Merlin 6/05 PMPS 376, 389@+1, 281@+2, 275@+3, 250@+4

Using the SLGS dosing method, the other option is to give a lower dose now because the preshot is quite a bit lower than normal but is not under 200.
He earned a reduction down to 0.1 last night so if we are to give a smaller dose than that, it would be a drop.
So would you be happy to feed now and give a drop dose?
 
Using the SLGS dosing method, the other option is to give a lower dose now because the preshot is quite a bit lower than normal but is not under 200.
He earned a reduction down to 0.1 last night so if we are to give a smaller dose than that, it would be a drop.
So would you be happy to feed now and give a drop dose?
Not really
 
You are going to have to start shooting lower preshot BGs sometime. And I am sure he will keep rising.
And normally when you shoot a lower preshot, the drops are not big like you see with higher preshots.
If you want we can wait for that second stall of 20 minutes but then we will have to make a decision
Should we test again then feed him now?
 
I'll explain what a drop dose is so you are aware.
To get a drop dose, you push the plunger of the syringe in as far as you can and hold it there.
Then you insert the needle into the insulin still holding the plunger right down firmly.
Then you take your finger off the plunger but don't draw back any insulin.
Withdraw the needle from the insulin bottle.
You should then have a drop of insulin come out of the needle when you press it.
You would need to do it a couple of times first to check you have it right.
 
I'll explain what a drop dose is so you are aware.
To get a drop dose, you push the plunger of the syringe in as far as you can and hold it there.
Then you insert the needle into the insulin still holding the plunger right down firmly.
Then you take your finger off the plunger but don't draw back any insulin.
Withdraw the needle from the insulin bottle.
You should then have a drop of insulin come out of the needle when you press it.
You would need to do it a couple of times first to check you have it right.
Test again and post but wait for my answer to feed please.
245 BG now
 
245 BG now
You can see how he is rising now Jill. I think we could give the 0.1 dose because you have given 0.25 units with a preshot of 299 a couple of days ago, and 245 is not that different and the dose is less.
I would feed him his preshot meal now with about 8% carbs and hopefully he's hungry and eats well.
Then give the 0.1 dose.
How does that sound?
 
You can see how he is rising now Jill. I think we could give the 0.1 dose because you have given 0.25 units with a preshot of 299 a couple of days ago, and 245 is not that different and the dose is less.
I would feed him his preshot meal now with about 8% carbs and hopefully he's hungry and eats well.
Then give the 0.1 dose.
How does that sound?
Ok. We will feed him now
 
Over the next hour is fine.
Well done giving the dose.
Ivy is good at that dosing. He ate most of the can now, but may come back for the rest. We didn’t know he could be allowed to take a whole hour to eat it? Been cutting it off at half an hour. Have to follow him around in the garden, placing the bowl in various “wild” locations. Wonder what we should expect today from a low BG plus a low dose.
 
It is fine to let him eat for longer than 1/2 hour. There is o cut off time. Some caregivers let their cats graze throughout the cycle. Most give two or three snacks during a cycle.

10:08 dose. Should we call it 10? I dont know what this means for our PM time. We had hoped to get it back to 9:00 today. Guess 930 stays for today…or do we need now to move it to 10?
Yes 10 is fine. You can go back 15 mins tonight.
 
You think he will drop some more, even with the 15?
Maybe. I didn’t suggest giving him that to stop him dropping completely. I gave it to stop any further big drop. That was 100 points in an hour and if it had been when the BG was higher in the 3 or 4 hundreds we had more room to manoeuvre. But once it dropped by 100 to under 100 we needed to take some action.
Its easy in hindsight to see we maybe should have fed something else but it’s always safety first and we all learn and you will get to know his ways.
We already know that Merlin likes to dive early in the cycle so it is no longer a surprise.
I think he is having fun though swapping the diving times around :joyful:
 
PMPS 376. Good evening. Hope this is a smooth and simple one. Merlin’s taking his time eating. We will leave it out for an hour, per Bron’s instructions.
 
Last edited:
Back
Top