Maury's Progress

Status
Not open for further replies.

Yong & Maury GA

Member Since 2017
Doing a curve today on 2.5U dose with new diet / feeding schedule. Looks more like a kid rollercoaster lol. Also, learning that the low numbers I got on 23 Feb (+5: 50) was probably a low of 90 or 100. Didn't have any FS strips for the AT2 to double check that day :( as they were on the way.

Going to gather more data but thinking next dose might be 2.75U. Thoughts? :bighug:
 
Doing a curve today on 2.5U dose with new diet / feeding schedule. Looks more like a kid rollercoaster lol. Also, learning that the low numbers I got on 23 Feb (+5: 50) was probably a low of 90 or 100. Didn't have any FS strips for the AT2 to double check that day :( as they were on the way.

Going to gather more data but thinking next dose might be 2.75U. Thoughts? :bighug:
Yes, I'd try 2.75 u next.
 
Lowest Preshot. Afraid to give shot. @Kris & Teasel What should I do? I think he knows I was suggesting an increase o_O
I'd just answered your post about the dose increase and then I see this. Here's what to do: stall without feeding for 20 minutes, then retest. This can be repeated in 20 minute increments up to an hour long stall. Stall/retest/report BG. You can move a dose of ProZinc up to an hour without throwing your schedule off. If he's above 200 after one of these stalls then you can give a reduced dose. Let's see where he goes first.

ETA: He was bouncing and now it's stopped - ie., he's responding to the insulin properly.
 
Ok, glad I waited because he knows it's dinner time and I almost went and fed him but something told me to hold off :) Almost time for retest.
 
He's going down. PMPS ReliOn 116. Stalled 20 mins, ReliOn 101. He shouldn't go into Hypo since it's 12 hours since his morning shot, right?

Update:
+20mins ReliOn 114
I did have to give him a treat after each test
 
Last edited:
+20 mins ReliOn 131
I think his treats might be effecting his number.
15 minutes left til 1 hour mark for shot.

And he's crying for his dinner :(
 
+20 mins ReliOn 131
I think his treats might be effecting his number.
15 minutes left til 1 hour mark for shot.

And he's crying for his dinner :(
He's still low and I don't see him getting anywhere near 200. Feed him now. You can skip (safest but not the ideal choice) or give a much reduced dose (0.5 u - 1.0 u?) so he gets some insulin. Test at +2 to see where he's headed.
 
Maury's been running lower in the evenings now so I'm slightly reducing his dose. Seems to be working. Also, got the YA sample and putting about 10 pieces with his DM. He really likes it :) so I've ordered a bag. Lowest (non-scary) Preshot number :cat:
 
Maury's been running lower in the evenings now so I'm slightly reducing his dose. Seems to be working. Also, got the YA sample and putting about 10 pieces with his DM. He really likes it :) so I've ordered a bag. Lowest (non-scary) Preshot number :cat:
If he develops a pattern of usually being lower in the PM you can also adopt a 13/11 shooting schedule - ie., dose 1 hour later in the evening so the BG has that extra time to rise. That puts the PM dose and AM dose only 11 hours apart and you might catch the AM BG before it gets as high.
 
It's a technique we have listed in our advanced dosing guide. We generally don't suggest it until you've got enough data to show it might be helpful...that's why we never mentioned it before now. :)
 
We're not trying to be sneaky or withhold info. ;) It's just better to start with the basics, build up your SS data base and then get into some of the dose finessing. Feel free to read the "Advanced Techniques" sticky any time to see what other tools are available down the road.
 
I did not think I was ready for advanced techniques yet so I have not read that sticky. By no means do I think anyone is withholding any info :cat:. It's like training for anything else, "you are not ready yet" lol :)
 
Yong, Morris stayed high during the night instead of going lower as it seems a lot of cats do. One would think he would be lower because he wasn't getting as much to eat in that 12 hour cycle as he does during the day. I kept the idea of a different dose or 13/11 in reserve but haven't needed those tools. As his numbers improved the night cycle changed also.
 
Thanks Pati! Kris just told me yesterday about a 13/11 or vice versa :). I'm hoping it is a good sign that his cycles are changing because his numbers are improving :cat:. Don't want to jinx anything (because he knows what I'm thinking and then things get whacky :p) but he has been acting better past couple days and hanging out with my downstairs at the computer :).
 
Thanks Pati! Kris just told me yesterday about a 13/11 or vice versa :). I'm hoping it is a good sign that his cycles are changing because his numbers are improving :cat:. Don't want to jinx anything (because he knows what I'm thinking and then things get whacky :p) but he has been acting better past couple days and hanging out with my downstairs at the computer :).

That's great he is feeling better.
 
Maury's been running lower in the evenings now so I'm slightly reducing his dose. Seems to be working. Also, got the YA sample and putting about 10 pieces with his DM. He really likes it :) so I've ordered a bag. Lowest (non-scary) Preshot number :cat:
Which one do we ask for, for a sample? There are several on website.
 
Hi Angela! I wanted to try the YA Zero formula so I just asked for a free sample of that one. I wonder now if I had asked for sample of the YA Zero Mature if they would have sent it too. :bookworm: Just specify which one you want in the contact us e-mail form :)
 
Ahhhh still got jinxed! :banghead: I am not allowed to discuss Maury's good progress anymore LOL! Looks like we're going to get to try 2.75U afterall. Or maybe I should wait until I get his dry food to YA then decide. Cos these numbers are still with his 1/8 cup DM, now up to 15 pieces of YA (milking the sample bag :) so introducing it much slower than needed).

What do you guys think? Thank you in advance, as always ♥
 
I made mistakes in the beginning with changing more than one variable at a time. I would either add the YA or raise the dose but not both at the same time. You're weaning off the DM? How long before you switch him over to YA? If you decide to try the dose change first you could stay with the exact food or do it the other way. Also remember you have dose changes of a fat 2.5u, 2.6, skinny 2.75 also.
 
Yeah that's why I'm thinking just to change one variable at a time :) (Better safe than sorry). The YA is en route and should be here Tuesday but he won't be fully eating YA until probably the following Tuesday, as long as he transitions smoothly.
 
PMPS reading 172. Stalling to make sure it is rising before giving him his dinner and shot. Currently, being yelled and pawed at. :(
 
Sounds like he was staying flat...which is nice! Going to get a +2 tonight to see where he's headed?
 
I like it! I hope it doesn't cause bouncing also...we'll just keep our fingers crossed!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top