Mauer

SashaV

Very Active Member
https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/mauer-is-surfing.240148/
Link to old thread.

@Deb & Wink it's like you know when it's time. I reduce on a lower pmps, with the idea to go back up amps, you tell me to hold the dose and it's working every time!
But I'm wondering if this kind of tapering is normal?
It's scary to think she was at 4.50U not too long ago!

Restrictions only take us so far...
It only works if people are following the advice given. The UK string os here too, specially in the region where I'm living.
They haven't closed the daycares yet, like in the spring, and people are mad about it. They say children doesn't spread the virus, but the adults watching them aren't allowed to use a mask or likewise. They're in very very high risk, since it's doctor's and nurse's children they are watching. And they aren't prioritized to get the vaccine witch I find ridiculously stupid.

You don't sound like a broken record, Deb! :D it's nice to know exactly what you're thinking so I don't mess up. And it seems to be working!
If you told me it would work better if I ran naked around the block, I'd probably do that too!
But please don't, I don't want my neighbors to get traumatized :p:cool:
 
Yes, this kind of tapering is normal.

We don't want you to traumatize anyone.

Riots in our nation's capitol today. That is traumatic enough for me.:( Scary too.
It's one reason I'm on here early this evening. To distract myself from the insanity.

Yeah I saw... it is insane. Who do they think they are? Violence has never been the way to go, never accomplished anything useful. Pure insanity and stupidity..
Saw someone already died and several people hurt... so terrible!


I'm off to sleep now. I really hope this is an awful nightmare. I didn't in my wildest imagination see this riot coming, resistance maybe but not this at all. I feel for all of you!
 
If you told me it would work better if I ran naked around the block, I'd probably do that too!
But please don't, I don't want my neighbors to get traumatized :p:cool:
OMG!!! I'm still laughing about this! You've put a picture in my head of you running around the neighbourhood, arms flailing in the air with syringes in hand shouting "I SHOT THE CAT! I SHOT THE CAT!" :eek:o_O:stop:
 
Last edited:
OMG!!! I'm still laughing about this! You've put a picture in my head of you running around the neighbourhood, arms flailing in the air with syringes in hand shouting "I SHOT THE CAT! I SHOT THE CAT!" :eek:o_O:stop:
Well, I'm certainly crazy enough to do so, if it would get the diabetes to magically disappear :Do_O

I suddenly got myself a rabbit yesterday!
He was running free, hiding under a car on my street. No winter fur so he's probably set free because his family didn't want him anymore. I'm looking for his owners, but if they don't come forward, he might be a keeper!
 
Really hard work!
But darn I've learned a lot. My English is much better. I'm sleeping when I'm supposed to. The beginning was rough but again I was on my own for about two months, not really knowing what I was doing..
And the best thing of all, she's still here with me, and she's happy! All that matters.

I named him Theo.
He's so brave, very young but actually well taken care of, used to humans and likes company. He feels safe enough to sleep when I'm sitting behind him. That's pretty big for a prey animal.
For now he will stay, I still hope someone is missing him but chances are not that great.
I'll wait a few weeks, then he is going to vet to get neutered. Right now he lives in my... I believe you call it a mud room? Well, an entrance with a sink and storage! Away from the others, and running free during the day and he loves it :bighug:
 
20210108_210220.jpg

Just a tiny baby boy! All black.
 

Attachments

  • 20210108_210220.jpg
    20210108_210220.jpg
    46.6 KB · Views: 375
I'd recommend increasing the dose again to 2.75U. The 2.5U isn't keeping Mauer's BG levels low enough for long enough.
 
I'd recommend increasing the dose again to 2.75U. The 2.5U isn't keeping Mauer's BG levels low enough for long enough.
My thoughts too. I'm excited to see how it goes tomorrow, it's like her body hasn't realized what's happened yet.
Tomorrow is weighing day!
My gut tells me that she's lost weight again, but let's see!

She fell apart today :joyful::D:D
20210111_223642.jpg
 

Attachments

  • 20210111_223642.jpg
    20210111_223642.jpg
    65.6 KB · Views: 313
She gained 70g, but I don't know if she peed or pooped before..
She's all pink at her PMPS!
She goes down but doesn't stay there long, but in both cycles at least.

