Mikey 11/10 PMPS 372 +1 347 +2 298 +4 130

Status
Not open for further replies.
Re: Mikey 11/10 AMPS 364 "As the Ball Bounces"

Good morning! A belated "Welcome" to Lantus Land!!

With all the craziness that went on lately, I figured I'd wait until things calmed down a bit to say "Hello"!

Mikey sure has kept you jumping!

Hopefully the skipped shot this morning will drain his depot so when you start back again, you won't get any more of those dives

Look forward to seeing how he does over the next several days...he may not want to stay here in LL too long with the way he's responding!! :smile:

Just a little housekeeping note...don't forget to link your prior condo to the current one so it makes it easier for people to go back to see what's already been said and what's been happening.

Mikey's 11/9 condo
 
Re: Mikey 11/10 AMPS 364 "As the Ball Bounces"

Wow, what a night you had. Good luck with the skipped dose.

Mikey sure is a cute one :)
 
Re: Mikey 11/10 AMPS 364 "As the Ball Bounces"

Thank you, Chris and Dyana. I sure wish I had time to go home and test. There's a teacher's meeting today, so I'll get home late, and Don will be even later. I'm glad I didn't shoot this morning. Now, were to I buy rubber balls to give a cat for Christmas? :lol:
 
Re: Mikey 11/10 AMPS 364 "As the Ball Bounces"

Keep the faith!

2_bouncingball1.jpg


MJ
 
Re: Mikey 11/10 AMPS 364 "As the Ball Bounces"

Every day I wonder how I would do this dance if I was still teaching. I don't think it will be a problem for you looking at your ss because I think you won't be around here too long. I sure hope I am right.
 
Re: Mikey 11/10 AMPS 364 "As the Ball Bounces"

How late will you get home tonight? Any chance of getting at +23 and posting for advice? He should be fine today, but I don't want to repeat last night's shenanigans if he drops down during the day.
 
Re: Mikey 11/10 PMPS 372

OK, I'm drawing up to shoot .1. Will check back in about a minute, in case anyone has different directions.
 
Re: Mikey 11/10 PMPS 372

Argh! Mikey snarfed down a bunch of FF, then puked it up, because he ate too fast. He went back to it and a little and kept that down just find. Somehow, DK's bowl didn't get picked up, and I just busted Mikey with contraband kibble. I think he only got a couple of pieces, but still! I'll post a +1 shortly.
 
Re: Mikey 11/10 PMPS 372

+1 is 347. I'll be posting a +2, because after last night, I'm totally paranoid. Pass the chocolate.
 
Re: Mikey 11/10 PMPS 372 +1 347 (typos much!)

You did right!

Let's just hold the .1 dose for awhile and see how it goes .....I'm sure you could use a quiet night so I hope Mikey hasn't made other plans!!

You can slow down the "scarf and barf" by spreading the food out on a plate instead of in a bowl..makes them work a little harder to get it off the plate!

If possible, you might want to transition DK onto wet food too and just get rid of all the dry in the house....we've found that if it's in the house, they'll find a way to get into it!
 
Re: Mikey 11/10 PMPS 372 +1 347 +2 298

Thank you, Chris. He's 298 now. I'll test again before I go to bed, since he took such a big dive between +2 and +3 last night. I do spread Mikey's food on a plate. He's not usually the "scarf and barf" type, but every once in a while, he decides to give it a go. I'm planning to get DK off dry too. He has urinary issues, so he's on prescription food. The canned of what he's on is still way high carb. I think I've found an alternative. Now I just need to get my vet to prescribe it, which I'm pretty sure he will.
 
Re: Mikey 11/10 PMPS 372 +1 347 +2 298

There's really no such thing as "prescription" food in the first place.

We have lots of cats with kidney problems here and they do as well (most do better) on the same low carb food that the sugarcat eats...the important thing to remember with kidney cats is to push water...lots of water

Adding water to the low carb canned food will help keep everyone's kidneys in better shape.

Here's an article on "Prescription" dog food, but the same applies to our cats food too

The truth behind Prescription foods
 
Re: Mikey 11/10 PMPS 372 +1 347 +2 298

Chris & China said:
There's really no such thing as "prescription" food in the first place.

We have lots of cats with kidney problems here and they do as well (most do better) on the same low carb food that the sugarcat eats...the important thing to remember with kidney cats is to push water...lots of water

Adding water to the low carb canned food will help keep everyone's kidneys in better shape.

Here's an article on "Prescription" dog food, but the same applies to our cats food too

The truth behind Prescription foods
excuse me, i don't agree with this. there "are" prescription foods. not always the best choice, but yes, they do exist.

in case anyone is reading along...
in the early stages of kidney failure, kitties with kidney problems (renal issues) should be a fed a low phosphorus diet. some low carb AND low phos choices can be found on a tab on alex's spreadsheet. Ann has created a more comprehensive list of low phos foods on Tess' spreadsheet. look for the appropriate tab at the top. as the disease progresses, it's not unusual to end up adding a binder to food and eventually having to feed a prescription diet. dr. lisa also has a comprehensive list of low carb and low phos foods on her web site: catinfo.org.

mary, if by "urinary issues" you meant crystals...
one of my civvies had them a long time ago. he was on a prescription food. it was so long ago i can barely remember, but i think it was S/O. i really wanted to put all my cats on the same low carb wet diet so i ran the idea of giving him low carb canned with water added by a few vets (including Dr. Lisa of catinfo.org fame). none of them thought it would be a problem. to this day he's been on this diet without any problems. if in fact DK's urinary issues are due to crystals rather than "kidney problems", you might want to discuss alternatives to prescription food with your vet.

just a few thoughts...
 
