Hi Elise!
I think sometimes people don't realize that "Tight Regulation" is about keeping the cat in normal numbers so their pancreas can heal and to keep their organs healthy. just throwing that out there in case you don't know - when i hear "tight regulation" i think "pain in my life and i can't do it!" Fortunately, I started when there was just one "Lantus" support group and didn't get scared off by the "Tight Reg" name!
Back to Max, though. I don't see anything that says "reduce the dose." nothing. he's still on a very small dose. I'd hold this dose and see how he is after 6 cycles on it.
I would encourage you to do two things. i would vary the time of the am cycle test, like get a +3 or +4 or + 5 instead of always getting a +6. Some cats have their low point at +6, but many haven't read the manual and don't know that's what we're expecting! You don't have to get all of those times, just vary the time you test. don't know if you're home during the day, or can do that, but if you can't during your work day maybe you could do it on your days off.
I'd also encourage you to get a before-bed test. somewhere in between +2 and +5, depending on your life and schedule. Many cats go lower at night and sometimes they go low and then bounce high. That's probably where the advice to lower the dose came from - because we have an empty section at night, and cats do often go lower there, that could very well explain a high amps, like your 402 day before yesterday. the way to know if that is happening, and if it's a safe range of low numbers, is to grab a test or two.
a cat will bounce from any range lower than they are used to - so that 402 could conceivably come from a blood sugar of 120, for example, which would not call for a lower dose.
i think of the spreadsheet as a jigsaw puzzle. you don't have to have every single piece to see the picture pretty clearly, but if you only have a row of pieces down the middle, or only have the edges, it's pretty hard to see what is happening.
i've seen you posting and encouraging people, elise. that's really kind of you! glad to have you here!