MILO +12 49/+12.5 43/+13 85/+14 166/+18 295/PMPS 238/+2 196

Sam&Milo(GA)&Singha

Member Since 2020
I'm not sure what to do. Milo went from 362 last night to 49 this morning. Of course, I didn't shoot this am. I didn't feed but should I with him being so low?? I have to go to the hospital and will be gone for 3 hours, right through what is normally +3 to +6 today so I can't monitor him. I would like to feed as I'm worried about this number. Advice, please!! @tiffmaxee, @thebigfuzz , @Wendy&Neko, @Sue and Luci, @Briere Fur Mom
 
Last edited:
If you're planning on not shooting at all, you're not stalling so you should feed him. Especially with the 49 reading. Never shoot under 50.
You want to make sure he doesn't drop any lower.

Or are you wondering if you should stall?
 
Some cats dip lower around PS time. Butters often does.
WHether you shoot or not, feed him a little something to bring him over 50.
 
It does get tricky around the PS times when they drop low. It's the end of a cycle, so you should see them rise a bit, but then if you continue to withhold food, that can sometimes bring them down more. But 49 is not a shootable number anyways, you need him over 50. So a small snack and a retest in 30 minutes is good. How carb sensitive is Milo? Use a bit of MC for numbers below 50.

ETA: Also taking into account that you have to leave at +3, so you won't be around to monitor. Get him over 50 and make sure he is going to stay over 50 is my opinion.
 
I wouldn't wait for someone to respond to a tag before feeding him something if this were my cat below 50.
I noticed Sienne say this morning she never got a tag from last night. Tags don't always work. People can't always respond immediately.
 
I retested and he had dropped to 43 so I gave him some HC and a little honey and he's happily munching away. I was hoping he'd go up a bit since he was just below the 50 mark... He's being tricky today. I'm going to have to go no shot because I can't be around to monitor when he'd likely need me.
 
I agree with going no shot. You're going to need to monitor him, though. Retest again in 30 minutes and see where we are at.

ETA: And again, you do not shoot below 50.
 
Even the most stalwart of us who follow(ed) TR would not shoot below 50. So, good instinct on your part. Also, the basic rule is "feed the 40s." Unless you plan to stall and see if numbers are coming up, feed your cat!

The only thing I would suggest is that you always get a PM cycle test. If my crystal ball were reliable, I would say that Milo's PMPS last night was a bounce and the bounce broke during the PM cycle. With a 49 at AMPS, if does make me wonder how low he was last night. If you had gotten a PM test, you might have had an inkling that numbers were dropping.

If you can't monitor, it's fine to skip the shot. You might get a test before you leave the house just so you have some idea of how Milo does without the shot.
 
Last edited:
Milo was only officially diagnosed in July but showed signs back in December. We all thought he was diabetic but his labs results indicated he was in the normal range (but he had neuropathy, drinking all the time, sticky urine...all the classics except didn't start losing weight until March). Can they be pre-diabetic for a while before Dx? Last night I couldn't get a PM cycle as I wasn't feeling well and immediately went to bed. I guess I should have set my alarm but I didn't think I had anything to worry about because his BG was high...
So, I will have to skip the shot for this morning to be on the safe side. Does he get a dose reduction? I'm unclear... Can I give his shot early tonight to get on a better schedule since this morning is being skipped?? Thanks for the advice.
 
Yes -- it was my error and I went back and edited my post. I read the diagnosis date for your other cat. (Some days I think my eyes are older than the rest of me or I need to clean my contacts again.)

Milo is looking like bounces are clearing quickly. The other thing is that he's typically in better numbers. I would have gotten a second test on that high PMPS just to be certain it wasn't a bad strip.
 
He's come back up to 85 with breakfast and a little honey. Does he get a dose reduction? I'm unclear... Can I give his shot early tonight to get on a better schedule since this morning is being skipped??
 
Good morning. By dropping under 50 he earned a dose reduction. I’m having trouble with the internet. I need to read the condo and look at your ss to make sure it’s not a back yo back reducie. Be back soon.That would be the only reason not to reduce.
 
Fed my Girls and the Internet is back. He’s definitely earned a reduction. His new dose is 3.25. Congrats. I hope you are feeling better. I’m sure that’s why you didn’t get more tests last night. If that happens again I would leave out plenty of food.
 
He’s currently at 3.25u. So I think it should be reduced to 3u, correct??
So, if he bounces high in the evening, I should test middle of the night and leave out extra food?? I did leave out food and he ate all of it. Could this be a result of his not eating much yesterday? Could I do his shot 8pm tonight rather than 8:45 to get him on a 8am/8pm schedule??
Fed my Girls and the Internet is back. He’s definitely earned a reduction. His new dose is 3.25. Congrats. I hope you are feeling better. I’m sure that’s why you didn’t get more tests last night. If that happens again I would leave out plenty of food.
 
Yes. Your new dose is 3.0. You left out food which is the right thing to do and he ate which is good. I don’t think he dropped due to not eating a lot yesterday. He was simply done with this dose. That’s good news. You can shoot at whatever time you choose since you skipped this morning. I wouldn’t have set an alarm to test last night, especially not feeling well. The only thing I would have done was get a +11.
 
Yes, thanks! I was panicky this morning and forgot to paste yesterday’s condo. He’s now climbing quickly. I may even do his shot earlier tonight and get on a 7am/7pm schedule perhaps. I don’t like how high he’s going...
I have to go to the hospital now. He’s eating some LC FF at the moment.
 
Back
Top