Re: Mikey 11/10 PMPS 372 +1 347 +2 298

Thank you, Chris and Jill. DK's deal is crystals rather than kidney issues. The goal is to keep his urine to the proper ph. He will not eat Royal Canin SO, so I've reluctantly had him on Hill's CD. I'm not a fan of this food or of Hills. Even the canned CD is way too high in carbs. Purina has a urinary formula that is much better, but if Mikey ever gives me a moment's peace, I was hoping to research alternatives. I'm going to talk to my vet about it too, but although he's the best vet on the planet, we don't see eye to eye on these foods. He pushed for Mikey to be on Purina DM, and I flat refused. If anyone knows a good alternative for DK, I'd appreciate their speaking up! Thankfully, we can get him to drink unlimited water with the use of ice cubes. Kitty psychology!

As for Mikey, he's at 225 at +3. I'm going to bed shortly, but I was thinking of feeding him some of his usual LC food before bed. His snarf and barf act left him hungry and short on calories for the day. He's underweight, so if it won't mess up his BG, I'd like to feed him. What say you? I know you guys are known as "The Wise Ones" here, but at my house, your "The Aunties". What do the aunties want their nephew the rubber ball to do?
 
Re: Mikey 11/10 PMPS 372 +1 347 +2 298

As someone whose cat had crystals that turned into a blockage and required immediate, no questions asked, emergency surgery...Cobb was on prescription food for years. They bounced him around on formulas: wet, dry, c/d...finally w/d because they didn't like his weight. We ultimately ended up giving him Friskies Special Diet. We still give this to him. It is low carb (the prescription food they were giving him for diabetes was not) and "formulated" for urinary tract issues (low in phosphorus, I believe). You can also buy it at the grocery store, which is WAY more convenient, and cheaper. That way you could have all your cats on the same diet.
 
Re: Mikey 11/10 PMPS 372 +1 347 +2 298

Until Mikey is better regulated, feed him all he wants! Diabetics can't process the food they get ...which is why one of the big first signs of FD is weight loss

They're literally starving to death, so it's fine to feed him as much as he needs right now

As he gets under better control, his appetite will come down. In the meantime, if you have a scale in your home, weigh yourself, pick up Mikey and subtract the 1st number from the 2nd...that will give you an idea of his weight. Re-weigh about once/week to keep track of his weight gain/loss ...you don't want him gaining or losing too fast

A lot of vets tell people to only feed twice/day, but we tell people to feed several small meals several times a day instead. It's easier on the pancreas to deal with smaller amounts of food than it is to deal with 2 huge meals. Some cats do better if they get all their food before +6, while some can eat right up until +10 without effecting their numbers. It's one of those ECID things that you just have to learn for yourself.

Jill is right...I should have been clearer....with kidney cats, yes, low phosphorus foods are very important as well as plenty of water. One of the favorites around here is the Friskies Special Diet Turkey and Giblets food. There are others with cats with CKD that use phosphorus binders like Aluminum Hydroxide added to the food

There's a great site that discusses kidney disease in cats here that can answer just about any question you might have. Tanya's Comprehensive Guide to Feline Kidney Disease
 
Max blocked when he was about five years old and either his bladder burst or the vet pierced it. He had emergency surgery and it was touch and go for about 5 days. He was on Hills CD. He didn't like the canned much but ate the dry. He was on it for nearly 4 years until he was diagnosed with pancreatitis and had gained 2 pounds. I switched him to all canned food an he gradually lost most of the weight over 1 1/2 years.. With FD he has put it all back on even though only eating canned low carb food. His pH is around 7 but knock on wood it has not caused him any problems and he has not had any crystals. How long has your cat been on CD and crystal free?
 
Re: Mikey 11/10 PMPS 372 +1 347 +2 298

Chris & China said:
Until Mikey is better regulated, feed him all he wants! Diabetics can't process the food they get ...which is why one of the big first signs of FD is weight loss

They're literally starving to death, so it's fine to feed him as much as he needs right now

As he gets under better control, his appetite will come down. In the meantime, if you have a scale in your home, weigh yourself, pick up Mikey and subtract the 1st number from the 2nd...that will give you an idea of his weight. Re-weigh about once/week to keep track of his weight gain/loss
i'm almost embarrassed to type this, but no. feeding kitty as much as they want is not what he needs. that doesn't mean we want to starve our kitties, but feeding while unregulated is a balancing act.

this discussion will save my fingers from extra typing, but it'll keep til tomorrow, mary: DISCUSSION: "FEED KITTY AS MUCH AS THEY WANT?".

ni-ni...
get a good night's sleep.
 
Chiming in as another person with one cat with urinary issues (idiopathic cystitis, occasional crystals) and the other diabetic. My civie Theo was also on C/D. I was a real problem in the early days of Neko's diagnosis because she was the prototype for polyphagia due to her high numbers and acromegaly. She was constantly stealing his food. The recommendation from Theo's vet was to try raw food for both, so I did. Later I read Dr. Lisa's page on urinary health and discovered the trick is low carb/low phosphorus foods with lots of water added. Thankfully they are both on the same low carb/low phos diet (raw) now. From Dr. Lisa's page:
Generally speaking, the basic diet recommendation for the average cat with urinary tract issues is a high protein/low carbohydrate canned food with added water.

Taking it one step further, look for one that is low in phosphorus - either below ~1.0-1.2% dry matter (not 'as fed'), or below ~250-300 mg/100 kcal.
As for Mikey's dose in the morning, he got to the 30's on that .1U dose last night. If he's low in the morning, since you can't monitor - I might skip.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top