Maybe I need to just not make any changes

Status
Not open for further replies.
Sheila & Beau & Jeddie said:
+9? Really? Why?

He was 216 this am...

Probably because Gandalf's peak was then, but if someone's not getting those late cycle BGs, they're not really seeing a good picture of the cycle. Also, some cats have the double peak phenomenon on Lev, not really a peak even, just extended duration and if you test at +9/+10 you might catch that.
 
Getting a +9 is pretty important as you may discover that nadir is after +6 - my Oliver's nadir is close to +10 and 11, sometimes not till ps.
 
Hmmm... I don't think that +9 is more important than any other time, IMO. IF you find that your cat nadirs early, than the early +numbers are important, but if your cat nadirs mid cycle then it is those numbers that are important, and so on.

I admit that I don't have a lot of spot checks on Jeddie, he went a long time accepting two tests a day (I was not going to skip a PS test no matter what), but his tolerance dropped precipitately the more I tested. It took several weeks of burritoing him and then fishing him out from under furniture to get to two relatively calm tests/day. I also found that he doesn't seem to have a pattern the way Beau did, or most cats do, and I wasn't going to curve him every day, so why bother getting any specific spot check?

I look at his numbers and he has lows anywhere from about +3 to +12. I think, in his case, a spot check at any time could tell me something important - or not :roll: .

I think I am just going to hold him at .5u for a while and see if he can settle on this dose. It really seems like the one good cycle with lows below 100 sends him on a rebound journey that lasts 5-7 days. Every time this has happened in the past I have changed his dose (raise or lower) and I have gotten nowhere. So now, instead of chasing "good" numbers I am going to sit still and let them come to me. :mrgreen:
 
Sheila & Beau & Jeddie said:
I think I am just going to hold him at .5u for a while and see if he can settle on this dose. It really seems like the one good cycle with lows below 100 sends him on a rebound journey that lasts 5-7 days. Every time this has happened in the past I have changed his dose (raise or lower) and I have gotten nowhere. So now, instead of chasing "good" numbers I am going to sit still and let them come to me. :mrgreen:

That very well could be, so sounds like a good plan. maybe something will realize you're not going to raise the dose and finally give up and get you the numbers you want!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top