? Methos (Alphatrak) AMPS 279 +4.5 170 +7 186 PMPS 177

SmallestSparrow

Member Since 2024
I already know all you folks bravely giving shots at 83 are wondering why I’m even asking (and I’m waiting on a text from my vet) but: he’s never not come up to at least high 200s by shot time. In fact he’s rarely been below 250 and seems to hang in the mid to high 300s (hence my earlier post asking if other Cushing cats seemed to have the same number no matter what dose). I’m using an Alphatrak —I know it reads higher than the human meters most of you reference. The precision and accuracy are both 10% so 170, 186, and 177 is essentially the same number

I’m afraid to give him 3.5U, or even the 2.5 she said I could do instead if his numbers got to 200 before his pm dose (so I could sleep—I’m sure neither of us imagined a 177). I’m afraid to give him anything actually (and equally afraid to not give it). So I’m already 45 min late on shot. Should i wait a little longer and recheck?

idk if suddenly I managed to give his shot correctly…if maybe the vetoryl is working for a change…if the new probiotic or B-12 shots are playing a role…if Cushing’s cats do this to mess with our hearts…so here i am staring at a cat I gave extra for dinner in anticipation of a 200 but lack the courage to go forward at 177.

he’s just so fragile I don’t want to do something wrong
 
Last edited:
Hey Colleen, I can't offer any advice on dosing, sorry, but I can tell you that if you add the "?" to your Thread Title, that will help you get an answer from the more experienced members quicker. I learned that the other day.
 
I'm sorry no one responded sooner! It's good to see that long stretch of blues today. As he gets closer to a good dose, you will find him staying longer in lower numbers. That combines with his body getting used to lower numbers will mean less bouncing and flatter cycles. It's good you gave some insulin today and didn't skip. As you start shooting lower and lower preshots, you will find that Lantus is very good at giving flat cycles when you shoot low.
 
I'm sorry no one responded sooner! It's good to see that long stretch of blues today. As he gets closer to a good dose, you will find him staying longer in lower numbers. That combines with his body getting used to lower numbers will mean less bouncing and flatter cycles. It's good you gave some insulin today and didn't skip. As you start shooting lower and lower preshots, you will find that Lantus is very good at giving flat cycles when you shoot low.
Thank you so much. I don’t envision me getting comfy …I see folks giving shots in the green and I’m like “I don’t even want to be green. Blue with bits of yellow please”. I panicked and gave him some kibble and greenies and pill pockets when he was 159 @ +1.5. How often should I check him?
 
I don’t envision me getting comfy …I see folks giving shots in the green and I’m like “I don’t even want to be green. Blue with bits of yellow please”.
That's how it was for all of us at the beginning :-)

I panicked and gave him some kibble and greenies and pill pockets when he was 159 @ +1.5. How often should I check him?
Can you get a +3 and we can take it from there.


Also he hasn’t really bounced yet …for a month he’s been essentially 300. No matter the dose. Slight dip to 200s but just hanging out between 270 and 330 mostly. One blue once. One red once. I’m a wreck.
Hang in there. Lower numbers become addictive soon! He will also feel really good in them once his body gets used to being in them.
 
That's how it was for all of us at the beginning :)


Can you get a +3 and we can take it from there.



Hang in there. Lower numbers become addictive soon! He will also feel really good in them once his body gets used to being in them.
Thank you SO MUCH!

274 +3. He really liked getting greenies. If the other cat weren’t also getting over (I hope) pancreatitis I MAY not have panicked so badly but I can’t leave either one behind to go to ER with the other. No, would have panicked anyway. A trip to the ER will kill him for sure from the stress so…at 274 and only two of his 3.5 U I guess I can stop praying for blue and start praying his ketones will be fine in the am. He’s just finished his fourth standard meal of the day (plus his bonus 25 cal of kibble (38%) and 10 cal of greenies so I know I shouldn’t give his bedtime snack…but probably will
 
All I could hear in my head through all this was the ground collision warning screaming “pull up, pull up, pull up!”

well time to go check on my boys, and wash off methos’ ear in anticipation of a (hopefully tame) +5
 
Looks like those high carb treats as well as some bouncing from the lower numbers of today are sending him zooming!

