Milo 1/2 PMPS 109

Status
Not open for further replies.
Re: Milo 1/2 AMPS 143 +2 61 +3 54 +4 70

Great numbers today again!

My boys would eat fancy feast all the time if they could but i give them wellness too cos I feel it's generally better for them.
 
I was too scared to do the full .5 units so I did .25 units. I feel like if I did the .5 then he would go down to the 40s which I know isn't terrible but it's only happened once so far and it's really scary. He is also really squirmy today so I am having trouble getting his blood. And he doesn't want his wellness so I am trying different foods. I hope he doesn't throw up.
 
Hi Angela,
Even though you reduced the dose, you still want to check the +2 - +3 time frame. Because Lantus is a depot type insulin, you can still see the effects of the .5u dose even after you've reduced. Because the depot (sometimes called the "shed" here) can still influence the numbers for several cycles. In other words, the effects of a dose change, either up or down, aren't always instantaneous.

The 109 is a beautiful number. They just keep getting better :smile:
A low number this cycle isn't a "given", just something to be checking.

Carl
 
i feel like he has been sleeping more today but that might just be my paranoia. He doesn't play like other cats. But that isn't anything new. He sleeps, eats and looks outside. Don't they usually get more energetic when they have good numbers?

My testing skills today are not great. His +2 in the AM I did 3 different strips, first 88 then 51 then 61. The first 2 didn't have enough blood. I will probably test him every hour until I am sure he isn't dropping anymore. I opened this bottle of 50 strips on Saturday and am now on the last one :cry: Glad I am not using the alphatrak still.
 
Don't they usually get more energetic when they have good numbers?
How did he act before he got diabetes? Back then, Bob was very overweight. He did play, but mostly because he had his sister to play with. She passed a few months before Bob was diagnosed. The combination of losing his sister and diabetes took a lot of the play out of him. When he was on insulin, he also suffered from low levels of potassium, which made him generally weak.
Nowadays, he's more active, and gets around a lot better at 14 pounds than he did at 22 pounds for sure. But he isn't what I'd call a really active cat. I have noted in the past that I think he was a sloth in a previous life, lol.

Bob has one other kitty in the house, Mullet. But they've never gotten along well. Mullet, who is a couple years older, more or less puts up with Bob. The only time they are buddies is when they swap bowls at mealtime, and in the winter when they cuddle to conserve body heat.

Just try encouraging him to play. Laser pointer, a piece of yarn, feather on a stick....whatever motivates him to exercise, even if just a little bit.

Carl
 
I can't remember when he stopped being playful. Way before diabetes. I always just assumed it was his weight. If I dangle string in front of him he will bat at it for a little bit but he won't run after anything.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top