Mellit Homeopathic drops

Status
Not open for further replies.

olivia

Member Since 2010
Has anyone used Mellit. I am a diabetic with a newly diagnosed kitty. Has anyone used this? Nervous wreck!!
 
I think the general consesus of this board is that any treatment claiming to "cure" diabetes, "improve" blood glucose levels, "makes the insulin work better", etc is basically a huge waste of money.

The only effective treatment for any diabetic cat is the right diet, insulin injections, and daily blood glucose monitoring.
 
Thankyou for your reply, I am still curious if anyone has used this product. I did not indicate that I was not using Insulin and testing. The product on line seems to have had great reviews. I was curious to tak to someone who may have tried Mellit's.
 
Hi - I too read about it, took some printed information to the Vet & asked him. He looked at the ingredients & did think it could harm & said he knew of no hard evidence for its effectiveness. He basically said if it would not harm the cat or interfere with our protocol, to try it if I felt strongly about it. I did not, at least not yet. Do keep us posted on what you do especially if you have any positive results.
 
I am starting Olivia on the Mellit drops today. I am hopeful that this product will have the response that the users on the website indicated it had on their
little loved ones.
 
I find it interesting that in almost every one of the "reviews" on this site http://www.petwellbeing.com/cat-diabete ... fm#reviews they mentioned canned food, raw food or high protein food - meaning they made a diet change.

"As well as removing her from dry cat food , this has been a life saver for my dear Precious."

For many cats, dry, grain-filled foods is what caused the diabetes in the first place. Changing their diet is the first rule of managing feline diabetes. I would argue that the resolve in symptoms some of those owners saw was because they changed their cat's diet, not because they bought some extremely expensive drops.

And those reviewers who claim they did research on the internet must have missed the first website which comes up on Google search: Felinediabetes.com

Save your money for test strips. Or canned food.
 
I haven't used it. Haven't heard of it. You might want to check with the folks over on WholeCatHealth, a Yahoo group that requires membership to join. That is where I go when I have questions about homeopathic meds, herbs, and other "natural" stuff. It's a good place.

olivia said:
I did not indicate that I was not using Insulin and testing.

Are you using insulin and testing?
 
To answer Venita's question about Insulin I have not yet begun injections. After talking to the Vet we I decided on three months of diet change
and to try the Mellit's drops. I too am a diabetic and realize what a diet can do to improve this disease. I also believe in homeopathic treatments.
After reading the Board 's reccomendations of foods I switched to Fancy Feast(glutin free) and Parmesion cheese the girls love it(turkey and giblets).

After consulting with my health food person I purchased Omega Life Inc. Fortified Flax seed which I mixed a half a teaspoon into their food.

I strongly believe in homeopathic treatment and plan to try many differant things .

Thanks for your responses.
 
Olivia,

If you aren't going to give insulin, I would urge you to monitor your cat's blood glucose using a human glucometer, as well as testing her urine for ketones several times per week. While part of me can understand wanting to try diet/homeopathic treatment first, I will just say that my cat went undiagnosed for two or three months (despite a vet visit) and was finally diagnosed when she was DKA (diabetic ketoacidosis). It isn't an easy road to follow.