Is he getting HC kibble? He isn't on LC wet?
 
Looks like those high carb treats as well as some bouncing from the lower numbers of today are sending him zooming!

Is he getting HC kibble? He isn't on LC wet?
He’s on Tiki Cat Senior Chicken Mousse, Tiki Cat Chicken broth, and Tiki Puka Luau (chicken breast in broth). And freeze dried chicken breast after tests.

he’s always been a very picky/suspicious eater so Instinct Healthy weight (chicken of course) is the only thing with carbs I’ve found that he will eat on demand for hypoglycemia (besides greenies)…idk what he ate before the shelter but he definitely ate kibble there before coming home with me…I think it is his comfort food (but only chicken flavor). I’ve given up trying to make him eat a different brand of wet in order to have medium carb on hand—if I push him he might just decide I’m trying to kill him and stop eating. He’s done that if I just change the flavor of his food (same brand). Because cats. Luckily my other boy eats anything.

I’ve always had to feed him four meals because he’d get full too early, but with his pancreatitis and starting insulin it’s now four meals ( 0315, 0900, 1515, 2100), snacks at 0600, 1200, 1800), and some freeze dried chicken for overnight
 
I was asking because of this. This made me think he gets kibble every day?
Sorry for the confusion. He’d finished his fourth standard meal but had also been fed a “bonus meal” of a Tbs of kibble when he was still dropping even before his pm insulin had started (192 down to 159 @ +1.5–it’s rare anything happens before 2.5 or 3 and his nadir —such as it is—is generally at 4.5)…although there generally isn’t a lot of down and up. More like a slightly wavy line.

luckily he likes regimentation so he always gets
1st meal —25 cal of sr mousse, 13 cal broth w/meaty bits, 3 cal pill pocket with his AM meds (5-10 cal Freeze Dried Chicken w/test); shot
Snack—22 cal puka chicken breast (+2.5 -3)
10 cal FDC with test at +4.5
2nd meal (+5.5) 50 cal senior mousse
Snack (+8.5) 20 cal puka
3rd meal (same as first); shot
Snack (+2.5-3) 20 cal puka
5-10 cal FDC with test
4th meal (+5.5) same as second
Then 30-40 cal Freeze Dried Chicken for him to snack on during night
 
Thank you so much. I don’t envision me getting comfy …I see folks giving shots in the green and I’m like “I don’t even want to be green. Blue with bits of yellow please”. I panicked and gave him some kibble and greenies and pill pockets when he was 159 @ +1.5. How often should I check him?
Hi Colleen, Methos is a warrior and he’s beautiful. :bighug:
You’re doing great with him and thank you for all you do to help him and for saving him.
As Bhooma said, we all felt (and still do feel nervous and get jittery).
We just have to keep asking questions and helping each other get through this and helping our sweet kitties ❤️

Hang in there and give your sweet boy chin scratches from me and Ivy. Hugs to both big you :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Hi Colleen, Methos is a warrior and he’s beautiful. :bighug:
You’re doing great with him and thank you for all you do to help him and for saving him.
As Bhooma said, we all felt (and still do feel nervous and get jittery).
We just have to keep asking questions and helping each other get through this and helping our sweet kitties ❤️

Hang in there and give your sweet boy chin scratches from me and Ivy. Hugs to both big you :bighug::bighug::bighug:
Thanks so much. I felt guilty as soon as I fed him the greenies/kibble—he did seem better yesterday in the blues (despite my anxiety :nailbiting:). In my vets defense she told me he didn’t need kibble or greenies. But she also knows a trip to ER could kill him. (And despite her threat to come confiscate all my meters she hasn’t yet done so :))

He’s a big boy, size wise between a Siberian and Maine Coon (his dna test says Siberian/Maine Coon/Norweigan), and was intact until the shelter so always very muscular. The Cushings has taken a toll on his strength so it’s a struggle to keep his weight up…I hope if his DM improves maybe he will regain a little muscle. Or at least maintain what’s left.

