maybe dumb question

Status
Not open for further replies.

SuePea

Member Since 2015
I gave my Charlie his first dose of ProZinc last night (2 units) and then again this a.m. His BG is coming down nicely but he still doesn't seem to be perking up a ton. Am I asking for too much, too soon?
 
Well first off, this is not a sprint, it's a marathon. He didn't get diabetes overnight and it won't be cured overnight.

Just like if you gained weight - you didn't do it overnight and you won't lose it overnight.

That being said, we always recommend a starting dose of 1 unit or even 1/2 unit. Never do we suggest a starting dose of 2 units. Why -- because you may be giving too much insulin and not know it until it's too late.

Are you home testing? It's important if you are not, that you start. Especially when giving that dose of insulin.

Have you started a spreadsheet? Do you know how to start a spreadsheet? http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/...ink-in-your-signature-updated-12-11-14.18207/

HAve you visited the PZI/Prozinc forum yet? Read the stickies/information there so you can better understand how your insulin works and the do's and dont's.
 
There are no dumb questions here, but yes...you're expecting too much, too soon...it can take anywhere from days to weeks to months to get them under better control, but usually you'll start to see other signs first....like less drinking and peeing and those special things like resuming playing games they used to play!!
 
my vet insisted on him starting at 2 units because he's so big. He's nearly 15 lbs. I asked about dosing on his presumed lean weight but she said no it wouldn't be enough. I had been testing prior to starting the insulin; she told me to not bother for this next week but I had to do it this morning just because I couldn't stand not knowing. 2 1/2 hrs after he ate his BG was down to 360 (after he ate it was usually 700+).
 
Can we get you started using our grid to record your glucose tests? It will help us give you better feedback. Instructions are here.

Understanding the spreadsheet/grid:

The colored headings at the top are the ranges of glucose values. They are color-coded to clue you in as to meaning.

Each day is 1 row. Each column stores different data for the day.

From left to right, you enter
the Date in the first column
the AMPS (morning pre-shot test) in the 2nd column
the Units given (turquoise column)

Then, there are 11 columns labeled +1 through +11
If you test at +5 (5 hours after the shot), you enter the test number in the +5 column
If you test at +7 (7 hours after the shot), you enter the test number in the +7 column
and so on.

Halfway across the page is the column for PMPS (evening pre-shot)
To the right is another turquoise column for Units given at the evening shot.

There is second set of columns labeled +1 through +11
If you snag a before bed test at +3, you enter the test number in the +3 column.

We separate day and night numbers like that because many cats go lower at night.

It is merely a grid for storing the info; no math required.
 
I'm sure your vet thinks they are just trying to make this easier on you, but as you probably already know, it will give you much more peace of mind to know what his numbers are doing as his body starts to get used to the insulin. I test Mitz before each shot and before I go to bed which ends up being +3 or 4 after her PM shot. On weekends I try to get at least one test around +5 or 6. Since you're just starting out, getting more tests in the mid-cycle will help you figure out when the insulin peaks. For Mitz, it happens around +5. Since the dose is based on this number, it's really important information to gather. The spread sheet is pretty easy to set up and is a huge help in making sense of the numbers.
Keep asking questions!

Joan
 
I am half in a panic. at +1 hr his BG is at 155. I didn't check it before because I was trusting the vet. I called my own vet but they are closed and they don't have a real emergency number, just rely on the emergency vets here in town. I called one ER vet and they said just bring him in but they will charge me 100 bucks just to say hi and ask the question. I called the other one and they talked to a tech who said that is a normal range and it shouldn't be a problem. I did give him some just a tiny bit of corn syrup just to be safe and I guess I'll check it in a couple hours and watch him like a hawk in the meantime. I am definitely checking his sugar again in the a.m. before he eats!!!!
 
What was his test result before you gave him his shot tonight? Depending on where he started, that could be a pretty big drop so quickly, but it's still a safe number.....we don't give high carb food or karo/honey/syrup unless they drop below 50, but we all understand that the first time you see a lower number than you're expecting, you can panic!!

