Meeps 10/10 AMPS 198, 119 +3 high dose Lantus, looking for advice

Meeps' Momma

Member Since 2021
Last post- JULY-- https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/meeps-7-8-amps-64.249596/

Hi everyone,
we are now at 4.5 units of Lantus. I had started off with TR and as work got busier for me we've delayed dose increases. We are now at such a high dose that I wanted to check in here to get some insight. Do we keep increasing? He's had a few low 50s so I'm not sure if that means we can try to back down slowly or do we just keep going.

We've noticed the more often he eats through the day, the better he does with keeping numbers steady and low. The auto feeder goes off about every 3 hours, stopping 2 hours before dinner. I split 1 can FF into the compartments so he gets just a little bite at a time.

I'm going out of state for work for 6 months and my fiance will be home as the caretaker, we will have to keep a SLGS method while I'm away as he isn't as likely to test as often as I am when I am home.

Thanks! Happy Sunday
 
You aren't at that high of a dose yet, and he's actually looking really good. Even if you were following TR you don't have room for an increase.

I think you need to make the decision if you're following SLGS or TR, and when you plan to switch before you go out of state. If SLGS, you need to reduce. If TR, hold.
 
Back
Top