Mauer SS

SashaV

Member Since 2020
https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/mauer-ss.233328/#post-2607833

Link to the old thread, a near death experience on my part :banghead:

@Deb & Wink what do we do from now on?
What dose is appropriate for Mauer? Preferably one that gives me a GOOD night's sleep :D
Today and in the future o_O
I did a +6, had the same thought as you. But not as high as I expected.

Huge hugs from Mauer and I, too getting us into safe numbers last night :bighug::bighug:
 
I hit the wall now. Counting down 2 hours and 10 minutes, I'll be sleeping!
Mauer is high though. Not black...yet.
Little sugar in her urin, eating, tired and sleeping, doesn't seem so far away as before her diagnosis.
 
I shot the cat!!!

Sorry, I love that saying!
I decided on a fairly low dose of 1.5U.
Mostly because I need sleep. Secondly because it must be better than nothing since she's high enough. And Deb is not here to make sure I don't f..... it up :smuggrin::D
So I took the easy way, since the time difference makes it a lot harder. And I really need sleep. Instead of my water bottle I was about to take mayo with me to bed.

I'll do a PM test at +6, to me it looks like Mauers nadir is about there.

So what's my move tomorrow? I'll be home to test. Do a 2U, 2.25U?

I think it might be my fault, all this mess. The last 2 or three days I've been feeding her 2 a day after the tests, before pzi.
+6 is right in the middle of a cycle and where she needs help to get back up. Could it be it?

Now I need to kiss on my lovely Mauer, spoon a little and let her know I love her. Even though I've been torturing her poor ears.

I hope I'm doing the right thing.
Now...sleeeeep
 
I think it might be my fault, all this mess. The last 2 or three days I've been feeding her 2 a day after the tests, before pzi.
+6 is right in the middle of a cycle and where she needs help to get back up. Could it be it?
What do you mean by 2 a day?

If Mauer is over 150, you should be able to give her the full dose. Yes, I think that back up to 2U sounds reasonable. Unless she does another pajama party tonight. Please, don't do that Mauer. We need our beauty sleep.

Is Mauer shedding a lot? I have hair everywhere!
Yes, it's shedding and hairball season again here too.

Deb is fine. Was out gardening today, before the heat wave hits. I've got too many flower bulbs, hundreds, ordered and arriving the end of September, beginning of October.:nailbiting: Ordering so many was my "relief valve" and a "spark of hope" that the virus would not get worse and that I would not catch the virus. So far, so good, "Knock on wood." I figure I need to dig 65 good size planting holes for them, in the next 6 weeks. And my soil is rocky clay, so digging with a pickax is not unheard of.:rolleyes:

When I couldn't get to sleep last night, I got up and had a snack of chips and dip - at 3 am, and read for a bit. That's close to your taking mayo to bed Sasha, but not quite.;)

p.s. Mauer has a wicked bounce going. Don't worry too much, you'll get her back on track starting Monday.
 
2 meals a day instead of free feeding

Yellow and close to blue. On a 1.5U dose
Hungry and fresh like last night.
I'll do another test in 2 hours. And sleep until then.
Gosh I'm tired.
I'll answer tomorrow just wanted to give you an update in real time since I was up anyway.
 
I also want to garden! I have grass and grass and more grass...
By next year, I'm hoping on a cat proof fenced garden, wooden deck, lots of flowers, a netting fence to create rooms with crawling roses! My garden is 9x4 meters at the most i think, so pretty tiny :rolleyes:

Good strategy to keep planning ahead Deb!
I really don't hope you get the virus!!

I'll try to feed her more meals today and up her dose to 2U and see how she's doing.
 
I was thinking I saw somewhere that if the cat bounces, or +2 higher than ps, that you could stop testing until next shot is due. Generally, in mind that every cat is different.
But can I?
I do test a lot, but often she bounces up and then goes down again, I guess that's not generally what happens.
I kinda already got my answer but it would be nice to hear some thoughts about it.
 
I'm not an expert by any means! .. but for example Yesterday Tuckers AMPS was 345 +2 was at 393 He usually drops around +5 thru +7 When I checked him at +7 he was at 76. I have to work 4 days a week and i'm unable to test mid cycles during those days. So, the days I'm off I get as many tests as I can to get an idea of how the insulin is working for him. LOL Tuckers chin is resting on my hand as I'm typing. His head is bouncing up and down :D:D
 
I'm not an expert by any means! .. but for example Yesterday Tuckers AMPS was 345 +2 was at 393 He usually drops around +5 thru +7 When I checked him at +7 he was at 76. I have to work 4 days a week and i'm unable to test mid cycles during those days. So, the days I'm off I get as many tests as I can to get an idea of how the insulin is working for him. LOL Tuckers chin is resting on my hand as I'm typing. His head is bouncing up and down :D:D
Lol I know the type!:D

But if I keep testing on a bounce, like I did so often, am I not just wasting tests?
 
