Milo 1/1 AMPS 137 +3 69 PMPS 179 +3 83 +4 57 +5 62

Status
Not open for further replies.
Re: Milo 1/1 AMPS 137 +2 83

Hi guys nice drop into the green for Milo that is great! Just keep up the testing every hour to make sure he surfs safely! You're doing awesome! Happy New year!
 
Re: Milo 1/1 AMPS 137 +2 83 +3 69 +4 80

HI Angela,
Yikes. He usually drops quite a bit from +2 to +3.

But what you're after is just what he's doing there. Eventually, as kitties "heal" and the dose is the right one, the curve takes on a flatter shape. The numbers you posted today are perfect. All in the range of BGs that is considered normal. On only .5u of insulin.

Milo might drop down into the 40s on this dose. If he does, you'd reduce the dose even more. The more time he spends in the low blue/green numbers, the more time for "healing" to take place. I think he's looking great!

Carl
 
Re: Milo 1/1 AMPS 137 +2 83 +3 69 +4 80

Angela --

Are you home during the week or do you work outside of the house? From the way you've been testing, Tight Regulation wouldn't be a problem but I don't know if the holidays are an anomaly in your schedule.

With the way Milo's numbers are going, you might want to consider TR. With SLGS, the goal is to get your cat regulated with numbers between 100 - 250. The goal is not remission. What you've been following, whether you realized it or not, is Tight Regulation. With some cats, it really doesn't matter what you want. Their body is going to do what it wants to do and right now, with the lower pre-shots and beautiful cycles, I think Milo is sending you a message.
 
Re: Milo 1/1 AMPS 137 +2 83 +3 69 +4 80

I am not sure if it effected his numbers at all but when I was getting his +3, I sat on the bed where he was sleeping and the frame broke and the mattress hit the floor. It really scared him. And me. I'm not sure if it was natural or because he lost one of his 9 kitty lives when the bed fell. Or both.

I look at all your spreadsheets and I don't know if I could give him insulin when his preshot is in the 50s and 60s. Right now he is dropping too much from the preshot. If it stops doing that I might be comfortable with it. I just don't know yet. And yes I am home all the time right now to test him but I don't want to be too scared to leave his side.
 
Re: Milo 1/1 AMPS 137 +2 83 +3 69 +4 80

The biggest factor in shooting low is your comfort level and gaining the experience to shoot low. None of us were comfortable the first time. There was someone that walked us through and taught us how to monitor and use food to steer the curve. If you don't know what to do, we'll help. One the the sayings here is, "Shoot low to stay low." When you have a preshot in the green range, you're not going to see a 100 point drop from pre-shot to early in the cycle. You can see that kind of drop (or larger) when numbers are high. For example, I've had Gabby drop from the 400s to the 40s by nadir and then shoot back up to the 400s by PMPS. You won't see that kind of action when you start with lower pre-shot numbers.

Right now, it's looking like Milo's on a mission and that's a good thing. He's the one in control of his numbers. You shot 137 this morning and Milo had a great cycle. You could easily shoot 100 or even a bit lower. If you can get a test at +11.5 and if the numbers are outside of your comfort zone, then posts and we'll lend a hand.
 
Re: Milo 1/1 AMPS 137 +3 69 PMPS 179 +3 83 +4 57

Angela,
First off, I agree with everything that Sienne just told you. I'd like to add a couple of things.

She mentioned that if you're ever uncomfortable with giving insulin when you see a low number at shot time, to post here and someone would walk you thru it. I wanted to you to know that any number of people here would also pull an "all-nighter" and stay up with you for as long as it takes until you feel comfortable with Milo's numbers. It's an "unwritten rule" but if someone advises you to give a shot, and either you see low numbers or you just need somebody's help, they will make sure that you aren't left alone. You're never alone here until you say "It's okay, I'm good".

Sienne also explained that while you might see a cycle where a cat starts at 400 and drops to 40, you don't see that happen when your preshots are low. Yes, you might see a 40, but there's a big difference between 400 to 40, and a 120 to 40. I mentioned earlier that as things improve, and a cat starts to heal, the curves flatten out? Well, that doesn't mean the nadirs keep going lower and lower. It's the preshot numbers that come down closer to the nadirs. That's what you're seeing happen.

One of the hardest things that I think people struggle with about insulin is that we tend to think of it as a "drug", like a pain killer for instance. Like "if I take one darvocet, it'll do this much, but taking two will do twice as much". But insulin isn't like that. It's a hormone, not a "drug". So we can't think of it along the lines of "if this, then that". A dose of .5u isn't going to do twice what a dose of .25u will do to the BG numbers. Heck, a dose of .5u, as you can see, doesn't do the same thing two cycles in a row for the most part. That's why we look at a few days at a time when we try to figure things out, not just one cycle or one day. We're looking for patterns in the data that reveal themselves in 3, 5, 7 days.

Above all, we consider "safety" when we offer advice. And we all read what each other advises. That way, if I say something that isn't quite right, a half dozen other people can jump in and say "whoa, that's not right". Because the bottom line is Milo's well being.
Carl
 
I am definitely absorbing everything you guys are saying and I really appreciate all the help. I feel like it's going well right now at the .5 units. I am hoping to keep it going for at least a week, unless the numbers increase or decrease too much. If he has a preshot that is below 100, that is when I will be scared. I'd rather decide what to do when it happens.

He's been my best buddy for 13 years, I just want him to be ok.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top