I wish you and kitty the best.
Pam & Layla
 
My cat was recently diagnosed, too. I also am a believer in homeopathic remedies. After pricing insulin, needles, home testing equipment,etc...and researching feline dietary requirements, I made my decision. Please understand that I love my cat as much as anyone else. But I also need to be able to keep the two of us and her "furry sister" in a home!
I changed their diet to only canned food twice daily. (As opposed to dry food always available.) Then, a week later, I started Mellit. (My vet said it couldn't hurt. I also compared it to a Human homeopath's list of recommended herbal treatments for diabetes, blood sugar regulation, and overall kidney/immune system support--the ingredients in Mellit are nearly identical.)
After three weeks of these changes, Kitty's eyes are brighter, her legs appear to be feeling stronger, she is playing with much greater intensity and frequency, and she's grooming herself much better!
Next week, I will take her in to have her sugar checked again. But I am convinced that, though she isn't likely to be CURED, she feels and looks so much better. Her quality of life is improved, and that's my main concern for her. I am committed to watching her closely for any decrease in health or wellbeing. I understand that, with insulin, she could be given more years. As a pet owner, I am responsible to her in regards to the quality of those years. I could lose her sooner without insulin. That makes me sad, but I need to do what is best overall for all of us!
I am not a vet. I cannot give advice... I only wanted you to know that I am on the same page as you, and to let you know about my experiences so far. Follow your heart and instincts about your little friend. GOOD LUCK, AND GOD BLESS YOU BOTH!
 
I think that anything that helps your cat's overall wellbeing will be helpful in treating the diabetes. But any product's effectiveness will depend on the health of the pancreas, and if the pancreas is severely damage then it really doesn't matter what you give, you'll still likely need to give insulin.

Giving a product and diet change 3 months is an awful long time and puts a cat at risk for developing severe complications. I'd give the changes 2 weeks and then test at home if at all possible as testing at the clinic MAY not be 100% valid if vet stress inflates blood glucose levels...

Jen
 
Amy,
Thanks for sharing your thoughts and feelings as to your treatment of your kitty. I am interested if you are mixing the Mellitts in the food or giving or directly in the mouth from the dropper. I have given Olivia's orally. However I have considered mixing it in the food. Are you giving it to both of your girls?
I have noticed that many people are not fans and or believers of homeopathic treatments. We might not share the same thoughts about our treatments
but I feel that everyone has their kitty's best interest at heart and we all love them very much or we would not be here.
 
I use homeopathic treatments for my animals, myself and my children. But if one of my children were to become diabetic, or if Squeak were to require insulin, I'd never choose homeopathics over insulin.
 
Just to be clear, the Mellit drops are not homeopathic. It appears to be an herbal supplement.

Also, we should all keep in mind that insulin is natural -- it's a hormone we all make in abundance if we're healthy. It's much more natural than any vitamin or herb. By treating a diabetic with insulin, we are restoring their natural state and allowing their bodies to heal. It is reasonable to add in an "nonnative" substance like herbs to help--I do this for my dog who has liver disease--but it is not the same as bringing them back into balance by giving them the insulin they need. If there was something natural I could do for my dog's liver disease, you can bet I'd choose that first over any add-in holistic supplement.

(edited to correct typo)
 
What worries me about the Mellit drops is at least three of the ingredients are described as diuretics. Since most uncontrolled diabetics can't get enough water to stay properly hydrated, I would not want to give them diuretics.
 
I am putting the drops in her food. They smell awful (much like vitamins), so I was expecting a turned up nose...but she doesn't mind! Of course the drastic change from free-feeding to 2X a day helps. They are HUNGRY when it's meal time!

I only put the drops in her food. But as I find it impossible to keep them out of each other's dishes, I'm sure Sister get some, too. I just watch to make sure the one who needs it gets as much as possible. I may start the other one on the drops at a later date. She has always been more sensitive to diet changes. Different food = throwing up! So we're still settling into our new food.

I did err in calling the drops homeopathic. Sorry! They are a supplement that supports the body's processes. If the body is still producing some insulin, it seems reasonable to me to support that process first. If I eventually need to use insulin, I will. I understand the long-term implications of diabetes. This is a long journey, and I am trying to map out the best route for us. I will be home testing, regardless of the rest of the treatment plan.
 
Amy

I am hopeful for you...but a caution...it does not necessarily make sense to use this product first....because if blood glucose levels are high enough to cause damage to the pancreas, the drops won't be enough. Insulin, on the other hand, will reduce or stop the damage on the pancreas.

But I think you get our point, and we'll be interested to see how things go.
 
Amy said:
Of course the drastic change from free-feeding to 2X a day helps. They are HUNGRY when it's meal time!


