Meet Moose

Status
Not open for further replies.

moose

Member Since 2014
Hey all - I have been reading the posts for a bit now and working towards a tight regulation glargine/lantus protocol with Moose. 14 year old black domestic short hair, polydactyl eating machine, lives in Canada.

Background - Moose was diagnosed about a year and a half ago - has been on Lantus BID with dosage ranging from 1.5-4 units. Aside from an initial scare with an overdose (now that he is all good it makes for a good story). For any newbies out there I would suggest that you never give anyone a dosage without a decimal and a zero. (i.e 2 I U instead of 2.0 I U.. in some handwriting/fonts 2 I looks a lot like 21 units not 2 International Units)...

For the record - 42 units of Lantus in 14 hrs is
  • expensive in emergency treatment, in drug costs, in flights to see your sister the vet living across the country for treatment that you could not afford locally.
  • Makes for very confused officials watching a cat get an IV implanted at the airport.
  • Will give you a crash course in emergency hypo management (forget sneaking your iPhone out: try giving oral syrup on a plane without the flight attendant seeing you!), and
  • makes for a very sad kitty.

Anyway - he made it - and got to fly in a plane for the first time! ohmygod_smile ...

For the past year he has been on 2.5 units for the most part. Slowly increasing from 1.5 - 2.0 - to 2.5. After that I was working away from town and had someone else feeding and dosing without a lot of testing). Now that I have been able to monitor much more closely - I have been populating his chart, and will be working on the tight protocol.

Current Situation - moose is on mini meals (every 4 hours) using Wellness Grain Free (turkey salmon, chicken formula, and beef chicken). They are timed so that he eats 1-2h prior to a pre-shot. I test, and give insulin, then monitor throughout the day when able.

He was sitting in the upper pinks typically for pre-shot values (20-25 mmol/L) and the nadir was still above 10 mmol/L almost always. With new Lantus in pen format (vs 10ml vial previously), I have been upping his dose.. and finally hit the green at 4 units... However with that dose - eating slowed.. and he was borderline hypo for the better part of two days (2.0 - 2.4). Compared to his earlier "hypo on a dextrose drip" this was a walk in the park with periodic kibble "pilled" to bump up as needed. He was behaviorally fine aside from reduced appetite.

I dropped to 2.0 units that night, and by the next morning he was back up to 7.6 (137), I bumped him back to 3.5 units to keep from losing the blue/green completely. Since then, he eats as much as I give him (~1/4 (5.5oz) can x 6 (1.5 cans) per day).. and is now back up to the 20-25 mmol (280-400) range at pre-shot with nadirs in the 15-17mmol/L range. Could be a case of new dose wonkyness.. or rebound, but the eating seems to have the most impact on his glucose. If he escapes (which he likes to do sometimes) and wont eat for the night - when he returns in the morning he will be looking great - and he will be in the yellow pre-shot... but back up to higher levels (flat curves) with food.

I should also mention that Moose has some signs of Acro/Cushings that may be a factor (huge appetite, loss of meow, odd breathing, twitchy) - but until his BG is regulated well, or I hit >5 units BID my main goal has been to get/keep the glucose down. The recent foray into the green at 4 units has me less worried about the Acro for now.. but I will have him tested if the dose goes up again.

So, aside from saying hello, and thanks to all who post here, I am curious if anyone has experience with food spikes/sustained high BG like this. I am tempted to try alternate foods - but the canned wellness grain free seemed to be one of the better choices (per Lisa Pierson's food guide @ 4% carb). My local vet has suggested Purina DM as an alternate... and with the salmon running in BC again - I will probably switch back to a mix of wellness canned with cooked/canned salmon as the first meal of the day when possible. I may also try the home made "raw food" (cat info.org recipe).

Link to Moose's Excel Chart

Thanks for reading.
Jason / Moose
 
Have you thought about change insulin types?
IS there anything to explain the low reading on the 19th and 21 st? Generally I see little effect of insulin on the BG.

You said "I should also mention that Moose has some signs of Acro/Cushings that may be a factor (huge appetite, loss of meow, odd breathing, twitchy)". However, with does and BG I do not think you are near being onsidered a Aero-cat.
My MurrFee does pretty good on 16 units of Levemir twice daily and eats more than one 5.5 oz can twice daily.
 
moose said:
Hey all - I have been reading the posts for a bit now and working towards a tight regulation glargine/lantus protocol with Moose. 14 year old black domestic short hair, polydactyl eating machine, lives in Canada.

Background - Moose was diagnosed about a year and a half ago - has been on Lantus BID with dosage ranging from 1.5-4 units. Aside from an initial scare with an overdose (now that he is all good it makes for a good story). For any newbies out there I would suggest that you never give anyone a dosage without a decimal and a zero. (i.e 2 I U instead of 2.0 I U.. in some handwriting/fonts 2 I looks a lot like 21 units not 2 International Units)...

For the record - 42 units of Lantus in 14 hrs is
  • expensive in emergency treatment, in drug costs, in flights to see your sister the vet living across the country for treatment that you could not afford locally.
  • Makes for very confused officials watching a cat get an IV implanted at the airport.
  • Will give you a crash course in emergency hypo management (forget sneaking your iPhone out: try giving oral syrup on a plane without the flight attendant seeing you!), and
  • makes for a very sad kitty.

Anyway - he made it - and got to fly in a plane for the first time! ohmygod_smile ...

