Mimi 1/25 +10.5 151 at AMPS

Mimis mom

Member Since 2019
Right before I tested her - I think she was slurping some food out of the feeder that she didn’t eat when the buzzer went off so that might be a reason it was much higher at AMPS
Was out of town all day- just got home and her +10.5 is 265 again.
She hit some green a couple of cycles ago. I’m getting sad her body keeps bouncing every time it sees a green. Wish it would stop. Then again if it did she might not need insulin anymore or will it just mean she’s now regulated and the faux insulin is finally making friends with her little pancreas.
Do some cats get into green numbers for a long time and only will do so with the help of added insulin not a sign of remission?
Does that make sense? I have asthma, and if my medication I’m on isn’t helping my asthma fully, I might need to change it- but what happens the day it gives me zero symptoms- that doesn’t mean I’m now asthma free and could stop it just means the meds are working?

So many thoughts going through my head right now..



http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/mimi-1-24-amps-193.224726/

Also, left some HC food mixed in with her +2 and +4.5 meal just because I wasn’t going to be in town and I’m nervous a bounce could be clearing from the increase, just in case it dropped too low.
Something in my gut told me I needed to.

@Marje and Gracie
@Wendy&Neko
 
Last edited:
Do some cats get into green numbers for a long time and only will do so with the help of added insulin not a sign of remission?
Yes. Look at China’s SS. She was tightly regulated for a couple of years; Chris tried an OTJ trial and it failed.

These are the definitions when it comes to regulation:
  • Not treated - blood glucose typically above 300 mg/dl (16.7 mmol/L), poor clinical signs
  • Treated, but not regulated - often above 300 (16.7) and rarely near 100 (5.6), poor clinical signs
  • Regulated - generally below 300 (16.7) with glucose nadir near 100 (5.6), good clinical signs, no hypoglycemia
  • Well regulated - generally below 200-250 (11.1-13.9) and often near 100 (5.6), no hypoglycemia
  • Tightly regulated - generally below 150 (8.3) and usually in the 60-120 (3.3-6.7) range, no hypoglycemia, still receiving insulin
  • Normalized - 60-120 (3.3-6.7) except perhaps directly after meals -- usually not receiving insulin
You can see that Mimi falls into the well regulated category.
 
Yes. Look at China’s SS. She was tightly regulated for a couple of years; Chris tried an OTJ trial and it failed.

These are the definitions when it comes to regulation:
  • Not treated - blood glucose typically above 300 mg/dl (16.7 mmol/L), poor clinical signs
  • Treated, but not regulated - often above 300 (16.7) and rarely near 100 (5.6), poor clinical signs
  • Regulated - generally below 300 (16.7) with glucose nadir near 100 (5.6), good clinical signs, no hypoglycemia
  • Well regulated - generally below 200-250 (11.1-13.9) and often near 100 (5.6), no hypoglycemia
  • Tightly regulated - generally below 150 (8.3) and usually in the 60-120 (3.3-6.7) range, no hypoglycemia, still receiving insulin
  • Normalized - 60-120 (3.3-6.7) except perhaps directly after meals -- usually not receiving insulin
You can see that Mimi falls into the well regulated category.


Thank you for this Marje!!!! You've been so extremely helpful since I have joined, and I want you to know how much Mimi and I appreciate it!
So, according to Mimis numbers, shes regulated, and at times well regulated?? That makes me feel so much better!
 
Im so confused my the chart only that- It looks like Chris was raising the dosage even though China was in the green numbers, shouldn't he have been reducing it? Also, some numbers that hit neon green looked like the dose still stayed the same.
 
Thank you for this Marje!!!! You've been so extremely helpful since I have joined, and I want you to know how much Mimi and I appreciate it!
So, according to Mimis numbers, shes regulated, and at times well regulated?? That makes me feel so much better!
You’re welcome. I’d say she is well regulated. Most of her numbers are falling below 250 and she does get into green.

I know the bouncing is tough. Believe me, my Gracie did it the entire 5.5 years although there were times when she could be solid green with some blue for weeks. You just have to find a way to get past it and not look at it as something bad. It’s hard. I know.
 
Im so confused my the chart only that- It looks like Chris was raising the dosage even though China was in the green numbers, shouldn't he have been reducing it? Also, some numbers that hit neon green looked like the dose still stayed the same.
Yes but remember that Chris was very experienced with China and understood her patterns to the “T”. Very experienced caregivers who are there all the time to test, can raise the dose even with a blip or two in blue or yellow. I would do that with Gracie as well. It is a very advanced technique. She didn’t reduce when China got into lime green because China was a long-term diabetic and those reductions come below 40 (or a week in normal numbers) and so you’ll see lime green between 40 and 50 on a SS.
 
Im sure I have heard this before but- could Mimi never go into remission? I want to take some vacation (I was about to, one was long overdue) and then she got diagnosed. Im waiting until she goes into remission before I do that, but know that seems naive.
I also just don't want to leave Mimi, and am paranoid someone won't take care of her correctly. I almost wished one of you guys lived close by, I don't even trust her with a vet tech because I feel like Im going to have to be the one teaching them.

If I was to leave for a few days- how would TR continue? Would it pause for a few days and the schedule would be relaxed or do I need to have someone live in my house and literally become me (which is what I imagine and will be the only way I would ever leave Mimi)
Ive even had friends suggest "taking her with me" but that would only ease my worries and stress her out. I bet she would even get sick over doing that.. I wish I had one of those "adventure kitties" I see on The Dodo, or online where the cat seems to travel everywhere with their owner and loves it! Thats more like a "one in a million cat". I also wouldn't trade her or Batman for all of the kitties in the world. They have my heart.
 
Do some cats get into green numbers for a long time and only will do so with the help of added insulin not a sign of remission?
ECID, each cat is different. Neko first saw some green numbers when we hit 3.75 units, but didn't earn her first reduction until she hit 8.75 units. She had a couple complicating secondary endocrine conditions that means she couldn't hold onto the greens. She never did go into remission because of those conditions, but she was reasonably well regulated and happy until she got a bunch of other complications. Quality of her life was my primary concern. There are no guarantees on remission, one way or the other.

As for vacation, we have lots of people go on holiday. They reduce the dose to a vacation or petsitter dose, that will keep the cat safe while they are gone. Sometimes you can find petsitters that test. But you would still lower for safety anyway. Vet techs will typically get at least preshot tests.
 
It just hit me why mimi likes to stay yellow all the time! She was born and raised the first few years of her life in sunny San Diego and since the winters here in upstate New York are dreary and cold, she’s making up for it!
I wish she would put her sun hat on and start cooling off in the lagoon. Maybe she will when the weather starts getting nicer. ☀️
 
Back
Top