Mega drop 325-89 AlphaT

Status
Not open for further replies.

Becca84

Member Since 2020
So I am not good at doing testing but I do my best. I mostly do AMPS and pmps(pmps are better). So this morning she was at her highest number since I've started testing, (Alphatrak2)amps 352 and her highest pmps 325. I tested her 4+ it was 91..then a minute later 89...I am stoked at the numbers but worried as well. After that I did the control solution to make sure the meter was right and it was on point. What am I seeing? That is a huge drop. Shes on vetsulin 1.5u bid. Also on methimazole and lysine both bid. Also I tested an hour later and it was 161. Just trying to see what y'all think. I WORK alot. Please go easy on me. I hope her pancreas is kicking back in with the dietary change. I will be trying to do a curve this weekend to see if these drops persist.
 
Great catch tonight!

That is a huge drop, that's for sure!! Unfortunately, a fast drop like that will most likely just set off a huge bounce so if she's higher in the morning than you're used to, don't be surprised.

Bounces happen when 1. they drop too low, 2. they drop too fast, 3. they drop into numbers their body isn't used to anymore. The liver has gotten used to living in higher numbers so even a drop from (example) 350 to 200 could set off a bounce. 200 is nowhere near "too low", but if her body is used to living in 300-400's, Mr. Liver could panic and release stored sugars and hormones to bring her back up quickly to where he's more used to living.

I totally understand you work during the week so getting mid-cycles every cycle just isn't possible but you might want to look at this "Is TR possible with a full time job" thread. Although it's about Lantus, there's still some good idea's that might work for you.

Getting at least 1-2 tests on the PM cycle will help a lot too since most cats go lower at night.
 
Per the vetsulin guidelines you should reduce the dose by .25 when you get a number below 90, and that’s on a human meter so Candi is well below that on the Alphatrack.
Potentially you should reduce further for her safety given that you can get so few tests and have changed her diet. But I’m not a vetsulin user perhaps someone that knows that insulin can advise.
What you are seeing with the steep drop and fast turn around is ‘bouncing’ and I see Chris has just explained that as I’m pecking away on the iPad lol. She could be in a cycle of bounces. Hopefully curve day is not a bounce day. If it is you may just see high numbers all day that aren’t indicative of what’s really going on.
I’ll also second Chris’ suggestion to try and get PM tests if you can’t test during the day.
 
Hi Becca I wonder if you would mind adding this pertinent information to your signature. It will give everyone an at a glance information regarding everything Candi.

  • under Settings, Click on Signature. This is where you will put information that helps us give you feedback.
    • There is a limit of two lines which may include two links; you may separate pieces with commas, dashes, | etc. This is where you paste the link for your spreadsheet, once it is set up.
    • Add any other text, such as
    • Caregiver & kitty's name (optional)
    • DX: Date
    • Name of Insulin
    • Name of your meter
    • Diet: "LC wet" or "dry food" or "combo"
    • Dosing: TR or SLGS or Custom (if applicable)
    • DKA or other recent health issue (if applicable)
    • Acro, IAA, or Cushings (if applicable)
    • Spreadsheet link. Please put the signature link on the bottom line of your signature information, on its own, so it is easy to find.
    • Please do not put any information about your location in the signature for security reasons. If you wish to add your country location, please add it to your profile.
Be sure to click the 'Save Changes' button at the bottom. If you need help urgently it is important we know these things at a glance. We don’t want to waste valuable time finding out information.

Thank you for your consideration,
jeanne
 
Hi Becca I wonder if you would mind adding this pertinent information to your signature. It will give everyone an at a glance information regarding everything Candi.

  • under Settings, Click on Signature. This is where you will put information that helps us give you feedback.
    • There is a limit of two lines which may include two links; you may separate pieces with commas, dashes, | etc. This is where you paste the link for your spreadsheet, once it is set up.
    • Add any other text, such as
    • Caregiver & kitty's name (optional)
    • DX: Date
    • Name of Insulin
    • Name of your meter
    • Diet: "LC wet" or "dry food" or "combo"
    • Dosing: TR or SLGS or Custom (if applicable)
    • DKA or other recent health issue (if applicable)
    • Acro, IAA, or Cushings (if applicable)
    • Spreadsheet link. Please put the signature link on the bottom line of your signature information, on its own, so it is easy to find.
    • Please do not put any information about your location in the signature for security reasons. If you wish to add your country location, please add it to your profile.
Be sure to click the 'Save Changes' button at the bottom. If you need help urgently it is important we know these things at a glance. We don’t want to waste valuable time finding out information.

Thank you for your consideration,
jeanne
Can I get help with the signature? I'm doing this from a phone so the sheets app will not give the option to change the name I post in the signature place.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top