Meadow AMPS 130 +2 100 +4 39 +5 66 +8 87 PMPS 550

Status
Not open for further replies.

Meadow

Member Since 2010
Hi folks,

Well Meadow had a super great AMPS! She was running around like a little lunatic this morning when I got up, chasing those beauvarts. I just love seeing her act so kittenish. :-D She jumped right up on the table this morning and started headbonking her testing kit pouch! I thought that was totally amazing...almost like she was saying "watch out mom, I have a great AMPS going on!" :-D :-D :-D +2 she was 100 and had breffis #2. I hope she doesn't drop too much lower and to be honest, I sort of expect a bounce today.

But..now I have a dilemma. I won't be home at her 7pm dose time tonight. I tried to show hubby how to give the shot, but he's got very bad eyesight and is not that coordinated....no matter how hard he tries, he tends to be heavy handed when he does things. Anyway, Meadow would not sit still for him so him giving the shot is out. Besides, with her numbers low right now, I wouldn't want it given without testing her first. Should I give her the shot when I get home...which will probably be around 3 hours later than normal and then gradually get her back to the 7am/7pm cycle? or should I just forego the shot tonight and hope it doesn't mess things up too much?

Should I feed her several times today until I leave the house at 5:15pm? Every 2 hours you think? I was supposed to go drop some things off at a shelter I volunteer at, but with the AMPS and +2 bg, I decided to stay here and test her until I leave later on.

Hope all is well for everyone today....still praying for those that are sick, especially poor Latte.

Yesterday's condo: http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=19772
 
Re: Meadow AMPS 130 +2 100...Need Advice asap!

Hi Dottie

not sure about shooting 3 hours later for tonight, I'd like to see what others can suggest.

feeding small meals thru the day is good idea.
I usually see snacks in the first few hours of cycle, then around mid afternoon - around +8 or +9.

can you update your spreadsheet for today when you have a moment?
 
Re: Meadow AMPS 130 +2 100...Need Advice asap!

How you feed depends on your cat and it tends to be largely trial and error. Give it a try and see what happens. Like Ronnie, I feed during the first 4 hours of the cycle and give a snack at around +8.

I don't know if I'd shoot 3 hours late. It's going to be murder getting back on schedule. My personal rule of thumb is if the shot can't be given within 2 hours, I skip. But that's me.
 
Re: Meadow AMPS 130 +2 100 +4 39...Need Advice asap!

Thanks for responding so quickly, Ronnie and Sienne. We are now at +4 and she's down to 39. Fed a gravy FF to get her back up a bit. Now I am sure she will have a bounce. I really don't want to shoot 3 hours late either. Hoping some others will weigh in here. These are the times when everything I have read goes right out of my head and the panic sets in.

Had to just poke her several times. Her ears didn't seem to want to bleed for this latest test despite warming and massage first. Does a low bg level affect the blood pressure at all?
 
Re: Meadow AMPS 130 +2 100 +4 39...Need Advice asap!

About someone else giving the shot ... have you maybe tried wrap Meadow up like a coccoon and see if that will hold her still enough for him to shoot?
I think others have troubles with kitty staying still and just wondered if it is worth a try.

Try getting a big bath towel or blanket and just wrap her up and cuddle her, see if she is ok with that situation then see if she will sit still for him.

If she seems ok with the wrap, he can just have the syringe all ready nearby and once she is settled, he can reach for the syringe and give the shot. If it does not work, at least you know you tried it.
 
Re: Meadow AMPS 130 +2 100 +4 39...Need Advice asap!

Are you feeding while you shoot. Tess used to squirm and try to back away when I tried to shoot. Now I sit with her between my legs and her food in front of her, wait till she has her face in it and she doesn't even notice I'm shooting.

Way to go on the under 40!
 
PLEASE UPDATE

Dottie --

When you get numbers below 50, you need to check every 15 - 20 min. to make sure the HC is doing it's job. It's also very helpful to update since you have lots of eyes checking on you and Meadow. Please update.
 
Re: Meadow AMPS 130 +2 100 +4 39...Need Advice asap!

Hi Dottie just checking in to see how things are update us on Meadow when you get the chance :-D
 
Re: Meadow AMPS 130 +2 100 +4 39...Need Advice asap!