But if I keep testing on a bounce, like I did so often, am I not just wasting tests?
Well, that's a good question. Those testing strips are so valuable.. Lets wait for Deb ;)
Oh!! I had a patient the other day from Finland! She moved here a few years ago. I didn't ask her what part or city, poo.. Still part of the Netherlands which is pretty cool!
 
Well, that's a good question. Those testing strips are so valuable.. Lets wait for Deb ;)
Oh!! I had a patient the other day from Finland! She moved here a few years ago. I didn't ask her what part or city, poo..
Finland is a heck of a long way from Denmark :D:D:D
And much much colder. Witch I'd like right about now!
 
I was thinking I saw somewhere that if the cat bounces, or +2 higher than ps, that you could stop testing until next shot is due. Generally, in mind that every cat is different.
That usually works for MOST cats. But is Mauer like most cats? That is the question, to test or not to test............................

If you are sure that your cat is bouncing, then testing later in the cycle will not gain you much information.
The question is, are you sure the higher number at +2 is a bounce, or is that the food influence from the meal fed at pre-shot time?

But it looks like you could drive it in less than 24 hours. Denmark, take the ferry to Sweden, drive up past Stockholm and take another ferry over to Finland. Easy Peasy!
Temperature in Helsinki is 68 degrees and they are supposed to get some rain later this week. I'd take BOTH of those weather conditions.

Only taking a short break since it's cooler inside 82 F (27.7 C) than outside 90 F (32 C) then it's back out into the heat and humidity for me. Gardens are calling me, so I'll take my "liquid refreshment" out with me and keep myself going. Poland Spring water, I love you. Then, it's off this afternoon to look after my friends garden while she and her husband are sailing the coast of Maine for a month.

p.s. High flat yellow BG's often signal that a bounce is breaking. Let's see if this is true for Mauer too.
 
That usually works for MOST cats. But is Mauer like most cats? That is the question, to test or not to test............................

If you are sure that your cat is bouncing, then testing later in the cycle will not gain you much information.
The question is, are you sure the higher number at +2 is a bounce, or is that the food influence from the meal fed at pre-shot time?

But it looks like you could drive it in less than 24 hours. Denmark, take the ferry to Sweden, drive up past Stockholm and take another ferry over to Finland. Easy Peasy!
Temperature in Helsinki is 68 degrees and they are supposed to get some rain later this week. I'd take BOTH of those weather conditions.

Only taking a short break since it's cooler inside 82 F (27.7 C) than outside 90 F (32 C) then it's back out into the heat and humidity for me. Gardens are calling me, so I'll take my "liquid refreshment" out with me and keep myself going. Poland Spring water, I love you. Then, it's off this afternoon to look after my friends garden while she and her husband are sailing the coast of Maine for a month.

p.s. High flat yellow BG's often signal that a bounce is breaking. Let's see if this is true for Mauer too.

Mauer doesn't seem to be like the majority nor following any kind of guidelines. It would be nice though!

Stockholm? Its an 8 hour car ride and 2 hours on the ferry, and an hour to the ferry from me, the rest of the way I haven't been. My dad is a trucker, or was, in up north of Norway. Let me just say, ice road truckers go hoooome! They don't drive on a lake, but on mountains with risk of snow and rocks falling down, sometimes so heavy snow that a tractor drives in front to clear the road ahead. I've been on a trip to Kirkenes, right on the border to Russia. Fun fact, in the far north of Norway they almost speak Danish. Norwegian is similar in many ways, but up there its like being home :woot:

Now I got of track...
Seems like the temperature we have, but I've kept it cool inside so its only 23, I like it!!!! :D:D:D:D:D

Are you taking care of their garden while they are away? More gardening for you! Could imagine its a lot of work in this heat :eek:

I had food out during the day, she hasn't eaten anything.

I so hope its true for her too!!
 
Very very far away :D:D:D
Its a size thing... we can drive from one end of Denmark to the other in 4-5 hours, us i so much bigger i can't even begin to understand it. I didn't get why you fly so much :D now I do!
I live in Missouri. To get to my home town in north Dakota I have to drive 10 hours.. to get to the gulf of Mexico its 18 hours! I never thought of how big we are! I'm kinda envious of smaller countries.
 
