Milah 3/28 AMPS 117. ReliOn PMPS 243

We skipped last night shot because I had to work late. I tested when I got home which wouldve been her +2 had she gotten a pm shot it was 140. now for her AMPS is 117. should it be that low even though she didn't get a shot last night ? shouldn't her numbers be going up with out the insulin ? now im wondering if I should even shoot this morning with that number. but then she would be with out insulin for 2 shots in a row. I have to leave for work soon =( @Suzanne & Darcy what do you think? I know you're super busy with your own stuff so sorry to bug you.

previous post here
 
Good morning. We skipped last night **** because I had to work. I got home late and tested she was at 140 +2 with no shot .
She winked me up about 4 am she was throwing up clear foamy liquid .. not sure what that was about
Then
This morning I tested and she is 117.
I’m just concerned about giving her a shot I have to leave within the ne t few minutes and it’s kind of low . But I’m also afraid about her not getting another dose . Missing 2 in a row
I won’t be back until +10,+11
Good morning. How are things today?
 
I hope you are going to be home this afternoon to get a test so we can try to figure out what happened. You said tomorrow you would be home?
 
I wont be home from work today until maybe +10/+11.
Tomorrow we are going to the vet for more blood work. I fear she may still have an infection. She already did 2 rounds of clava Max first time for 10 days second for 14 days .last night and this morning she went to the litter box s bunch of times . The last time she went I noticed this mucus like blob of blood. here we go again with a bunch of tests. .‍♀️♀️♀️ I’m still paying for last months tests.
 
I wont be home from work today until maybe +10/+11.
Tomorrow we are going to the vet for more blood work. I fear she may still have an infection. She already did 2 rounds of clava Max first time for 10 days second for 14 days .last night and this morning she went to the litter box s bunch of times . The last time she went I noticed this mucus like blob of blood. here we go again with a bunch of tests. .‍♀️♀️♀️ I’m still paying for last months tests.
Oh, I hate that … for Milah and for you. I totally understand the vet bills. My life is basically vet bills. I have a boy here who’s been vomiting all day long. I finally got a Cerenia into him an hour and a half ago. I’ve just given him a little food. So I am hoping he keeps it down. If I have to take him to the vet on Monday that’s pretty much going to ise up the money I had for a different cat’s ultrasound on April 3. Sigh.

In Milah’s case, since she’s diabetic, you really should get her to the vet as soon as you can since we don’t want a DKA. I would feel better if you were testing for ketones.
 
Don’t worry about starting a new post every day. That is required on the Lantus forum, but we don’t make people do that on the ProZinc forum because there are not as many members using ProZinc as Lantus. We do ask here on this forum that you try to limit thread length to 50 posts. We are only on post 23 for this thread. Now you can start a new thread any time you wish, it’s just not mandatory. We do need you to copy and paste a link to the previous thread in the first post.

Will you be forced to take Milah to the emergency vet since tomorrow is a Sunday?
 
Did they do a culture and sensitivity test on her urine last time? That would tell you which were the antibiotics most likely to kill whatever microorganism is present. Since she’s already had Clavamox twice, I would ask the vet about dooa different antibiotic (maybe Zenequin depending upon the type of bacteria?) Zenequin only needs to be given once a day as well and generally has less GI side effects than Clavamox.
 
Oh, I hate that … for Milah and for you. I totally understand the vet bills. My life is basically vet bills. I have a boy here who’s been vomiting all day long. I finally got a Cerenia into him an hour and a half ago. I’ve just given him a little food. So I am hoping he keeps it down. If I have to take him to the vet on Monday that’s pretty much going to ise up the money I had for a different cat’s ultrasound on April 3. Sigh.

In Milah’s case, since she’s diabetic, you really should get her to the vet as soon as you can since we don’t want a DKA. I would feel better if you were testing for ketones.
Oh man you’ve got your plate full too! Our pets are so so special. I see all the love you all have for these babies.
 
Did they do a culture and sensitivity test on her urine last time? That would tell you which were the antibiotics most likely to kill whatever microorganism is present. Since she’s already had Clavamox twice, I would ask the vet about dooa different antibiotic (maybe Zenequin depending upon the type of bacteria?) Zenequin only needs to be given once a day as well and generally has less GI side effects than Clavamox.
I know the infection the first time happened when she had lots of diarrhea. She couldn’t clean herself properly and she will not let me touch her behind to wipe with the pet wipes. It’s the same situation now. No diarrhea but she can’t properly clean and now she gets vicious any time I try to check her behind . It clearly hurts her a lot . My poor girl
 
he just took blood for the exam. nothing for her behind =/ im supposed to collect a urine sample to take back to them as well.
he also gave us a different antibiotic in pill form. im supposed to cut in half grind and make liquid.once a day its called Baytril.
How did everything go today at the vet?
 
he just took blood for the exam. nothing for her behind =/ im supposed to collect a urine sample to take back to them as well.
he also gave us a different antibiotic in pill form. im supposed to cut in half grind and make liquid.once a day its called Baytril.
Why do you have to grind it and give as a liquid? I have never done this before. Is it because she will not let you pill her? She won’t thank you for giving her that liquid.
 
i asked the vet for a liquid form of antibiotic I feel terrible giving this to my girl. Also she needs fluids Once or twice a week. So we’re going back to the vet tomorrow so he can show me how to do it. More needles for my girl
 
Why does she need sub-q fluids? She doesn’t have chronic kidney disease, I pray? Or does the vet want you to do this for her infection? Does she have a urinary tract infection? Or is it something else? This was never clear to me, and I was wondering of they dod a complete urinalysis on her. I have given a lot of sub-q fluids and I always keep supplies to do them here at home. I hope she will cooperate with you. Will you have help when you are giving them? With some cats, I have had my daughter hold a dish of food for the cat to eat from (with some favorite food) while giving the fluids. I do not use the giant harpoon needles that the vets give out. I use Terumo thin walled needles. Terumo are known to be the sharpest in the business and the thin walled needles gives them a good flow rate with a smaller size needle. I also warm the fluid bag prior to fluid administration to make it feel less cold (since room temperature is a lot less than a cat’s body temperature (which is around 99-100 or so degrees.)
 