Unregulated diabetic cats are always hungry because their bodies can't properly process the food nutrients the right way. Frequent small meals is best for most cats. Many people here use a timed feeder or set out froze cubes of canned food to allow their diabetic cats to eat when there is no one at home. Some diabetic cats instinctly seek out food when their blood glucose levels drop too low. If no food is available for the cat to eat and raise the bgs with, the bgs may continue to drop and the hypo may become more serious.
 
Amy ,
Are you using Fancy Feast glutin free foods? If so how much do you feed each kitty at one time??
Since the girls have been on the Fancy Feast the amount of food they eat at one time has decreased since I started feeding them wet food. I do not take their dish up during the day becuase I leave very early and they have not finished eating. When I come home there is some remaining in the bowl. In the beginning they were eating especially at they night feeding everything in the bowl. During the night they were crying for more. Now they eat more slowly. I do realize that the blood sugar is more regulated. My question is the ounce qty. per kitty. I so glad that your kitty is feeling better with the Mellitts. Quality of life is everything with people and pets. As a breast cancer survivor in the last three years I can atest to this fact.
 
Hi Amy

Amy said:
If the body is still producing some insulin, it seems reasonable to me to support that process first.

You can best support healing of the pancreas by giving insulin. Hyperglycemia actually impedes the pancreas, so the longer a diabetic goes without a healthy, normal supply of insulin, the greater the chance is that they will be insulin dependent. I'm not arguing against the use of Mellit, I'm just stating the proven physiology so you can make the most informed choice. Prompt use of insulin and tight regulation of the blood glucose level is the best way to support the pancreas and avoid long-term insulin dependency. By not correcting the insulin deficiency, the pancreas has to work harder and can actually weaken and lose its ability to produce any insulin at all. This is why so many cats go "OTJ" (off the juice, off insulin) after just a few months or weeks of insulin therapy.
 
My newly diagnosed diabetic Himalayan Bandit is 15 years old and he started on insulin twice daily this Monday. He's eating Soulistic grain-free canned food from Petco twice a day and loves it. Today I got the Mellit delivered and he's getting 4 drops of that also twice a day now. He'll be returning to the vet to check his progress in another week, to see if more or less insulin is needed. My hope is that once this is under control he can be weaned off the insulin and return to normal health with diet change. I know that takes time though, so I will be patient. Only time will tell, but if he has to have twice daily shots for a really long time it will be a problem. I'm keeping my fingers crossed.
 

Attachments

  • IMG_0810.JPG
    IMG_0810.JPG
    790.8 KB · Views: 7,684
Did anyone who used Mellit end up having good results - the most recent post here is May it's August - any word? I know that for me personally the addition of a few different herbal remedy's from my acupuncturist helped reduce my numbers drastically and on the rare occasion when I run out of either of them I see my numbers rise - not drastically but it's there. Of course the first thing that helped was me changing my diet - the simple stopping of drinking fruit juice and soda caused a huge jump down- and I am on pills - but when I started taking the herbal remedies - it really evened things out. I'd like to do that for my cat - find something that would not replace the insulin per say but to help make it all more efficient.
 
I agree with Venita that Whole Cat Health might be the place to ask for advice on supplements. And I love the Holisticat Forum, http://www.holisticat.com/forum/. That's usually where I go when I want answers to hard questions.

I used Chinese herbs with Little Gray for several months, along with Lantus, and they did bring his numbers down. Getting the herbs into him was such a struggle though, I decided they weren't worth it. If your cat's more cooperative than mine was, you might want to give them a try. I'd get the cat used to and regulated on insulin first though. When you know how your cat's using insulin, you can add supplements or herbs. And much as I love and trust Holisticat, I wouldn't have done the herbs without a good holistic vet nearby to keep an eye on things. After she prescribed the herbs, I didn't need her, but it was still good to know she was there.
 
