Mild Hypo Again. Anyone awake on a Friday night to advise?

Status
Not open for further replies.

heidi

Member
I posted over on the Lantus board but hadn't got a response yet, so I thought I'd try here.

Frodo had a pre-shot BG of 42 (second test confirmed at 44).
I got a 97 BG reading an hour and some high carb food later, so I'm relaxing a little. :smile: I read back through the responses people gave me when Frodo's BG was really low on Tuesday (in the 40's for almost six hours), plus the other info on hypo posted in various parts of the site. As I understand it, I need to test again in an hour and if I get a rising number, then I'm okay to go to bed? Hope so. It's been a long day and a long week.

Thanks,
Heidi
 
Re: Mild Hypo Again. Anyone awake on a Friday night to advi

WOW! I don't have any advice to offer. I thought my numbers were wonky!......... :lol:
Boy, he sure shoots way down there doesn't he? (she?)
Like I said, no advice. But I am here if you need an ear.
I am shocked the numbers are so low this many hours after an injection. :shock:
 
Re: Mild Hypo Again. Anyone awake on a Friday night to advi

I don't have any experience with Lantus but I think you may need to lower the am dose so the pm # is higher and can then shot both. All insulins work best when shot every 12 hours. I'm sure some L user will be along shortly to help but for now seems like you are doing everything right.
I wouldn't wait a whole hour to test - I would test in 1/2 hour just to make sure his numbers don't go back down.
 
Re: Mild Hypo Again. Anyone awake on a Friday night to advi

I posted on the Lantus board to try and get you some help. I would not go to bed without advice from Lantus users, they understand the insulin.
 
Re: Mild Hypo Again. Anyone awake on a Friday night to advi

Heidi,
I saw the thread in RL, but here is better, so let's stick to one thread.

Yes, test again in an hour and post the number. I'll see if I can find some "lantus eyes" to take a look. It isn't likely Frodo will continue to drop when he hasn't had any more insulin since this morning, but I'll be back (hopefully bringing others with me!)

Carl
 
Re: Mild Hypo Again. Anyone awake on a Friday night to advi

Just got a second rising BG of 118 at +14 hours past shot. Yeah. Frodo had a high carb treat after the initial 42 and a small meal of his regular food after the 97 an hour ago. He is currently eating another small meal of his regular food . . . I'm thinking he's probably okay for tonight?

Thanks everyone. I'm definitely dropping down to a 0.5 unit dose tomorrow morning!
Heidi
 
Re: Mild Hypo Again. Anyone awake on a Friday night to advi

Dropping to .5 in the AM is a good idea. It might make it possible to give him equal doses AM and PM, which is the best way to treat.

Can you get up for a few minutes in 3 or 4 hours to test? Knowing the nadir would be very helpful in evaluating the dose. Lantus dosing is based on the nadir number primarily...

Carl
 
Re: Mild Hypo Again. Anyone awake on a Friday night to advi

Thanks, Carl. If I'm lying awake tonight wondering if he's okay, I'll definitely go test again. If not, I will run a curve tomorrow so I can start getting a better idea about how he's reacting to the insulin and when he's reaching that nadir.
Thank you.
Heidi
 
Re: Mild Hypo Again. Anyone awake on a Friday night to advi

You're very welcome, Heidi!
Carl
 
Re: Mild Hypo Again. Anyone awake on a Friday night to advi

I had posted last night and apparently, my post went "poof."

Here's what I suggested.

First, if you need immediate Lantus help, the Relaxed board is very low traffic. You're much better off posting on the Tight Regulation board. People are around almost 24/7. There is usually an experienced Lantus user around who can help you manage low numbers or answer a question.

There are two posts you may find helpful if there's no one knowledgeable about Lantus to lend you a hand.

An option for an evening like last night is to stall. You do want to 'feed the 40s' but once you saw the numbers were heading up, a possibility is to have shot when you got the 118. However, you need to have the flexibility to give your next insulin dose 12 hours from when you shot and to monitor after you gave your injection. The headache with stalling is that you are off schedule and that isn't always feasible.

What it looks like to me is that you are in a pattern of getting a low pre-shot number in the evening, skipping the shot, and then shooting in the morning. The pattern then repeats. Your instincts were on target -- if you're having to repeatedly skip a shot, your best alternative is to lower the dose so you can shoot twice a day. Lowering the dose to 0.5u or even 0.25u should allow you to shoot BID.
 
Re: Mild Hypo Again. Anyone awake on a Friday night to advi

Thanks, everyone.
I got a pre-shot number of 400 this morning, so I went forward with the plan to drop his dose to 0.5 u. I'll be home most of today and am going to try to run a curve so I have a better idea when he typically starts to drop, the nadir and how long he stays down by the nadir. It's looking like he goes down and stays down for a long time.

I've been looking through the spread sheets of some of the Lantus users and it looks like a lot of you are giving full (but low) doses when your kitty is in the 100's. I'm hoping that with more numbers I'll feel confident with shooting when he's somewhat low. I've also read the links eveyone provided (some I read last night). I don't feel confident enough to stall yet and do that correctly, but as I gain experience and confidence that's a great option.

Thanks again. Here's hoping 0.5 units works well!

Heidi
 
Re: Mild Hypo Again. Anyone awake on a Friday night to advi

heidi said:
I've been looking through the spread sheets of some of the Lantus users and it looks like a lot of you are giving full (but low) doses when your kitty is in the 100's.

Its amazing how much you can learn by having everyone's spreadsheets to look at. I've spent hours perusing and pondering.

heidi said:
Here's hoping 0.5 units works well!
Numbers are looking alright. You are doing so well with all this, already getting the hang of stuff.
Says Nat, with a whole, what, fortnight's experience under her belt?
:cool:

Having submitted this post, I looked at my own profile. Not a fortnight at all: less than that! 10 days. Feels like longer, must be all the sleepless nights stalking my cat with a lancet in my teeth.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top