For the past year he has been on 2.5 units for the most part. Slowly increasing from 1.5 - 2.0 - to 2.5. After that I was working away from town and had someone else feeding and dosing without a lot of testing). Now that I have been able to monitor much more closely - I have been populating his chart, and will be working on the tight protocol.

Current Situation - moose is on mini meals (every 4 hours) using Wellness Grain Free (turkey salmon, chicken formula, and beef chicken). They are timed so that he eats 1-2h prior to a pre-shot. I test, and give insulin, then monitor throughout the day when able.

He was sitting in the upper pinks typically for pre-shot values (20-25 mmol/L) and the nadir was still above 10 mmol/L almost always. With new Lantus in pen format (vs 10ml vial previously), I have been upping his dose.. and finally hit the green at 4 units... However with that dose - eating slowed.. and he was borderline hypo for the better part of two days (2.0 - 2.4). Compared to his earlier "hypo on a dextrose drip" this was a walk in the park with periodic kibble "pilled" to bump up as needed. He was behaviorally fine aside from reduced appetite.

I dropped to 2.0 units that night, and by the next morning he was back up to 7.6 (137), I bumped him back to 3.5 units to keep from losing the blue/green completely. Since then, he eats as much as I give him (~1/4 (5.5oz) can x 6 (1.5 cans) per day).. and is now back up to the 20-25 mmol (280-400) range at pre-shot with nadirs in the 15-17mmol/L range. Could be a case of new dose wonkyness.. or rebound, but the eating seems to have the most impact on his glucose. If he escapes (which he likes to do sometimes) and wont eat for the night - when he returns in the morning he will be looking great - and he will be in the yellow pre-shot... but back up to higher levels (flat curves) with food.

I should also mention that Moose has some signs of Acro/Cushings that may be a factor (huge appetite, loss of meow, odd breathing, twitchy) - but until his BG is regulated well, or I hit >5 units BID my main goal has been to get/keep the glucose down. The recent foray into the green at 4 units has me less worried about the Acro for now.. but I will have him tested if the dose goes up again.

So, aside from saying hello, and thanks to all who post here, I am curious if anyone has experience with food spikes/sustained high BG like this. I am tempted to try alternate foods - but the canned wellness grain free seemed to be one of the better choices (per Lisa Pierson's food guide @ 4% carb). My local vet has suggested Purina DM as an alternate... and with the salmon running in BC again - I will probably switch back to a mix of wellness canned with cooked/canned salmon as the first meal of the day when possible. I may also try the home made "raw food" (cat info.org recipe).

Link to Moose's Excel Chart

Thanks for reading.
Jason / Moose

Hi Jason and Moose
I am also Canadian, based in Langley, BC

So, your ss for Moose (you can post the url for the google ss instead of the excel doc) goes along like I would expect to see a cat with acromegaly.... high numbers just not coming down, and the one comment I'd make is do not hold any dose longer than 6 shot / cycles because if you have some resistance going on, you are allowing it to beat you.

Now, Moose's numbers stayed high with little/no indication of the insulin making any dent, then suddenly.... BAM he drops down to green..... my head says you squished some antibodies as in beat back some IAA.
Your natural reaction was to drop back in dose, giving 1/2 dose on 7/21....what happened with the 7/19 pm shot - there is no dose posted. On 7/20, the doses were 3.5 and then back to 4.0u, but what was the pmps on 7/20?

At any rate, there was one cat who had very similar pattern of numbers, got up to 6.5u and then BAM he dropped into greens, and his dose steadily dropped to off insulin. He was not tested for any resistance issues but IAA was suspected in his case.

It looks like you lost the ground when he had that dip, and your step back was enough to let the resistance get its hold again.
You've have the 3.5u dose for long enough now, so you want to step up to 4.0u and hold it for no more than 6 shots, OK?

Questions:
Why do you suspect Cushings? Does Moose have any thin skin conditiions or any tears, slow healings?
What do you mean by twitchy? Does he twitch when getting shots, or when he hears certain noises?
Does Moose have any noisy breathing or snoring? Does he seem muscular, and is he gaining weight?

Tips:
-Don't use kibble for low numbers; they take the longest to work, and hold the numbers high for the longest.
The karo / syrup / gravy from HC foods will act the quickest because there is little/no work required to turn them into sugar, right? And you can toss all the kibble out the window because it's absolutely useless for a cat getting insulin.
- if you get a ps number that you think may be too low, hold back the food and test again in about 30min and if the numbers are rising, you should be OK to shoot... a delayed shot is like a dose decrease, and combined with a lesser dose, you can expect much higher numbers later. If you want, you can test at +10 and then shot time, and you will know for sure which way Moose's numbers are headed.
- acros do take steps down, then come back up again, so don't let your guard down.... stick to the protocol, holding your dose for no longer than 6 shots then increase as needed. Holding for 5 days or longer just lets the resistance get a firm grip, and if you are dealing with IAA, you need to stay on the numbers, keeping them low.

My acros Shadoe and Oliver had similar steps back and then move up again; it happens. I will say that when I broke through Oliver's resistance early on, it looked like the greens you had where we suspect we broke through his IAA and left only his acro.

I would suggest that you just stick to the routine as you have been.... Moose may well go off insulin, as many acros and diabetics have, but stick with the good low carb diet.
If you do want to switch insulin, I would definitely suggest Levemir as it does help more cats, and if Moose is twitching for shot stings, Levemir will stop that sting.

Gayle
 
Are you following the Tight Regulation protocol described in the Lantus Tight Regulation forum here?
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top