Thanks - did you use the Mellit when you say herbs? Or was it other things too? Looks pretty easy to give it's just a liquid -if he won't eat it I can give it to him via syringe. I'm going to do more research and I'm not doing anything until he's well stabalized - we do have a very good holistic vet/acupuncturist around here - his clients include Christie Brinkley and some TV people - so I'm guessing he's not cheap. My dad used him for his dogs brain tumor and it was very helpful. Maybe somewhere down the line when I'm over the expense we've been thru with all Robbie's stuff recently I'll check him out and get his advice. thanks
 
RobbiesMom said:
Thanks - did you use the Mellit when you say herbs? Or was it other things too? Looks pretty easy to give it's just a liquid -if he won't eat it I can give it to him via syringe. I'm going to do more research and I'm not doing anything until he's well stabalized - we do have a very good holistic vet/acupuncturist around here - his clients include Christie Brinkley and some TV people - so I'm guessing he's not cheap. My dad used him for his dogs brain tumor and it was very helpful. Maybe somewhere down the line when I'm over the expense we've been thru with all Robbie's stuff recently I'll check him out and get his advice. thanks

Little Gray took Rehmannia 11. I mixed it with a tiny bit of diluted meat baby food and syringed it into him. He didn't appreciate that at all! But the herbs are bitter, and I don't think many cats would eat them willingly in food. My vet ordered the Rehmannia for me from a company that sells only to vets. I think it did bring his numbers down, but his numbers were great anyway, and I decided it wasn't worth the daily fight to get the herbs into him.

No holistic vet is cheap, although Christie Brinkley's might be pricier than most!
 
Re: Mellit drops

I tried the Mellit drops with my kitty (six years diabetic), and noticed that it made his BG readings more erratic, and he acted as if he did not feel well after I gave him the drops. I do not know why. I am unsure if I will use any more of it. (I also agree that it is not homeopathic, but simply an herbal supplement.)

If you do want to try it, the company seems to be good about giving full refunds no questions asked if you get an RMA number and return the product to them. (I had ordered another product for a different cat who was soon after euthanized for what I think was CHF misdiagnosed as cancer :cry: but I sent it back and they refunded my money.)
 
My cat Cleo has been on ProZinc insulin for 6 months. I changed her diet to exclusively raw and low carb canned before I got her on insulin. After a couple of weeks on insulin 2x day, she settled into a routine of only needing insulin in the mornings(still testing twice daily). Since December she had started needing 2-3x daily insulin and her bg levels were always higher at reading time. I started giving her Mellit a week ago. Within 2 days, she was back to needing insulin only once daily, with her bg level lower each morning(188 today). So far, this product has helped Cleo and seems to be a great supplement to conventional diabetes treatment.
 
Great discussion. Hats off to you for loving your cats so much. Glad you are here!

Is there anything in the research of that product that support the ability for it to positively impact the reduction in Blood glucose? Bring the blood glucose down into a good range and continue to research the product. why allow your loved one's body to remain at a high level of BG when you know how it impacts the body? Insulin acts like a key to allow the body to process the nutrition. Home testing is an inexpensive way to monitor your loved ones' health. Not doing it only opens the door for more serious issues that can cost a mint in money not to mention health issues and extreme stress for owner and cat. My opinion - vet clinic BG testing is too stressful on the animal not to mention not accurate in most cases.

I wish you the best of luck. Glad you are here. Please keep posting.

I wish I would of found this site LONG before my cat lost 6 1/2 pounds from unregulated blood glucose/not home monitoring -I just didn't know-but now I do.
 
very interesting thread.....
I use standard process pancreatrophin 2x a day and it does help Dre--(1/3-am and pm)
If I do not give it his numbers tend to stall-
It does not make the pancreas work harder it just supports it.

I also have some of the other standard process products but until or unless he goes into remission I probably will not use them-
1 is diaplex to help control blood sugar and I forgot the other-

I use homeopathics for my CKD kitty for nausea and arthritis (nux vomica and arnica) he is not diabetic-
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top