Melville's a little bouncy lately...

Status
Not open for further replies.

ericbakes

Member Since 2011
Hello, everyone. Thought I would check in due to some interesting numbers Melville's getting.

Over the last 24 hours, his preshot has been 50 two times. I haven't been keeping records because he's been so consistent over the last year, so I backfilled the chart a few days to give you some context. He generally gets 2.2-2.6 units and his preshots are generally 150-250.

Last night, he tested 54 at 5:30pm. We were going out, so I didn't get to check him again until close to 11pm. At that time, he was at 243, which is normal for him. So I reduced and gave him 2 units. (**edit** I didn't think about the fact that he's usually close to 500 six hours after I skip a shop).

This morning, he was at 192, which is a typical preshot. Since it had only been 7 hours, I figured he had already bottomed out, so I gave him a reduced shot again, 2.0 units. I know this is a little unorthodox, but I haven't had any problems with shooting a little close together like this in the past.

Tonight, he was back down to 50. His behavior has been fine -- nothing to indicate illness. Holy terror as usual.

Any thoughts on this? I'll test again at +2 tonight and reevaluate.
 
Hey, nice to see you. Well, I'd say it's time to reduce the dose. Anytime you get a green pmps, he may have gone very low- into hypo territory midcycle. I would guess your one pink preshot is a bounce.

What do you think about dropping to 1.5? Get some midcycle numbers and see where that dose takes him. Then you'll know whether to adjust up or further down.

Always excited to see a kitty do better after months on the same dose!
 
No, that'd be fine. It's that idea that you can always increase, but you can't get the insulin out once it's shot. Always better to be higher than lower.
 
Hi, good to see you again.

It looks like Melville is changing the game plan. Anytime you get long cycles or low PS's it's time for a dose reduction.

I like the 1 unit, it's a good starting point for the new game. :-D
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top