Max2~AMPS=125, +3=55, +4=48, +4.5=54, +5=71

Stephanie & Max

Member Since 2009
I'm following the rule for kitties who don't hold reductions. So, Max earns a reduction if he drops between 40 and 50 on 3 separate days on a dose. I've been feeding HC to keep numbers up, so I'm wondering, if he would have gone below 50 if I hadn't fed HC, do I count those as one of the three days? I don't want to not feed MC or HC when he's trending down in order to hit the below 50 mark. I guess I'm wondering about the line between feeding a cycle so he can surf vs the need for a reduction. I am also thinking the bigger depot is still impacting numbers since this is only 3rd day after dose reduction. There's a question in here somewhere. It may be, should I wait another day or so before starting to count the three drop days?

Previous Post:
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/max2-amps-341-2-271-3-280-pmps-238-4-111.270996/
 
The previous depot would have been out of the picture today, so you can count today's drop as the first drop between 40 and 50. As for feeding HC to surf, it's a question of how much HC it is taking to keep him over 50. A snack here and there to flatten the curve and prevent a reduction is fine. If you find that you are propping up with HC quite a bit in a cycle, then maybe the dose is too much for him.

He seems to dive quite a bit at onset. Is he getting meals at +1 and +2? Maybe you want to feed slightly higher carbs (say a mix of HC and LC) at +1 to reduce that dive.
 
Back
Top