Thanks everyone. Between the painter being here, an emergency phone call from my neighbor (her husband fell and hurt himself and she couldn't get him up.They are in their 80's) and Meadow, it's been a crazy day. So I didn't get a chance to test every 15 mins. I got to her about 45 mins after the 39 and she was at 66, so I knew she was going up. Then I had to run back to my neighbor and ended up calling an ambulance so now it's 2 ours later. She is 87. Seems like a slow rise to me.
We tried the towel thing but I think DHjust gets too nervouse when she struggles and screams and then everything just goes awry. Odd that she is fine with me though. Let me go update the spreadsheet now. Thanks for standing by!
 
Re: Meadow AMPS 130 +2 100 +4 39 +5 66 +8 87...Need Advice asap!

Just wondering...... if she has another low AMPS like this and I know I can't be here to watch her like I was today...is it okay to give her a reduced dose of insulin? Maybe that is what I should have done today??
 
Re: Meadow AMPS 130 +2 100 +4 39 +5 66 +8 87...Need Advice asap!

If I was in the same predicament with Jake, where I was going to be 3 hours late for next test/shot with BG rising in the meantime, I would test at that 3 hour mark and give insulin accordingly (if BG was below 175 - I would skip it until 7:00 a.m. the next morning and then you would automatically be back on schedule). But if above 175, for example, if that 3 hour later testing/shot was at 10:00 p.m., then I would do the next morning one at 9:15 a.m. and keep backing everything up 45 minutes (the next night - tomorrow night - test/shot would be at 8:30 p.m..) until I got back to the 7:00/7:00 schedule. That's how I did it with Jake.

Judy, Jake, & Civvie Boomer
 
Re: Meadow AMPS 130 +2 100 +4 39 +5 66 +8 87...Need Advice asap!

My opinion, since your were home this morning, it was ok to shoot the 1u.
I would thou make sure food is on board for the first few hours after shot.
It can help control the drop and you won't be running around as much.
Glad you caught it thou!

Eventually Dottie, shooting lower numbers will get easier.
If you look around other condo's you will see quite a few beans shooting low numbers,
if they have to be gone for the day - leave plenty of foods out, topped with HC.

You always have the option of shooting a reduced dose if you are going to be away, do post and stand by for replies when that comes up,,,it's better to give some insulin than none at all and lose momentum, you know?

As for shooting 3 hours late, I'm with Sienne, more than 2 hours late, does not seem worth the trouble of getting back on schedule.
 
Re: Meadow AMPS 130 +2 100 +4 39 +5 66 +8 87...Need Advice asap!

Okay folks, just wanted to say thanks again for your help and replies. I have to get ready to leave in 1/2 hour.
She's presently at 144 at +9hrs 45mins. I'm sure she will be very high when I get home. I guess I have to let this go. I won't enjoy myself while I am out and I'm so sorry I committed myself to this event. :YMSIGH:
 
Re: Meadow AMPS 130 +2 100 +4 39 +5 66 +8 87...Need Advice asap!

Well, one last thought, you can always have her eat LC thru the evening.
I'd be interested to see what number she will have when you get in.
Think positive k? And have a good evening.

EDIT to ADD: can you clear your subject line since crisis is over?
 
What a night. Didn't get home until 11:15pm last night and was worried about Meadow the entire time I was away. But hubby said she was fine all night. She asked for food several times and he fed her a little low carb FF each time. But, her bg was 550 when I got home! There was no way I could ever keep that cycle, so I had to let it slide and didn't give her any insulin. So we remain on the 7am/7pm split.
Was at the vet with some foster kittens today and spoke to the doc about her. He said her pancreas is probably making some insulin on it's own at times and that's what is causing the lower bg's. He advised me to shoot 1/2 unit when her pre-shot bg is that low again and see how she responds.

Thanks for standing by yesterday everyone!
 
Ouchee, wasn't expecting that high Meadow!

k, so this PMPS is from last nite give or take when u got in.

When ur ready u can start a new thread for today if u like.
How is she today? AMPS?
 
Ronnie & Luna said:
Ouchee, wasn't expecting that high Meadow!

k, so this PMPS is from last nite give or take when u got in.

When ur ready u can start a new thread for today if u like.
How is she today? AMPS?

Yep, 550 is from late last night when I got in. She's doing just fine. She weathered the low and the bounce as if nothing was wrong. New condo started for today. Thanks, Ronnie! :smile:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top