? Mimi 12/26 AMPS 180, PMPS 190, +5 47, then 81, then 83... ehhhnnnm

Mimis mom

Member Since 2019
Whyyyy is it 30 points off!? How can I not be tempted to test twice in a row when I get a result that warrants a reducie but then another one that would indicate this dose is in fact good.

I then tested with the Relion and got 113, so I don’t know what to think now.
She ate 3-5 minutes before testing would it rise within seconds like that? I know I shouldn’t focus on testing more than once but I also don’t want to decrease her on a dose that might otherwise be working after all. Does that make sense?
 
If you think a number seems out of line, it's worth a retest. if you have too small a drop of blood, sometimes you can get a lower number. I would believe the 81 and 82 if they are minutes apart. Carbs from meals take 20-30 minutes form the plate to hit the blood stream.
 
Whyyyy is it 30 points off!? How can I not be tempted to test twice in a row when I get a result that warrants a reducie but then another one that would indicate this dose is in fact good.

I then tested with the Relion and got 113, so I don’t know what to think now.
She ate 3-5 minutes before testing would it rise within seconds like that? I know I shouldn’t focus on testing more than once but I also don’t want to decrease her on a dose that might otherwise be working after all. Does that make sense?

I think you already answered your question.
If you get a number that might lead to a dosing change or seems off - you grab another test like you have so you can verify without acting. I have had times where I left a strip out in the tray of the reader while I made his dinner then got a weird number and had to retest. The 81/83 seems correct and then the 113 is likely just glucometer brand variability.
I often get numbers that are too low and off if I have a watery ( weak) blood sample or if I have to milk the blood out for too long. Now, I can often look at a sample, see how the test strip is pulling in the blood (or how it is not with a bad sample), and tell if the number I am getting is going to be reliable.
 
I think you already answered your question.
If you get a number that might lead to a dosing change or seems off - you grab another test like you have so you can verify without acting. I have had times where I left a strip out in the tray of the reader while I made his dinner then got a weird number and had to retest. The 81/83 seems correct and then the 113 is likely just glucometer brand variability.
I often get numbers that are too low and off if I have a watery ( weak) blood sample or if I have to milk the blood out for too long. Now, I can often look at a sample, see how the test strip is pulling in the blood (or how it is not with a bad sample), and tell if the number I am getting is going to be reliable.
Wow I didn’t know it was that sensitive :-/
This bottle is brand new- which is weird..
I almost think I need to just test twice now.. or maybe if the numbers seem lower than normal
 
Wow I didn’t know it was that sensitive :-/
This bottle is brand new- which is weird..
I almost think I need to just test twice now.. or maybe if the numbers seem lower than normal

I test twice If I get a number that makes me take a double take. Our PMPS numbers are usually in a certain range. If I get something that might affect my dosing - I double check. If not, I'm not worried about it. I definitely don't leave my strips out anymore and double check the lid to make sure it's shut.
 
Back
Top