Mimi 1/14 AMPS 223- bounce clearing PMPS 159, +2 111, +3 77

It seems like she only bounces for a couple of cycles- maybe 3 at most.

I have a question- Is there really a difference in a 6mm length or an 8mm one for syringes?

I found the syringes I use with 1/2 unit markings but they are 6 mm not 8. I mean a shorter needle always sounds better but is there “too short” of a needle?
 
The length of the needle is a personal preference. It can take getting used to when you change. I started with longer needles and switched to short. It was strange at first, but now I love the shorter needles.
 
Looks like it’s going to be an active cycle-
The length of the needle is a personal preference. It can take getting used to when you change. I started with longer needles and switched to short. It was strange at first, but now I love the shorter needles.
I’ve read the shorter ones are actually more preferred in smaller creatures (they were mentioning children) because there’s even less risk or getting the muscle.
Speaking of that it’s strange to see that the ones marketed towards “pets” have longer needles typically, and bigger gauges. Wonder why that is?

And to also keep remembering that when they sent me home from the hospital after she beat DKA, they gave me pen needles and told me not to test, and the dosing was increased or decreased by 1 whole units (because that’s the only thing you can do with a pen needle)

it makes me so sick to now think about how uninformed they all are with diabetes. The vet tech even told me to “roll” the pen before each.. WTF is wrong with the vet community on being so foolish!?
I even think back that Mimi might have come home earlier if some things were different. Why didn’t they force feed her with a syringe of food that day she “wouldn’t eat”. Or even know that you have to feed her more than just twice a day. I think I might continue this rant in a separate condo, not now, because it’s the early morning and I’m only
Awake because I was testing Mimi.
 
The length of the needle is a personal preference. It can take getting used to when you change. I started with longer needles and switched to short. It was strange at first, but now I love the shorter needles.


I might be crazy but I feel like I wasn't giving good doses with the longer needle...like somehow it wasn't delivering it where/ how I wanted. I hated the shorter needles at first too, but now I can't even handle the longer ones I had - especially with the fine dosing.
 
Back
Top