Mickey Myers' Lantus Dosing

wjamyers

Member Since 2022
Based on our observations of the clinical presentation (how normal is the cat acting)

And the Vetsulin curve documented here:
https://docs.google.com/spreadsheets/d/1Fe3njfgwvHoU7vWS6EOF_l8RKc-mqMIsf9tZyr2pIrg/edit?usp=sharing

It looked like the Vetsulin was just too short acting in our cat so we switched to Lantus 5 days ago, today we are doing his first Lantus curve.

He's still urinating a lot but his behavior is much more normal, he's back to fighting and wandering around the house and jumping on the sink and bed, etc. So we already believe the Lantus is more appropriate but...

Based on today's preshot number (421, 40 higher than with Vetsulin!) I'm thinking we already know we'll need to increase the dose. Obviously that will depend on nadir, and I notice that SLGS doesn't even mention a 1 Unit increase at all, as though that's not a thing, but also doesn't say never do it. I understand that large changes can backfire so IF .5 is the max recommended increase then that's what we'll go with. Our needles are only calibrated to 1 unit, so the .5 precision may be a little shaky.

My wife and I don't like pricking our cat, so we're going to do it every two hours, even though I took the first post reading at 1 hour. So next update will be at noon (3 hours out).

Yes we're using Alphatrak, and that's what we're stuck with today and don't see why can't use the meter designed for cats to track our cat's BG.

I'm guessing we'll need to increase to 1.5 units or 2 units tonight.

Feel free to tell me what i'm getting wrong.
 
Oh I forgot, his ideal weight should be around 11 to 13 lbs. He's around 10 now and too skinny.
 
Welcome. Lantus and Levemir are much better insulins for cats so I am glad you made the switch. Please start a condo on main/health where we ask all new people to post an intro. There you will get set up with a spreadsheet and signature. We are very data oriented here so no help can be given without one. You can copy and paste this there. Once set up we can help you here.
 
Back
Top