? Merlin AMPS 57, PMPS 307 BG going crazy

Steve & Merlin

Member Since 2019
I have never seen his BG act like this. His nadir looks like it will be at the AMPS. I didn't list all the BG measurements this morning, but it started crashing and I had to give HC food to keep it from going below 30. He just had new lab work done and it shows he now has kidney disease. Not bad, but clearly he is starting to have issues with proteins now showing up in his urine. During the vet visit it was also discovered he has an abscessed tooth and it will be removed Tuesday. He is on antibiotics now to bring down the infection and inflammation prior to surgery. I took him in for lab work as he just seemed off and his BG was acting weird. I kept having to raise his dose more than I would expect to compensate for his increased food intake. But that now may be explained by the kidneys and tooth.

Despite all of this, he has been eating well and gaining weight, finally.

I really don't want to not give him a shot as I know his BG will then go through the roof this afternoon/evening, but I have no clue what reduced shot amount to give him. The vet said it's even more important to control his BG so as to reduce the stress on his kidneys. He can spike from a 100s to 300 easily in a couple of hours.
 
Could be the antibiotics kicking in for the abscessed tooth and inflammation. You don't know how long the tooth issue has been a problem. Bad teeth can lead to higher numbers. Perhaps that is what has been causing the increases lately. I'd like to see more experienced members than me chime in on this.

Put a Question Mark in the title of your thread asking for help with dosing tonight.
 
His +2 is 56 so he is just idling right now while his liver and pancreas decide what to do. If this is due to the antibiotics working on the abscess, he might just be working off the "excess reserve" in his depot? If that is the case, his dosage requirements should be less, especially after the tooth is removed. I gave him 100ml of subq fluids an hour ago and he seems to have perked up a bit. Enough to eat some lunch anyway. He wasn't really dehydrated as I keep an eye on his weight for that, but it seemed like a good idea since he wasn't going to his water bowl and he now has kidney disease..... Giving him fluids is easy as he just ignores the whole procedure.
 
I had the same idea as Red and Rover after looking at your spreadsheet.
The glucose change sure was dramatic. Can challenged kidneys cause low numbers?

At this time my first concern would be safe glucose numbers, over worry about kidneys.
 
From what I have read, kidney disease usually causes even more water intake/loss if the BG is high and possibly reduced appetite. Merlin's water intake was easily tracked to his BG, as was his output. I haven't really seen any changes due to the disease, but that will change as it progresses.
 
I suggest that you put the latest lab results in your spreadsheet and ask someone to take a look at them. Make mention of the abscess. I lost Rover to an abscess that burst pushing his chronic CKD to acute. (Rover was not a candidate for anesthesia.) Ask if the abscess could make the lab numbers jump and should you have new lab results taken after the tooth removal and antibiotics are finished. Marje would be a good person to ask.

Now to kidney disease. There are stages and each stage has its own standard of treatment. Tanya's site at https://www.felinecrf.org/ is the bible. Like diabetes, it is a steep learning curve.

The trick is how to balance the needs of a diabetic cat and a kidney cat. It can be done. Many people have done it. Start by checking out low phosphorus food that is also low carb. https://docs.google.com/spreadsheets/d/1qT8uMp21z5z7VFqt0m6PPfEUz9YmzMGMxkmcBk6uRR0/edit#gid=113878384
Also check out the Low carb / phos list from 2017 found in "Links to FOOD CHARTS." http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/links-to-food-charts.174182/
 
Back
Top