Kelley and Merlin
Member
He was at 148 AT and 138 RO for his PMPS. He just had a 1/2 can of Purina DM Selects. I'm very worried about giving him his usual dose. Don't know what to do.
What are you scared of…not having the AT strips? Or just giving the full dose?I have one AT strip left (more coming overnight from Amazon), but I have plenty of RO strips. I'm so scared to do it.
You don’t need to give Karo until the BG drops under 50 but let’s see how he goes. If you can get a+2 and then we can go from there.. If he is dropping faster than we like we can give him some food to slow him down. The key is to monitor him closely so we know what is happening, not test late after the BG has dropped low.She said if under 150 to give 1 unit. At what number should I give karo or high carb food?
Ok I would give the full dose. You can do it. I will be here for you. You are almost an hour later now I think.Yes, I wake up with alarms. He almost always eats for me.
WELL DONE KELLY!I just gave him the full 2.25. I was a little nervous. I always pet him after to make sure I don't feel any wetness, and I thought I felt something. It wasn't much. I also tested him again right before and his numbers had gone up to 201 on the RO. Setting an alarm for 2 hours.
WELL DONE KELLY!
Did you give him a snack with the insulin?
I’ll see you in 2 hours.
I can relate to that. I got Sheba into remission in 3 months with my vet who was good and she was in remission for 2 1/2 years and I never worried about low numbers the first time really because I was probably ignorant of all things feline diabetes. When she fell out of remission she was always bouncing and diving low and I was lost until I found this forum.On our first round of diabetes before remission, this didn't worry me. Maybe I just was too stupid to be worried. But also the ER he was in this time freaked me out because they weren't giving him any insulin at crazy high BG levels and ketones bc the vet was afraid he'd go hypo. I think that is stuck in my brain.
Well all’s well that ends well. At least you got a good sleep. And with that +6 215 you can stop testing for the night.My alarm just went off. I just realized what I did. Instead of a +4 (adding 2 hours), I set it for 4 hours from when we last talked.. I just took it and he's at 215.
I can't believe I made that mistake!
no, that’s a shame but you’ll have plenty more times to get that +4 and he is safe and that is the main thing. And hopefully now you will feel more confident shooting lower numbers!Now I have no idea how low he went @ +4. This is +6.
The idea is to shoot a little lower each time the opportunity presents itself. You can always post and ask us or you can stall, don’t feed and test again in 20 minutes to see if the Preshot is rising.And to what number would you continue shooting the 2.25 full dose? Is there a PS number where you would stop and think twice?
Getting a +2 is a good idea when your shoot a lower than normal Preshot as it will give you an idea what Merlin has in mind. If the Preshot is lower than the Preshot it will most likely be an active cycle meaning the BGs will most likely drop lower. Looking back at his SS the nadirs seem to be around +6or+7, but they always like to keep us on our toes so that is not set in concrete. Once he starts to go back up after nadir it is safe to stop testing.And would you take +2 numbers up to the +6 point each time before you stopped testing? Is +6 the point where you would feel like he will not go lower, or is it more the number because he's over 200?
I think we all feel more vulnerable at night. I’m happy to help you. Tag me anytime.At night is when this seems to feel much more scary to me
Yes I would say that is a bounce from the lower than normal preshot you had last night.I guess he's bouncing, because after such good PS numbers last night, this morning the AT was 723 and the RO was just reading HI.
You don’t have to use the food supplied by the vet. Any low carb food is ok to use, as long as Merlin will eat it.Yeah, I'm sure the baby food doesn't have what a cat needs in it. The vet sold me the Purina DM Selects. I just looked it up. It looks like it is 10% carbs. The regular DM is 6%, but they didn't have that at the vet. Yes, he is eating very well.
Sorry I am just seeing this nowHis PMPS was higher than I expected - 282 AT, 267 RO. He ate a big meal and got his 2.25 units. Do you think I need to stay up testing him?
Great!Last visit (12/17) he was at 0.3.