Silvester17
Member Since 2026
We have a diabetic cat that has been on a 1 unit treatment for a few weeks and he has been quite stable but lately his glucose drops a lot (like 50+ mg/dl) just after just one unit (with a preshot glucose reading of 220 mg/dl). We started skipping insulin injections when his preshot readings are above 230 mg/dl... we seem to skip about 5-6 times (we used to inject him 2 times a day at 10 am and 10 pm). With 1 unit, his glucose moves between 100 and 150 for a day or two, then going up to 220 mg or so by day 3, then we inject him again and the cycle repeats... we are still able to monitor his glucose with Libre 3+ sensors so we have a lot of data covering the last 10 weeks or so...
We live in a village and our vet is not very familiar with diabetic cats, so we cannot rely on her help unfortunately anymore, now that the cat is so much closer to some form of partial remission...
At this point, we want to move down to 0.5 unit dose but we are unable to get any insulin pens with 0.5 increment... we also have another 4 new Lantus glargine pens (prefilled ones - disposable), so we would like to continue with these pens if possible...
Does anyone have any experience of micro-dosing with a Lantus pen like this? I noticed that if I press the button lightly, there is a tiny drop of insulin coming out, if I keep on doing it, there are about 7 drops coming (out of 1 preloaded unit)... Should I try to take a few drops out (say 3?), and to administer just the remaining 3-4 drops?
Any advice? Thank you!
We live in a village and our vet is not very familiar with diabetic cats, so we cannot rely on her help unfortunately anymore, now that the cat is so much closer to some form of partial remission...
At this point, we want to move down to 0.5 unit dose but we are unable to get any insulin pens with 0.5 increment... we also have another 4 new Lantus glargine pens (prefilled ones - disposable), so we would like to continue with these pens if possible...
Does anyone have any experience of micro-dosing with a Lantus pen like this? I noticed that if I press the button lightly, there is a tiny drop of insulin coming out, if I keep on doing it, there are about 7 drops coming (out of 1 preloaded unit)... Should I try to take a few drops out (say 3?), and to administer just the remaining 3-4 drops?
Any advice? Thank you!