Max's Weekend Numbers...Time to Lower DNS #???

Status
Not open for further replies.
Well, I increased the insulin to .25u Friday night after a low 300 number and got a high 100 number on Saturday morning, which stayed low until evening. I didn't shoot Saturday a.m. b/c we were going to be out in the afternoon and I didn't want to take a chance of something happening when I wasn't around. He was still low at PMPS, so I shot a .15u dose just so that he could have some insulin. He has been up and down since. Is it time to lower my do not shoot number a bit?
 
The monitoring may determine the no shot number. Generally with mini dosing, we say 150-170 is a good range, if you can monitor. I would be nervous about giving even a small dose at 150 and then not being able to check for hours. But as you get numbers and a sense of where a dose takes him, it will be easier.
 
So if I am around to monitor him and he is between 150-200, then I can give him a mini-dose, but if I won't be around to monitor, then I shouldn't give him anything. Is this correct? The problem will be when he is consistently below 200 and I have to go to work.
 
Or if you have the time and he is near that 200 range, don't feed and retest in 20 minutes to see if he rises enough to shoot. Closer to 200, monitoring wouldn't be as important.

And in all cases, be sure the number is rising, not falling.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top