Minerva, AMPS 283, +5 203, +7.5 221, +9.5 270, PMPS 277, new here

Joy W

Member Since 2021
Hey folk, this is my first attempt at this. I've been using the spreadsheet for a while but not posting in here as I find the interface hard to use and my life is chaotic and overwhelming and inpossible enough without adding another task to it. But I know there is room for Minerva and me to be doing so much better, and I want that for her and it was suggested I start posting in here daily, so I'm going to see if I can work this thing out. Apologies for any errors in this post. Firstly any advice on if I should adjust her dose based on current data is appreciated.

Many thanks, from Minerva and me (Joy)
 
Hello Joy and Minerva and welcome!

Hang in there and hang in here. You’ve come to the best place to learn to manage feline diabetes.

How old is Minerva and how did you discover she was diabetic? Any other health issues?
 
Hello and welcome Joy and Minerva. Since you are following SLGS, that means taking reductions if you spot a number under 90. That 85 on the night of the 24th means she earned a 0.25 unit reduction in dose, and you should now be giving 1.0 units.

We do ask members to start a new tab on their spreadsheet for each new year, as it is otherwise a long scroll down to get to the latest data. I'm tagging Bhooma @Bandit's Mom who can help you get that done.
 
Hello Joy and Minerva and welcome!

Hang in there and hang in here. You’ve come to the best place to learn to manage feline diabetes.

How old is Minerva and how did you discover she was diabetic? Any other health issues?

Hi Sandy. I found it with excessive drinking and peeing, as she was around 11 I thought maybe kidney related so took her to the vet who diagnosed her. She has sensitive skin and stomach and mild asthma and was chonky, we're pretty sure the diabetes was not helped by occasional steroid treatments over the years for dermatitis and asthma flares. NZ has a culture of letting cats roam as they please, but we've transitioned her to being fully contained since about 2018 or 2019 or so and her skin has been so so much better! She had a dental on 6 Jan this year, 3 teeth out and that's perked her up . She's talkative, social, has a lovely coat, the vet is happy with her current weight, and otherwise she seems happy!
 
Hello and welcome Joy and Minerva. Since you are following SLGS, that means taking reductions if you spot a number under 90. That 85 on the night of the 24th means she earned a 0.25 unit reduction in dose, and you should now be giving 1.0 units.

We do ask members to start a new tab on their spreadsheet for each new year, as it is otherwise a long scroll down to get to the latest data. I'm tagging Bhooma @Bandit's Mom who can help you get that done.

Thanks Wendy! Given I didn't do that though, and her dose was consistent over the last week, doesn't yesterday's curve suggest an increase, not a decrease? Why is the 24th Jan data more important than the 27th Jan data?

I'm dosing in 5 minutes so I'll dose the 1 unit as suggested but curious to understand why. Thank you!
 
although some consideration is given to PS numbers, dose adjustments are based on how low a particular dose takes your kitty, Since testing is limited this practice helps keep your kitty safe.
 
Back
Top