I got snow again! And went to my dentist appointment today, only praises thank goodness. I was told eight years ago that if I didn't change something - drank less coca cola, that I wouldn't have any teeth left in seven years. I've lost two, besides the one's far back that no one needs. I go every 3-4 months just to stay on top of the situation.
 
I think that Mauer needs to go back up to 3U of Prozinc. Both cycles. The 2.75U dose isn't keeping her low enough.

That could just be a full bladder. Or fuller than last time you weighed her.

Heavy rain expected here this coming weekend. Better than several feet of snow that needs shoveling.
Glad your dental appointment went well today. Whoa! on losing 2 teeth already. No one needs their wisdom teeth, and sometimes they get impacted and have to be surgically removed. No fun. Brushing twice a day, plus flossing each time too helps me. Water pic can help to, using a jet of water to get debris out around the gum line.
 
I think you're right, so I increased her dosage. My first thought was to wait and see, then she gave me a pink amps..

Exactly, and because of their raw food they don't poop every day, and she did the day after. So I'm convinced she's lost weight anyway.

I've had my wisdom teeth removed, and then 2. Lot easier to keep clean now! One had to be surgical removed, easy and no biggie. Just got an abscess afterwards and it hurt like a b****!
Sounds like a good idea with the water! I must look into that :D
 
Come on Mauer! Come on down from those pink BG ranges. Yellows at nadir are not low enough either little one.

WaterPik is a brand name for the cleaner to use on your teeth. It's use is in addition to flossing, brushing, and seeing your dentist regularly.
 
She came down, alright....
Pink to green in 5 hours.
Right now I'm sad you won't be here until after her PMPS, cause my head is screaming DECREASE!
I'm trying the 3U at her amps, and make a decision later about her pm shot.

Last night they didn't get slippery elm in their food. I've looked at the box and it says 100% pure slippery elm, but is it possible that it could have kept her high?

Ha

Lol, that's why their brand isn't in Denmark :D:D Pik is.. male genitalia :smuggrin:
 
I'd still go with the 3U for PMPS. Oh, you did. I see that on the SS. Never mind.

I found this information about slippery elm and effects on the blood glucose levels.
"The mucilaginous soluble fibre in slippery elm plays a role in controlling blood sugar levels. Soluble fibre delays gastric emptying. This results in steadily slowing sugar absorption into the blood through the lining of the small intestine thus lowering the glycemic index of food, especially simple sugars."

So if I'm reading that correctly, no slippery elm in the food would have meant MORE sugars released into the bloodstream? Not sure on that Sasha.
So the BG levels would have been higher without the fiber. I think.
 
So 3U was definitely the right call.

Didn't sleep much last night. She wasn't low, I just didn't feel safe not knowing how low she'd go..

No slippery elm since last week. She's bouncing a lot again :banghead:

Hope you're well, dear Deb :bighug:

Tomorrow Theo is going to the vet's getting neutered, I'm nervous :nailbiting:
 
Mauer didn't go too terribly low at all last night.

Sending calming thoughts your way, as your new rabbit Theo gets neutered.
 
I reduced. Only to reduce the risk of me sleeping with one eye open third night in a row. I neeeeeed sleeeeeep.
I'll go back up to 3U tomorrow morning.

Theo's surgery went just perfect, and he's up and about.

I forgot to feed Mauer mid day. I'm seeing a pattern. Unless she's like really low, food makes her BG stay put or go up. When she's not fed she makes beautiful PMPS numbers.

Now SLEEP!o_O:cool:

Be back at +5.
Don't even remember the last night I had a night with no interruptions....
 
I forgot to feed Mauer mid day. I'm seeing a pattern. Unless she's like really low, food makes her BG stay put or go up. When she's not fed she makes beautiful PMPS numbers.
Make that note on your SS, so you can see if there is a pattern.

