Merry 12/10 Still lots of yellows - dose advice

Status
Not open for further replies.

LuanneP

Member Since 2017
Hi guys,

Merry has been on 4.25u for 6 cycles now & he had more blues on 3.75u & 4u than he has on 4.25u. I guess I need to increase to 4.5u tonight?
 
Looks like TR says increase by .25u

INCREASING THE DOSE:
  • Hold the dose for 3 - 5 days (6 - 10 consecutive cycles) if nadirs are less than 200 before increasing the dose by 0.25 unit.
    • if your cat is new to numbers under 200, it is recommended to hold the dose for at least 8-10 cycles before increasing.
    • when your cat starts to see nadirs under 100, hold the dose for at least 10 cycles before increasing.
  • After 3 days (6 consecutive cycles)... if nadirs are greater than 200, but less than 300 increase the dose by 0.25 unit.
  • After 3 days (6 consecutive cycles)... if nadirs are greater than 300 increase the dose by 0.5 unit.
 
If you hurry up you can actually be delayed in long term as the insulin depot can get ahead of you - and you'll have to decrease the dose later. With Merry's BG numbers, I'd wait 5 days and evaluate before every increase.
 
They are still mostly high blues. I think you can increase now to 4.5 units. Or you could wait one more cycle and make it 8 cycles, but he needs that increase. The goal is green.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top