Microdosing ProZinc, looking for some guidance on lower no-shoot

Status
Not open for further replies.

Peacock

Member Since 2019
(posting on both ProZinc and Main Health)

Most of the threads on microdosing protocol seem to be for Lantus which is supposed to be longer lasting, so I don't want to assume the same guidelines apply to ProZinc.

TIA to anyone who is able to take a look at Peacock's numbers and give feedback.

I switched to a human meter in early June to be able to afford to keep closer track of her numbers, so be aware any numbers from before that are on a pet meter. Based on the human meter numbers from June, I have been dropping her dose in very small increments in an attempt to be able to keep her on a consistent dose. I had settled into 0.1 as a good dose, where she was managed but not at much risk of hypo, with a target nadir of 80-90, and with 125 as my bottom limit on shooting insulin.

Peacock has only gotten 3 shots in the last 6 cycles (2 no-shoots, 1 accidental oversleep) so I cut her dose again to .05 this morning. Now is she cruising along in greens and looks like she may be too low again in a few hours at pmps time. I am wondering if I should drop her no-shoot number down to around 110? That feels a bit reckless, but so does missing doses.

Yesterday I woke up 3 hours past shot time and she was at 192, but I didn't want to shoot late so she did not get insulin, and then 4 hours later she was down to 96, a 50% drop, on her own. Encouraging, but scary because if she did that on her own I am more concerned about being extra careful with dosing her. She obviously still needs some help though.
 
112 at pmps

We chose not to shoot, partly because I need to get a good night of sleep tonight. I will continue to test every 2 hours until I go to bed.
 
Hi there! Micro-dosing definitely happens on Prozinc, and as long as you're monitoring (which you are), it's not at all reckless to shoot on lower numbers. Peacock still has a ways to go before she would even be getting close to "too low" since the take-action number is at 50 on a human meter. I think if you were to dose just a bit more, you might be able to get those PS numbers into better ranges.

In cats who use prozinc well, and long-term, you can often even shoot on greens and get a relatively flat, Lantus-like cycle. I would not recommend that to a cat who was under six months of diagnosis, but Peacock looks to be nearing a year, so could likely handle it - time and testing will show us if that's true, or if Peacock would rather just go into remission and be done with all of this :).

So I think I would decide on either what you're calling a 0.05, or 0.1, and try shooting that on anything above 99. Collect the data and see if she stays above 50, and if those PS numbers (especially AM) come down a bit. Eventually you may end up even shooting teeny tiny bits on things below 99, but let's take it one step at a time for now and just lower that no-shot number a bit and see if she can handle it. :bighug:
 
Thanks Djamila. We just did the morning test (176) and shot and I gave the ".05" dose, which I will plan to use at least until I can get through several days without skipping (dropping her no-shoot to 110 for now) then increase back up to .1 if that seems to be working. AMPS has dropped a little this week, hopefully it can start to match PMPS which has averaged in the 140 range.

I have midday medical appointments all week, so I can't watch mid-cycle numbers as closely as I did yesterday, but I can catch +2 and +6 most days, and Peacock will have my teenager for company at least.
 
Peacock is on cruise control right now... +6=101, +8=104, and now amps=105

Well, I am going for it again with the teeny dose, then a quick nap for me
 
Peacock is chilling in the low blues, but poked her paw in the green for a minute.

+2=116, +4=99, +6=129

I now feel comfortable to hold at the .05 for a few days and shoot at 100+. This weekend I will see if I can bump her dose back up to .1, depending on how low she gets at nadir.
 
Yay Peacock and yay Peacocks mom! Look at all those blue and greens! Getting in those midday tests was rough on my sleep but man did they really pay off for figuring out the right dose when I began microdosing. Great job getting all those tests in! So glad things seem to be heading in the right direction for you two!! :D
 
Peacock has now done a week at .05, with no skipped doses (just one delay). I took advantage of a slow time in our summer break and did a bunch of testing to get a clearer picture of her cycles. At this point her curve is a lot smoother, and still looks fairly safe. I think having her food more spread out makes a difference too. I bought her an auto-feeder awhile back, and finally got my teen to set up the timers for me this week. Peacock is happy to eat from it when she sees food in it, but is a bit slow in figuring out that other snacks are in there and will be coming around later. She still sits in the window sill in my room most nights, waiting for me to get up to give her some food, oblivious to the fact that it is already available to her. We have made a bit of a show of waiting for it to rotate so she sees food appear. I think I may put a bell on it, or something like that.

Thanks for the guidance and encouragement. At this point I feel ok cutting back daily testing to pre-shots and a mid-cycle shot around +5, unless something looks out of whack.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top