Merlin’sMama
Member Since 2022
His BG is 171. Too low to shoot, right? Iedited this line when I took the reading.
Last edited:
He is starting to come up nicely. Would you like to stall a bit longer?200. I dont feel good about shooting this low, especially after last night.
We can. But I really dont want to shoot low.He is starting to come up nicely. Would you like to stall a bit longer?
How long?We can. But I really dont want to shoot low.
Not reallyUsing the SLGS dosing method, the other option is to give a lower dose now because the preshot is quite a bit lower than normal but is not under 200.
He earned a reduction down to 0.1 last night so if we are to give a smaller dose than that, it would be a drop.
So would you be happy to feed now and give a drop dose?
You are going to have to start shooting lower preshot BGs sometime. And I am sure he will keep rising.Not really
Should we test again then feed him now?You are going to have to start shooting lower preshot BGs sometime. And I am sure he will keep rising.
And normally when you shoot a lower preshot, the drops are not big like you see with higher preshots.
If you want we can wait for that second stall of 20 minutes but then we will have to make a decision
Test again and post but wait for my answer to feed please.Should we test again then feed him now?
I'll explain what a drop dose is so you are aware.
To get a drop dose, you push the plunger of the syringe in as far as you can and hold it there.
Then you insert the needle into the insulin still holding the plunger right down firmly.
Then you take your finger off the plunger but don't draw back any insulin.
Withdraw the needle from the insulin bottle.
You should then have a drop of insulin come out of the needle when you press it.
You would need to do it a couple of times first to check you have it right.
245 BG nowTest again and post but wait for my answer to feed please.
You can see how he is rising now Jill. I think we could give the 0.1 dose because you have given 0.25 units with a preshot of 299 a couple of days ago, and 245 is not that different and the dose is less.245 BG now
Ok. We will feed him nowYou can see how he is rising now Jill. I think we could give the 0.1 dose because you have given 0.25 units with a preshot of 299 a couple of days ago, and 245 is not that different and the dose is less.
I would feed him his preshot meal now with about 8% carbs and hopefully he's hungry and eats well.
Then give the 0.1 dose.
How does that sound?
Over the next hour is fine.So far he has had 63 g of food out of 80 g can. We will try to get some more down him if we can.
Ivy is good at that dosing. He ate most of the can now, but may come back for the rest. We didn’t know he could be allowed to take a whole hour to eat it? Been cutting it off at half an hour. Have to follow him around in the garden, placing the bowl in various “wild” locations. Wonder what we should expect today from a low BG plus a low dose.Over the next hour is fine.
Well done giving the dose.
10:08 dose. Should we call it 10? I dont know what this means for our PM time. We had hoped to get it back to 9:00 today. Guess 930 stays for today…or do we need now to move it to 10?.1 given at last
Yes 10 is fine. You can go back 15 mins tonight.10:08 dose. Should we call it 10? I dont know what this means for our PM time. We had hoped to get it back to 9:00 today. Guess 930 stays for today…or do we need now to move it to 10?
So, 9:45 PM. Right?It is fine to let him eat for longer than 1/2 hour. There is o cut off time. Some caregivers let their cats graze throughout the cycle. Most give two or three snacks during a cycle.
Yes 10 is fine. You can go back 15 mins tonight.
We will stay with that dose until the BGs tell us it is either too high or too low or just right.Will we be giving the .1 dose tonight too? How long will we go on that dose?
Let’s get a +1.5 to see how he’s going.191@+1
That’s interesting.238@+1.5
Starting a bounce? Or did he really get the .1 unit? I guess time will tell us perhaps.That’s interesting.
Ok I would feed him 1 teaspoon of 15 carbs because that is quite a drop to +3 and test in 20 mins so we can check if the drop has slowed.95 @+3
Ok about the same with meter variance. That’s good. Hopefully he’s had his big dive and will now gracefully glide slowly down and surf.103@+3.26
You think he will drop some more, even with the 15?Ok about the same with meter variance. That’s good. Hopefully he’s had his big dive and will now gracefully glide slowly down and surf.
I’d test at +4.
Maybe. I didn’t suggest giving him that to stop him dropping completely. I gave it to stop any further big drop. That was 100 points in an hour and if it had been when the BG was higher in the 3 or 4 hundreds we had more room to manoeuvre. But once it dropped by 100 to under 100 we needed to take some action.You think he will drop some more, even with the 15?

112@ +4Well… I guess it could be the food? Or was that it for the green today?
Ok. That was fed at +3 and 7 minutes, so that was it!149@+5. You will need to test for the 2 hours after the 15carb was given then if he’s not dropping you can stop testing.