It'll also really help if you'll get our spreadsheet started so we can keep track of his test results. Our spreadsheet is a very valuable tool in the "toolbox" for our sugarcats...every bit as important as a low carb food and a good insulin!!

If you can't figure it out, let us know and we can find someone to help you get it started!
 
What was his test result before you gave him his shot tonight? Depending on where he started, that could be a pretty big drop so quickly, but it's still a safe number.....we don't give high carb food or karo/honey/syrup unless they drop below 50, but we all understand that the first time you see a lower number than you're expecting, you can panic!!

It'll also really help if you'll get our spreadsheet started so we can keep track of his test results. Our spreadsheet is a very valuable tool in the "toolbox" for our sugarcats...every bit as important as a low carb food and a good insulin!!

If you can't figure it out, let us know and we can find someone to help you get it started!
that's just the problem... I didn't check it before he ate, I feel stupider than anything but the vet told me not to bother. I am working on the spreadsheet right now. I think I did the publishing thing right and I'm trying to figure out how to use it now...
 
Yes!! You got it!!

AMPS is the AM Pre-shot
PMPS is the PM Pre-shot

There are 2 cycles each day...an AM and a PM cycle

You always want to get a Pre-shot test to make sure they're high enough to shoot.

The U column is Units....how much you shot

The + numbers are for how long it's been since the last shot....so if you shoot at 6am and the next test you get is at 8am, that's +2 (2 hours after the shot). If you test at noon, that's +6 (6 hours after the shot), etc. etc.

When you get to the PM cycle, the "shot clock" starts over
 
The spreadsheet should automatically save the entries as you put them in...you have the date in right, so just put the test result in the correct cell and it should save automatically

I DO see the 155 in the PM +1 column so you're doing something right! :)
 
Oh, thank you thank you I was just going to ask you if you could see it! I'm going to try to figure out how to link a copy to my desktop...
 
If you want a shortcut to it, just copy the link of the one you can edit to your desk top.
You can use the Google Drive App on your phone, too.
The file is stored on Google's server.
 
Last edited:
After a little bit of playing around I got smart and went to the tech page. I've got the google drive thing on my desktop. whew. I just checked his sugar again and it's at 235. I'll check it again in an hour.
 
were you guys as nervous as I am when you started? I feel like I did when I first brought my son home!
 
Oh yeah!!! The one thing I really liked though was learning to home test because it really made me feel like I would know for sure what was going on inside my little China's body and that made me feel so much better about the whole thing!

Funny story for you .....the first time China dropped below 50, I panicked big time....I had been told to give her some Karo, honey or syrup, but if I'd been told how much, I didn't remember, so I dumped about a cupful into a bowl and gave it to her to lap up (I was surprised she liked it!!)....Only later did I find out it was supposed to be a drop or two....not half the bottle!!....LOL
 
ROFL!! Charlie didn't want it and my hands were shaking and I was practically in tears. Thank heavens he's such an even-tempered, laid-back kinda guy or he'd probably have bitten me. I had conflicting information on how much to give. I think I had heard something about a teaspoon but I'd also heard a few drops. I think I ended up somewhere in between.
 
You can mix it with a little food, rub it on his gums or take a Q-tip and dip it in and get it onto his gums that way, but unless he drops really low (like under 40) or you can't get him to come up, it's usually a lot easier to just have some "Gravy Lovers" foods in the house. You pop the top and then put it back on and "squeeze" the gravy into a bowl (the gravy is where the carbs are anyway).

Usually a teaspoon or two is enough to bring them up above 50 and by just using the gravy, you don't fill them up so IF you need them to eat more later, they'll be willing to do it

Most cats LOVE it too!!
 
Good job home testing and getting the SS set up! I would recommend printing out this sticky for How to treat HYPOS- there may come a time when this website gets funky and unavailable--you want those instructions kept with the Karo syrup and High Carb foods.

Charlie may learn to love the High Carb food, most kitties do!
 
You can mix it with a little food, rub it on his gums or take a Q-tip and dip it in and get it onto his gums that way, but unless he drops really low (like under 40) or you can't get him to come up, it's usually a lot easier to just have some "Gravy Lovers" foods in the house. You pop the top and then put it back on and "squeeze" the gravy into a bowl (the gravy is where the carbs are anyway).

