from Abbott. Do you think I can use generic strips off of Amazon or is that something that should be ordered to specifically go with the meter from Abbott?
 
I never used the Precision Xtra, just used urinary test strips so I can't answer about generic strips. Using the strips from the manufacturer of the meter is recommended, as otherwise you can't guarantee they will work.

When you get up every 4 hours, can you test her at +4? That'll help us see what is happening overnight. Many cat go lower at night.
 
I will order some more strips from Abbott. I will try to test when I get up. I am getting so exhausted all I want to do is go back to sleep which sounds terrible. Three jobs, one sick me, a totaled car and three sick cats has been stressful. I will try though. Thank you Wendy.
 
I’ve ordered from Abbott and Amazon. I admit being skeptical of Amazon (so much counterfeit stuff there) but Abbott takes FOREVER). The strips I got from Amazon looked right —just not in a box. I reassured myself that if they passed a control solution test they were probably fine…but sort of pushed them off to the side once my Abbott ones arrived. I tested some side by side with abbott ones and they matched. I did notice the expiration date was closer than the ones that come from Abbott
 
I’ve ordered from Abbott and Amazon. I admit being skeptical of Amazon (so much counterfeit stuff there) but Abbott takes FOREVER). The strips I got from Amazon looked right —just not in a box. I reassured myself that if they passed a control solution test they were probably fine…but sort of pushed them off to the side once my Abbott ones arrived. I tested some side by side with abbott ones and they matched. I did notice the expiration date was closer than the ones that come from Abbott
That is very helpful!!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top