So try the no food at mid-day for a bit longer and see if it makes a difference and the pattern holds. Or mostly holds.
Mauer may drive you crazy with begging if she isn't fed at mid day, but resist. Redirect her attention with interactive play time, brushing, talk to her, whatever it takes. Take her for a walk in your yard, leashed if needed. Pick her up and give her great big sloppy kisses if needed.

My civie Dancer jumped up on the kitchen counter this evening and gobbled down her second dinner serving. I forgot to put it away where she couldn't reach it when I went off to do something else.:banghead:
 
That's the funny thing, she doesn't ask for food, she doesn't drive me crazy. I have to carry her to the food bowl when I think she needs to eat.

There's definitely a pattern, I've tried it for some time now. But everyone's saying they need food during the cycle so I've felt it was...wrong not to feed her. But it's working. She still have free access during the night where she eats.

Miver on the other hand drives me crazy. But he's fed on their cattree where Mauer can't get up, so I'm feeding him more regularly.

Way to go Dancer! That's self-serving :D:D

I woke up feeling something in my neck and a tiny headache. Now it's a full-blown migraine :banghead:
I'll eat my medicine cabinet and go back to bed :(
 
I hope your migraine goes away. Dark room, quiet, try to sleep.
Thanks Deb!
It lasted a few hours on heavy medication. It was a rough one. Hurt like a ####

So! I think she's bouncing. 1/22 pm cycle was interesting! I've invented my own saying for it - too low for comfort :D
Considering I was extremely tired and needed sleep, and then she starts surfing those rare numbers o_O
My gut is saying she's gonna fly right back down..

Yesterday morning I woke up to Miver in pain, he was constipated and was very uncomfortable. I gave him pain meds and a microlax - don't know if you have something similar, but its a laxative for the behind, and it didn't work. Called the vet who didn't have a vet in the clinic until Monday. Called the next clinic who fixed Theo Tuesday and got an appointment for 3 in the afternoon. Freaking forgot the AM/PM thing again!!!:banghead:
Then around noon he pooped, we went to our appointment anyway since it was Friday and would get a lot more expensive during the weekend.

... vets conclusiones was, he WAS constipated. His bowls were empty, but sluggish and very quiet. So he's on antiinflamatories pain meds for now, with Theo who got his last dose tonight, and Mauer with her insulin. 3 out of 4 is on medication.

Theo is the sweetest baby boy ever. He gives kisses all the time, he's so curious and kind. And his fur is SO soft! And he loves to cuddle. I have a picture for you, when the site will allow me to post it!

I hope you're doing well!
And Dancer isn't serving herself with human food :D:p
 
Sending get well vibes and wishes to Miver. Hope he feels better soon.

We have Miralax here in the US (the generic name is polyethylene glycol 3350). Dancer gets this once a day, to help with her constipation issues.

Do you have any time for yourself, with medicating 3 out of 4 of your crew? Is Coco the dog the only one not on medication right now?
Please give your new bunny Theo some kisses from me. Hope he likes them.

You can drag and drop the pictures from another tab or window into the post. The "Upload a File" function isn't working right now, but Robert (the administrator) is working on the issue. Here is the thread on the work around (alternative method of posting a picture or file).
https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/uploading-files.241806/

No, Dancer isn't serving herself any human food right now. :)I'm eating lots of soup and veggies since it's rather cold here this weekend. Cold and windy too. I'll share some chicken with her next week, when I get my home cooked meal delivered on Tuesday. She hates cheese, so I'll scrape the mozzarella cheese and sliced tomato off the top before I cut some chicken up for her. She'll like that.

p.s. I like those greens that Mauer got last night, 1/22/21.
 
Microlax is a tube, up the back end. It's more like an enema, but very quickly. Works after 5-15 minutes and then the cat (or human) REALLY needs to go to the bathroom.
I'm sorry to hear Dancer is having issues with constipation too.

