Maybe we're on the right track

Status
Not open for further replies.

dirtybirdsoaps

Active Member
Well, fingers crossed, but I'm hoping we're on the right track. Hidey's numbers have been getting better. We haven't seen red in about a week :-D His water intake seems to be less, and he is getting more active.

I'm so excited to see that this insulin seems to be helping, unlike when they ha him on vetsulin.

Odd question, I switched his lancet to 30 (we were using the 28 gauge) Since I switched to the 30 it seems to bleed MORE! Its to the point that it seems to poke all the way through his ear. I'm not doing anything different. Same pressure, lowest level for the lancet pen, same general areas. Im clueless on why this is happening.
 
His numbers are improving. I wonder if a sliding scale might be a good idea, with a little smaller dose for the lower numbers and more for the higher. I hope you can monitor today. 156 is a pretty low preshot number for 1.75. When you shot the same dose for a 170, he went down to the 70s.

Re the lancets, it may be that his ears have "learned to bleed"
 
Just tested and at +3 he is 143. The only reason I gave him a shot this morning with that amount was because I will be home to monitor closely. I do not have to work today and have higher carb treats on hand, as well as higher carb canned food, honey, and karo.

Is it ok to change the amounts up and down like that to match his numbers? I just worried it would effect vital organs and mess up his bodies tolerance for a specific amount.

Any suggestions on where to get 33 gauge? I purchased the 30's because that's all my walmart had was 28's and 30's. If I have to order them online then that's fine I just want him more comfortable. Speaking of, wheres the best place to USUALLY buy U40 syringes? My vet sells them for $15 for 100 is that good? Is there a better place?
 
Lots of ProZinc users use a sliding scale. Take a look at some of the spreadsheets on other threads. The advantage is that you can shoot a little lower dose on those numbers just under 200 and a higher dose when he bounces up and still keep him in nice and safe numbers overall.

If you need more syringes, you might consider buying U 100 instead. You can use them with a U40 insulin using the conversion chart and it lets you fine tune your dosing, giving 1.2 instead of just one unit or 1.5, for example. There is a thread by Rebecca and Jose on this page with answers re where and what syringes.

Most humans use 31 gauge which should be readily available. The 33 would be really small. If you are getting too much blood, maybe make the depth lighter?
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top