Usually a teaspoon or two is enough to bring them up above 50 and by just using the gravy, you don't fill them up so IF you need them to eat more later, they'll be willing to do it

Most cats LOVE it too!!
The "gravy lovers", that's a cat food, right? one of the regular brands like 9 Lives or Friskies, right?
 
OK, another question. I checked his sugar right at breakfast and it's 203. I decided not to give him a shot until this evening. I have to work all day and nobody will be home to keep an eye on him. I have read a lot of posts suggesting that he get his shot during or immediately after feeding, so I do check the sugar before he eats, right?
 
There are no dumb questions here, but yes...you're expecting too much, too soon...it can take anywhere from days to weeks to months to get them under better control, but usually you'll start to see other signs first....like less drinking and peeing and those special things like resuming playing games they used to play!!

I have skipped the last 2 doses. His sugar has been so solid (at 1+ he's still under 200) so I'm just leaving it be. I had to go to work today and was out of the house for 11 solid hours; when I got back the water in the bowl had not gone down perceptibly and he is bright and alert. I'll call the vet Monday and see what she wants to do with his dose. It's clearly too high!
 
Hi Sue--when you have a specific dosing and/or semi- urgent question, you can add the Question Mark to your Title Heading. There are many here who can look at your SS and give input if you ask. If it is an emergency, use the 911. Charlie is looking good!
 
were you guys as nervous as I am when you started? I feel like I did when I first brought my son home!
Oh my gosh yes! I called my vet at least twice a day for the first month! Poor guy. . If your kitty is getting testy about having his ears poked, try the paw pads, they don't have many nerve endings so it doesn't hurt them as much. I'm surprised that your vet would start you out at 2 units. My cat weighed 10.5 lbs and had high 600 numbers, still, we started with only 1/2 unit and would increase by 1/2 unit increments after 3-4 days until we got to the dose that kept him in a good range.
 
I didn't even try the ears... at least not after I realized I couldn't get anything with the micro-lancets. Besides, he's got the hairiest inside ears you've ever seen! I'm using the largest lancets I can get and using his paws. It's still hard to get enough for a sample sometimes. The original test strips I had used a tiny sample & once I got the hang of it, it was easy. Then I got a big box and it was for the same device, same brand, everything but I swear it requires a much bigger sample. I dug the original box out of the trash and found out yes, indeed, it's a different style of strip. ReliOn makes two different types of strips for the same machine and if you don't really look hard for the tiny little "ultra" then you end up with the "big" strips.
 
Hi Sue--when you have a specific dosing and/or semi- urgent question, you can add the Question Mark to your Title Heading. There are many here who can look at your SS and give input if you ask. If it is an emergency, use the 911. Charlie is looking good!
Thanks, Ruth, I hadn't had a clue what that prefix thing was for & now I know. GA means the cat passed, right, heaven forbid. Check out his SS, not looking as good this a.m. Behavior is fine but numbers got ugly.
 
OK, another question. I checked his sugar right at breakfast and it's 203. I decided not to give him a shot until this evening. I have to work all day and nobody will be home to keep an eye on him. I have read a lot of posts suggesting that he get his shot during or immediately after feeding, so I do check the sugar before he eats, right?
Check his BG before he eats. I give Mitz a small treat right after her test and feed her while she's getting her shot.
 
I didn't even try the ears... at least not after I realized I couldn't get anything with the micro-lancets. Besides, he's got the hairiest inside ears you've ever seen! I'm using the largest lancets I can get and using his paws. It's still hard to get enough for a sample sometimes. The original test strips I had used a tiny sample & once I got the hang of it, it was easy. Then I got a big box and it was for the same device, same brand, everything but I swear it requires a much bigger sample. I dug the original box out of the trash and found out yes, indeed, it's a different style of strip. ReliOn makes two different types of strips for the same machine and if you don't really look hard for the tiny little "ultra" then you end up with the "big" strips.
To make it easier to get blood from the pads, while holding him and loving up a little before he test, gently rub downward on the leg of the pad you plan to use several times, this pulls more blood into the foot area. Plus, they like it.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top