A cat who doesn't like cheese? Seriously? Are you sure Dancer really is a cat? o_O

Yeah, Coco is the only one not medicated. I don't know what you mean about time for myself. But I don't think so...
The last year I've spent $5000 on vets, food, litter and other essentials. $1000 on insurance. And all this doesn't include Mauers diabetes witch I'm getting 80% of the cost refunded. So I don't sleep through the nights ever, I've used three months salary on them, I can't go to family gatherings (well...
talk about a positive thing about the pandemic), I can't visit friends or I need to go home after a few hours, can't go away for a weekend or on holidays, unless my sister wants to look out for Mauer and she wants a long notice. I more or less live in 5-7 hours intervals. If she's safe at +5 I have 7 hours until next shot and then it starts all over again. And then IF I manage to get away from home, I worry about her.

This is the main reason I'm considering levemir instead. Then she'd be generally lower but without the ups and downs. It feels safer to me to know what's going to happen. Now I shoot on a 20mmol but then she rushes down to 8mmol and back up.
As I understand levemir it's more consistent BGs is moving slowly so it won't give her a roller-coaster ride every 12 hours. But at the same time, it scares the **** out of me, that what I do on a Monday won't show until Wednesday. I don't know..... my life is all about the animals and specially Mauer and her diabetes.
 
This is the main reason I'm considering levemir instead. Then she'd be generally lower but without the ups and downs. It feels safer to me to know what's going to happen.
Once the depot builds for the L type insulins (lantus, levemir) it usually is a smoother curve. Fewer ups and downs but it takes time to see the nadir from Levemir, which is usually in the +8 to +10 hour time frame.

As I understand levemir it's more consistent BGs is moving slowly so it won't give her a roller-coaster ride every 12 hours. But at the same time, it scares the **** out of me, that what I do on a Monday won't show until Wednesday.
It's not quite like that. Yes, it does take time to build up or replenish or deplete the insulin "depot" (storage area under the skin), but once that is done, you get steadier curves. ECID of course. Your cat can always do the unexpected. But Mauer is doing that now, doing the unexpected, and limiting how much you can do in your life.

I really think you should start a thread over in the Lantus/Levemir ISG group and ask who over there has experience with Levemir and could guide you.

Dancer has suspected megacolon, which we manage with the addition of the Miralax and daily fiber in her diet.
A cat who doesn't like cheese? Seriously? Are you sure Dancer really is a cat?
Seriously. But she loves chicken, especially the rotisserie chicken from my local grocery store. Or pork. Whenever I cook some pork, I have to save some and cut it up into little pieces so my "toothless wonder" can eat it.
 
A nadir around +8/+10 would give me a night with no interruptions, maybe not every night but still..
But it would also mean that I need to shoot on lower numbers.. witch we both know I absolutely hate :nailbiting:
But in general it would give me more flexibility and time that I don't have now.

ECID is definitely relevant to keep in mind. She's a special cat, but in that area I'd wish she'd be like everyone else :eek:

Megacolon is terrifying!
Nice you can keep her going on fibers and miralax. Pork and chicken is nice too! But cheese is a wonder food! :smuggrin:
What about ice cream? Mine would kill for some ice cream!
 
Nice blues today in the morning (AM). Then Mauer went and gave you that high yellow BG for the evening (PM) pre-shot test and is up into the pink zone already.

Saw your post in the Lantus forum. You said you were almost out of Prozinc. Ready to switch to Levemir now?

No, Dancer doesn't care for any dairy products or eggs. Wink loved them, but not her. DEB loves eggs and I'm a self admitted cheese addict. I sort of had ice cream for dinner tonight. I made some baked custard last week, had too much to eat and froze the extra. I used to make homemade ice cream all the time, but it makes too much and I'm the only one around these days to eat the ice cream.
 
Nice blues today in the morning (AM). Then Mauer went and gave you that high yellow BG for the evening (PM) pre-shot test and is up into the pink zone already.

Saw your post in the Lantus forum. You said you were almost out of Prozinc. Ready to switch to Levemir now?

No, Dancer doesn't care for any dairy products or eggs. Wink loved them, but not her. DEB loves eggs and I'm a self admitted cheese addict. I sort of had ice cream for dinner tonight. I made some baked custard last week, had too much to eat and froze the extra. I used to make homemade ice cream all the time, but it makes too much and I'm the only one around these days to eat the ice cream.
She likes the pink these days. Today's AM cycle was awesome! It could have been green, but I'm happy with the next best thing!