Why does she need sub-q fluids? She doesn’t have chronic kidney disease, I pray? Or does the vet want you to do this for her infection? Does she have a urinary tract infection? Or is it something else? This was never clear to me, and I was wondering of they dod a complete urinalysis on her. I have given a lot of sub-q fluids and I always keep supplies to do them here at home. I hope she will cooperate with you. Will you have help when you are giving them? With some cats, I have had my daughter hold a dish of food for the cat to eat from (with some favorite food) while giving the fluids. I do not use the giant harpoon needles that the vets give out. I use Terumo thin walled needles. Terumo are known to be the sharpest in the business and the thin walled needles gives them a good flow rate with a smaller size needle. I also warm the fluid bag prior to fluid administration to make it feel less cold (since room temperature is a lot less than a cat’s body temperature (which is around 99-100 or so degrees.)

so her blood work came back and he says she has mild kidney failure =( I have to go discuss with him today so he can show me what I need to do. they did not do another urine test on her.im trying to get them another urine sample . as for the fluids im worried about doing it at home. she is a fighter & I don't have any help. its just her and I.
 
also im noticing that she's throwing up around 3-5 am at first it was just clear liquid. I make sure to get up to give her some food iat night in between shots . last 2 days she has been throwing up ..not really chunks of anything . just slime the color of her food.
 
so her blood work came back and he says she has mild kidney failure =( I have to go discuss with him today so he can show me what I need to do. they did not do another urine test on her.im trying to get them another urine sample . as for the fluids im worried about doing it at home. she is a fighter & I don't have any help. its just her and I.
That can be very difficult then (being alone and trying to do fluids). I am sorry. I hope you can figure out something. Maybe if you buy her a raised bowl (where her head would be up a bit, you might be able to get her to eat food (maybe with freeze dried chicken treats crumbled on top or Forti Flora sprinkled on top or a bowl of pure meat baby food? Or Parmesan cheese sprinkles is very appealing to a lot of cats.) I don’t know how you will do it if you can’t get her to hold still for a few minutes. At my vet, I do know of some clients who bring their cats in a few times a week for fluids because they can’t do it themselves.

Be sure to get a copy of your bloodwork. I know this is a really stressful time for you and Milah. Hugs. Let me know how it goes.
 
they did not do another urine test on her.im trying to get them another urine sample .
So if the antibiotics are not for a UTI then what are they for? The reason I am so concerned is that with cats who have kidney disease, they can’t get a kidney infection and the. The course of antibiotics is much longer— at least 30 days. Or are they just thinking that it’s because she had diarrhea before? (In which case they should have sent her stool out to a laboratory for testing.) but if she’s not having diarrhea anymore? And of she isn’t squatting in the litter box for a long time (or frequently going in there) and producing very small amounts of urine then maybe she doesn’t have a UTI anymore? I hope you will be able to catch a urine sample.
 

so her blood work came back and he says she has mild kidney failure =( I have to go discuss with him today so he can show me what I need to do. they did not do another urine test on her.im trying to get them another urine sample . as for the fluids im worried about doing it at home. she is a fighter & I don't have any help. its just her and I.
So if the antibiotics are not for a UTI then what are they for? The reason I am so concerned is that with cats who have kidney disease, they can’t get a kidney infection and the. The course of antibiotics is much longer— at least 30 days. Or are they just thinking that it’s because she had diarrhea before? (In which case they should have sent her stool out to a laboratory for testing.) but if she’s not having diarrhea anymore? And of she isn’t squatting in the litter box for a long time (or frequently going in there) and producing very small amounts of urine then maybe she doesn’t have a UTI anymore? I hope you will be able to catch a urine sample.

I was able the grab a sample ! ☺️
I will Post the lab work when I pick it up today. also is there anyway around the medicated kidney food
 
Depending upon her phosphorus levels, you can feed her a lower phosphorus food that is not the prescription food like Royal Canin or Hill’s. They’re not bad foods, but if she’s early stage she should not need them and she can still have a higher protein food to help her keep her muscle mass.
 
this was the most recent blood work @Suzanne & Darcy
im waiting on results from the urine .
 

Attachments

  • IMG_4745.JPG
    IMG_4745.JPG
    52.5 KB · Views: 37
Ok I’m just at petco now and I wanted to see if she’ll eat a different food now. I should still mix it with her old FF food or just give her the new wuruva food alone ? I’m afraid to mess her stomach up again after so long with constipation
 
Ok I’m just at petco now and I wanted to see if she’ll eat a different food now. I should still mix it with her old FF food or just give her the new weruva food alone ? I’m afraid to mess her stomach up again after so long with constipation
@Suzanne & Darcy
@Bron and Sheba (GA)
@Bandit's Mom

Hi ladies , I did tag Suzanne since she has been helping Maxine . Maxine wants to introduce Weruva Pates to Milah see her question

Thanks ladies
 
Back
Top