Before the tumor he’d jump more than four feet above the tub to a towel basket on a shelf and pull himself into it. Now he uses steps to the sofa. :(

Hugs and scritches back to you and Ivy!
upload_2024-9-10_5-55-9.jpeg
 

Attachments

  • upload_2024-9-10_5-55-9.jpeg
    upload_2024-9-10_5-55-9.jpeg
    71.2 KB · Views: 132
Thanks so much. I felt guilty as soon as I fed him the greenies/kibble—he did seem better yesterday in the blues (despite my anxiety :nailbiting:). In my vets defense she told me he didn’t need kibble or greenies. But she also knows a trip to ER could kill him. (And despite her threat to come confiscate all my meters she hasn’t yet done so :))

He’s a big boy, size wise between a Siberian and Maine Coon (his dna test says Siberian/Maine Coon/Norweigan), and was intact until the shelter so always very muscular. The Cushings has taken a toll on his strength so it’s a struggle to keep his weight up…I hope if his DM improves maybe he will regain a little muscle. Or at least maintain what’s left.

Before the tumor he’d jump more than four feet above the tub to a towel basket on a shelf and pull himself into it. Now he uses steps to the sofa. :(

Hugs and scritches back to you and Ivy!
View attachment 70949
He's so adorable!! Ivy is also part Maine Coon (I've never tested her DNA though). They are a very special breed.

I'm sorry Methos has been through so much. It sucks when they have all these complications and conditions which affect their usual routines and quality of life :(
You are doing a great job as his advocate, though. I'm sure he is very thankful to you :bighug:
 
Hi Colleen,

wow, it is so nice to see this long stretch of blue in his ss! And as I wrote earlier, I would have been scared too. You managed so well! :bighug::cat::bighug:

I love the picture of Methos! He is really a character and looks like such a sweet and adorable boy!

I send you a hug and hope you can relax a bit today! :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Thanks @Heike & BInie but in reality I grew more and more anxious as his dinner approached, cut his dose in half and then gave him a handful of kibble and greenies :eek:

he survived despite me and I hope pink is the worst I see from it. Maybe I will be more courageous in the future. But I really do look at other spreadsheets and think “I don’t want to have green…scary! Just blue with a touch of yellow and I will be happy!”
I hope Binie is continuing to improve!
 
He's so adorable!! Ivy is also part Maine Coon (I've never tested her DNA though). They are a very special breed.

I'm sorry Methos has been through so much. It sucks when they have all these complications and conditions which affect their usual routines and quality of life :(
You are doing a great job as his advocate, though. I'm sure he is very thankful to you :bighug:
Ivy is so pretty, she looks more like a Maine Coon than Methos. Other than his long long tail (which I knelt on once testing his ear) and huge huge polydactyl paws I don’t see MC in him.
 
Thanks @Heike & BInie but in reality I grew more and more anxious as his dinner approached, cut his dose in half and then gave him a handful of kibble and greenies :eek:

he survived despite me and I hope pink is the worst I see from it. Maybe I will be more courageous in the future. But I really do look at other spreadsheets and think “I don’t want to have green…scary! Just blue with a touch of yellow and I will be happy!”
I hope Binie is continuing to improve!

Please don't be hard on yourself! It's a new situation and we are all learning what is safe and what is not. Better to make a too careful decision than other way round. Next time you have more data to make your decision. And I am sure he enjoyed his little extra meal. :)

It always helps me to read from the more experienced members, that they have been there too and that you get used to it. Seems to be a learning process to cope with it. Hope things get easier soon. :bighug::kiss::bighug:
 
Back
Top