I'm not ready at all. I'm not ready to leave you and I don't feel up to it already. Question is, will I ever be?
No harm in asking... and that took me months, so maybe there's hope for another vial of prozinc :smuggrin:

Deb! Ice cream for dinner!!!!!
I'm jealous :D I had tortillas, looooots of cheese!
Dairy products is a funny thing not to like for a cat..

Since she's pink and therefore have a longer ride down, I'm gonna postpone to +6.
Witch is now only 2 hours and 50 minutes away, so I better get some sleep.
Nice to get a reply from you when I'm actually online :D:D

Be safe, Deb!:bighug:
 
I'm not ready at all. I'm not ready to leave you and I don't feel up to it already. Question is, will I ever be?

Think of how much better your English is now. How you managed to learn to test more. How you've managed to learn to feed Mauer to bring her BG levels up. You've learned to read those subtle clues that Mauer gives you that she may dive low during a cycle. Think of how very, very much you have learned here. "Shoot low to stay low."

You've learned a lot here Sasha, in the last few months. I think it's time you tried the levemir for Mauer.
Time to take that leap of faith.
 
My English has improved a lot!
I'm not saying I feed my cats with vomit anymore :D:oops::smuggrin:

Who is going to tell me I need a chill pill and go see the twins?
Or tell me about American foods?
Or about gardening?

I now it's time to take a leap of faith...
Mauer needs to be in the healthy numbers more than she is now, and for my nerves a more steady curve.
But as you say, I've learned to see the subtle signs, figured out how she responds to prozinc. Levemir is a different insulin, it feels like I'm starting from scratch again.. I don't feel ready to start all over, but I don't know if I'll ever be.
 
I reduced.
Based on it worked as intended on January 20, she stayed down there but didn't go too low for comfort, as I invented :oops:
January 22 was too low for comfort, and I didn't reduce. So I reduced. And I feel horrible about it.
I plan on going back up to the usual 3U tomorrow morning.

I'm going to see the twins on Friday! Gosh I need that!! I'll run the minute I've shot the cat and left her some food, and be back around +5, perhaps +6 depending on what her AMPS is.
 
I'm going to see the twins on Friday!
Yeah! You need that visit Sasha.

I can still cheer you on, if you are over in the Lantus/Levemir forum. I'm simply not well versed enough with Levemir to know what you should expect, and how you should proceed with the dosing. But with Mauer, I think you should expect the unexpected.

I still consider my first priority to help the Prozinc folks. But if you tag me, I'll try to answer you as quickly as possible. But that may be a while.

So you reduced, and then decided you should have kept the higher dose? Live and learn Sasha, live and learn. Second guessing ourselves is something we all do. Don't worry about it too much.

A little bit of snow expected here this week. Only a few inches, but it will be a relief to see something other than the brown of the bare trees and the dead leaves. Going to be very cold too, single digits, about 5 degrees Fahrenheit (-15 C). I'll be staying inside as much as possible, since it's supposed to be windy too, and the wind chills will feel like well below 0 Fahrenheit (think -25 to -40 C). Bitter cold.
 
You're here early Deb!

I'm glad I reduced, she kept down there as I hoped. I feel something is about to happen...she's flat, but not budging much either way.

I got snow too! And exactly why I want snow, only because of the light. Winter colors can be quite depressing and white snow is an uplifting weather, if you ask me.

Gosh that's cold! We're expecting -10, that's bad enough. I think we're having a full moon tonight, I'm sitting outside in my backyard having a night smoke.

Theo has been inside the last few days, just a half hour each day. He is currently living in my mudroom, so it's a different scenery to him. He is doing very well, Miver LOVES having a rabbit friend. Mauer is looking at me like "seriously!!!!?!? Another one?!?!?!" :eek::smuggrin:
Mauer is the oldest so she has been through 7 rabbits, 6 guinea pigs, two dogs, a bird and Miver of course o_O
 
Those flat yellows could indicate that Mauer is getting ready to clear a bounce.

