Maury's new Reli-on readings

Status
Not open for further replies.

sherry139

Member Since 2013
I bought a reli-on today and Maury's BG was 70. What is the difference in the BG levels on Reli-On and the Alpha Trak 2?
 
Alphatrak reads higher. So a normal cats levels on a human meter are 50-130. On an alphatrak they are 80-160.

70 is a grreat number,

Wendy
 
At the low end, there's about 30 mg/dL difference, with the AlphaTrak being higher.

Here are some glucose reference ranges used for decision making using glucometers. Human glucometer numbers are given first. Numbers in parentheses are for non-US meters. Numbers in curly braces are estimates for an AlphaTrak.

< 40 mg/dL (2.2 mmol/L) {< 70 mg/dL for an AlphaTrak}
- Treat as if HYPO if on insulin
- At nadir (lowest point between shots) in a long term diabetic (more than a year), may earn a reduction.

< 50 mg/dL (2.8 mmol/L) {< 80 mg/dL for an AlphaTrak}
- If before nadir, steer with food, ie, give modest amounts of medium carb food to keep from going below 50 (2.8).
- At nadir, often indicates dose reduction is earned.

50 - 130 mg/dL (2.8 - 7.2 mmol/L) {80 - 160 mg/dL for an AlphaTrak}
- On insulin - great control when following a tight regulation protocol.
- Off insulin - normal numbers.
(May even go as low as the upper 30s (1.7 mmol/L){60s for an AlphaTrak}; if not on insulin, this can be safe.

= 150 mg/dL (8.3 mmol/L) {> 180 mg/dL for an AlphaTrak}
- no shot limit for ProZinc, PZI, or other non-depot insulins

> 150 mg/dL (8.3 mmol/L) {> 180 mg/dL for an AlphaTrak}
- At nadir, indicates a dose increase may be needed when following a tight regulation protocol.

200 mg/dL (11.1 mmol/L) {230 mg/dL for an AlphaTrak}
- no shot level for beginners; may slowly reduce to 150 mg/dL (8.3 mmol/L) {180 mg/dL} for long-acting insulins (Lantus, Levemir, and ProZinc) as data collection shows it is safe

180 - 280 mg/dL (10 - 15.6 mmol/L) {may be 210 - 310 mg/dL for an AlphaTrak}- Any time - The renal threshold (depending on data source and cat's renal function) where glucose spills into the urine.
- Test for ketones, glucose is too high.

>= 280 mg/dL (15.6 mmol/L) {may be >=310 mg/dL for an AlphaTrak}, if for most of the cycle between shots
- Uncontrolled diabetes and thus at risk for diabetic ketoacidosis and hepatic lipidosis
- Follow your insulin protocol for dose adjustments
- Test for ketones; if more than a trace level of ketones, go to vet ASAP.
 
Having a problem viewing my spreadsheet. Can anyone help?
Maury did no have any insulin so when I test tomorrow AM do I need to test at the same time or can I sleep in tomorrow? I am a Lantus user.
 
Hello Sherry and Maury!
Gooood job momma!

I have a question about lantus, as I used PZI, how long is lantus in the system...
Sherry has not had to give a shot since 11/21- amps, which was 3 units.... ?
 
Yep, the depot is still draining. IIRC, it can sometimes take 3-5 days to clear out.
 
As for morning, you can decide tonight what schedule you want to be on. Shots need to be 12 hours apart and they shouldn't have any food for the 2 hours prior to pre-shot tests

Always test first, then feed/shoot...If you get a number you're unsure of shooting, you "stall", don't feed, and post and ask for help. Here, our "no shot" is 150 for new people, but eventually you'll learn to shoot lower numbers
 
Sherry,
Go into your user control panel, and to the screen where you can edit your signature. I "think" the only thing wrong with the link to the spreadsheet is that at the very end of the code, where it says "htm" it should say "html". When I copy/pasted it, and put the "l" at the end, it let me see your spreadsheet.


That is the link that goes into your signature, that lets all of us see it. But you should also have his spreadsheet in your Googledocs page, and that is the link that you would use to edit it each day when you add data to it. I think that link is working for you, and the last entry I can see on the viewable one is tonight's PMPS reading of "70".

Carl
 
I can read your SS fine, although we usually list things from oldest data at the top to newest on the bottom.

If Maury has not had insulin for 3 cycles and tonight had a reading of 70, I would not not give 3 units tomorrow. The dose needs to go much lower. Try testing his BG 1/2 hour to one hour before you want shot time to be, and post here for advice on whether to shoot and how much. If he's below 100, I wouldn't give a shot tomorrow.
 
Sherri PM'd me, so I'm reposting what I wrote to her: What you're seeing with the low numbers at shot time can mean a couple of things: either the depot is still helping to bring his numbers down or he might be headed into remission and become diet-controlled (not needing shots). It's too early to tell just yet which it might be.
 
Hi Sherry and Maury,

It's lovely to 'see' you here. :smile:
(I'm the 'Elizabeth' that posted in your thread on FB).

This forum is the best place on the planet for help with feline diabetes. Ask any and all questions you want to. This is an international forum and there's usually someone around 24/7.

Welcome aboard!

Eliz
 
Sherry PM'd me that he was 81 at pre-shot this morning. I'm itching to say he's heading into remission, but give it a couple more days to be sure. ;-) That's one of the reasons why there's a 14 day "trial period" before otj_icon status is confirmed. :thumbup

ETA: Sorry, Sherry! I keep spelling your name wrong. :oops: ohmygod_smile
 
sherry139 said:
His BG was 65 tonight no shot tonight. He is playful and ravenous. But he always was a food hog! :mrgreen:

Woohoo! 14 days of numbers between 40-120 with the majority in double-digits and he'll be considered OTJ! This makes Day 3 of no insulin now? 11 more days to go!
 
Great news ms. Sherry~~ and mr. Maury~ Was 75 amps.....no shot & working on day 4!
He must love his 3 carb dm! How's the pooo going? any better?
Were u able to find tuna flakes for treats?
How's the pokey going?
Just soo excited here for you both! :-D
Shellie & the girls!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top