Max & Elise what is Happening? AMPS 402

Status
Not open for further replies.

tiffmaxee

Member Since 2013
Today I am getting concerned. Max had a AMPS of 402!! What is happening? He has never been this high even when diagnosed in November. I need to call my vet today and don't know how to tell him I raised his dose from .5 to .75 . I'd like for it to be his idea but what if he just wants me to bring him in? Why is this happening?

Elise
 
Well several things could be happening but there really isn't enough test data to say exactly what is causing it.

More than likely its one of two things. Either he's going lower than he's use to overnight and bouncing back up. or its new dose Wonkiness. Which comes from the shed readjusting to the dose increase.

I know I sound like a broken record but really need BOTH preshots daily as well as several random spot checks throughout the day. I find the bare minimum for me to figure my cats out is 4 times a day and if they are really confusing me I test even more often. A lot of times I've tested Autumn and Casey at amps,+1,+3,+5,+7,+9,+11,&pmps on one day then the next day I tested them at amps,+2,+4,+6,+8,+10 &pmps to help me see how their bodies were using the insulin throughout the day. Which is exactly what the vet does when you take him in for a curve. Except at the vet's he's locked in a cage and they are drawing blood from a vein usually in the leg. And ear pick is much less painful or scary.

Mel and The Fur Gang
 
He's not liking the ear pricks. I haven't been able to test that much but will get more in this week. I know he hated the dry at the vet but they don't use blood from the vein. They do ear or paw prices. My docile cat was labeled dangerous from the day there. He wasn't too happy with me this morning either so I have to be careful. He hides enough now as it is. If he gets too stressed out here he will have a major pancreatitis attack. In fact I better go check to make sure he actually got his BP medicine. And yes he does get rewarded each time. He gets 100% protein treats after sticks and Gerber's baby food after his gel cap.
 
Just keep doing your best Elise! My Max saw a bit of a spike too last Friday couple days after I increased his dose slightly (in fact it was the highest # since starting back on insulin). I'm trying really hard to be patient and let the new dose "settle" in.
 
Re: Max & Elise what is Happening? AMPS 402 +6 201

Thanks Holly. This us really scary for me , especially since I increased without my vet's input. He's not available on weekends. I hope both our Maxes do better soon.

Elise
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top