I was sitting down, taking breaks from clearing the snow. So I was here a bit earlier than usual, resting my old joints in between sessions of shoveling 3 sets of steps, the wooden deck, side door to the garage, area in front of the garage doors and other areas that the plow can't reach. Several hundred feet to clear.

After all those roommates, you'd expect Mauer to be used to a new furry family member.
 
You were saying something about clearing a bounce... Mauer didn't get that message. I really don't know what she's doing :eek:
Did I do a fur shot?
She wasn't wet after, I always check. Maybe she just needed a pink day?

Oh dear, that's a lot of snow! But better to keep in front of it now before it turns into ice. We don't need any broken hips og arms!

I believe she's used to it, she just doesn't care. She keeps her distance and expects them to do the same, if not they get a slap on the face without the claws. And just as I wrote this, their noses touched :oops::p
Miver wouldn't keep his distance then he was a kitten, he was trying to nurse on Mauer (am I saying that right?!) Even though he was old enough. He grew up on the attic of my brother's farm, and he was so tiny. So Miver is the only one she really accepts.

12 hours I'll be with the twins! I can't wait!
I think I'll start the levemir on Saturday morning..
 
Mauer, you don't need any pink days. How about some blues instead?;) Mauer had at least 1 nice blue last night. That could be why she is in the pinks today.

12 hours I'll be with the twins! I can't wait!
Hoping you have a nice visit with the twins and your friend. Did you ever get both of the blankets done for them?
I think I'll start the levemir on Saturday morning..
Sounds like a good plan!

Yes, Miver trying to nurse is correct.
 
Mauer, you don't need any pink days. How about some blues instead?;) Mauer had at least 1 nice blue last night. That could be why she is in the pinks today.


Hoping you have a nice visit with the twins and your friend. Did you ever get both of the blankets done for them?

Sounds like a good plan!

Yes, Miver trying to nurse is correct.
I got one blanket done.....
The other one is in hiding :oops:

I'd love some blues! Perhaps even green! Green like summer and sun... and lemonade in the backyard. Like dark green grass! I need summer. Are you ready for summer? Any wild plans for your garden?
 
Since you will be switching to levemir, you'll need to "shoot low to stay low" in order to see those blues and greens.

I've been planning changes to my gardens since last November! There are always changes I want to make. More flower bulbs planned to go in. The ones I planted this past fall won't be up until the middle of April, with most of them flowering in May.

I don't have any grass in my yard, except a couple of ornamental grasses in the perennial gardens, that were here when I moved in 15 years ago. I've even left the area behind the garage unmowed for years, and letting a miniature wild meadow grow instead. Too shady for grass there anyway.
 
Since you will be switching to levemir, you'll need to "shoot low to stay low" in order to see those blues and greens.

I've been planning changes to my gardens since last November! There are always changes I want to make. More flower bulbs planned to go in. The ones I planted this past fall won't be up until the middle of April, with most of them flowering in May.

I don't have any grass in my yard, except a couple of ornamental grasses in the perennial gardens, that were here when I moved in 15 years ago. I've even left the area behind the garage unmowed for years, and letting a miniature wild meadow grow instead. Too shady for grass there anyway.
I knooooow. And you know how much I hate shooting lows :oops:
I'm better at it, and hopefully I'll get a LOT better at it :cool:

What bulbs? Something with colors?
I mostly dream about my garden, maybe I should start planning for real..

A wild meadow no matter how small is wonderful for the bee's and other small bugs. It's invaluable really. We've gotten to clean, we need to leave out some mess for the insects to live in. Id really like to have a compost in my garden but I'm afraid my garden is way to small...
I love how trash magically turns into gold :smuggrin:

I'm so excited about tomorrow. I really hope I'm doing the right thing!
The twins are growing like weeds!!!! They're 6 months old, and Oskar is size 1 year old :eek:
He's at 10 kilos! They're both long babies, but Emma is only at 7.5 kilos, it's very clear that Emma is the girl with her feminine features, and Oskar the boy much more masculine. Very funny to see how they grow more and more into their own personalities.
 
Back
Top