I live in Missouri. To get to my home town in north Dakota I have to drive 10 hours.. to get to the gulf of Mexico its 18 hours! I never thought of how big we are! I'm kinda envious of smaller countries.
I get why!!!! :D:D:D

So I don't think I've ever seen Mauer this steady and...flat? She almost hit blue, so close!

Edit: I jinxed it.
 
Last edited:
I get why!!!! :D:D:D

So I don't think I've ever seen Mauer this steady and...flat? She almost hit blue, so close!

Edit: I jinxed it.
Well, be sure to change the font size, and put in an anti-jinx.

I would not call that a jinx. That looks like a bounce to me, for 8/11 PM (evening) pre-shot, that red.
Reds usually indicate bouncing.
Blacks usually indicate bouncing.

That is especially true if the cat is at lower BG levels during the cycle than their body is used to.
Or they ate some high carb contraband.:rolleyes:
 
Well, be sure to change the font size, and put in an anti-jinx.

I would not call that a jinx. That looks like a bounce to me, for 8/11 PM (evening) pre-shot, that red.
Reds usually indicate bouncing.
Blacks usually indicate bouncing.

That is especially true if the cat is at lower BG levels during the cycle than their body is used to.
Or they ate some high carb contraband.:rolleyes:
I'll definitely do the anti-jinx!!!!

She can't eat anything high carb.
They have their own surefeeders, witch has been empty for the last week or so, even Mivers. So only raw and canned. And the dog eats up in seconds. And my home is cat proof and rabbit proof, no foods or wires available :D

Hope she keeps steady today, cause I have plans for once.. huge!!!! anti-jinx!!!!!
I baked pizzasnails, don't know if they're snails in us too, yesterday and I promised to stop by McDonald's on the way to my friend's house with the twins! Just for a few hours, so fingers crossed! Only a week since I was there last, and those two grows like weeds on fertilizer!:D:D:D
 
Ok Mauer, please behave so your mom Sasha can visit her best friend and the new twins.

Oh good, taking a quick look at your SS Mauer it does look like you were a good girl. Anti-jinx

Pizza Snails? Is that like pizza in the shape of a snail, spirals going around and around? Never heard of them before, but I found plenty of recipes on the internet. Something else new to try for home cooking. I've got a whole folder in my browser with recipes I'd like to try.

But first, I have to do something with the beets and cucumbers and long thin eggplants my good friend Megan gave me. Enough to feed an army, and Dancer doesn't care for fresh veggies. She doesn't like eggs either and I got a dozen very fresh eggs too! Her loss, my gain.:)
 
Ok Mauer, please behave so your mom Sasha can visit her best friend and the new twins.

Oh good, taking a quick look at your SS Mauer it does look like you were a good girl. Anti-jinx

Pizza Snails? Is that like pizza in the shape of a snail, spirals going around and around? Never heard of them before, but I found plenty of recipes on the internet. Something else new to try for home cooking. I've got a whole folder in my browser with recipes I'd like to try.

But first, I have to do something with the beets and cucumbers and long thin eggplants my good friend Megan gave me. Enough to feed an army, and Dancer doesn't care for fresh veggies. She doesn't like eggs either and I got a dozen very fresh eggs too! Her loss, my gain.:)

She was a good girl! But I still rushed home to test her. But I god to see the twins, bring the food and the snails :D
They are suffering in this heat, its so brutal for newborns.

Exactly! Very good snack in a rush or a picnic lunch. Try it and remember lots!!!! of cheese :D:D

Uh! You could make pickles? Or a cucumber salad?
Don't think any cats like veggies lol :oops:
Fresh egg in a curry salad with mayo and fraiche YUM!

I was wondering if Mauer need an increase? She seems steady like never before but still she isn't reaching those blues.
Her amps is usually good and pmps high. But it is hot and she's not moving a lot during the day like she does while I'm sleeping. So I'm thinking.. if I raise dosage, is it for the wrong reasons? Or maybe I should stick with the 2U until this heat is over?
 
I was wondering if Mauer need an increase? She seems steady like never before but still she isn't reaching those blues.
Her amps is usually good and pmps high. But it is hot and she's not moving a lot during the day like she does while I'm sleeping. So I'm thinking.. if I raise dosage, is it for the wrong reasons? Or maybe I should stick with the 2U until this heat is over?
No, I think going down from 3.25U and even 3U to 2U was too big of a drop. I think she needs a dose increase, heat wave or no heat wave. I'd bump the insulin dose up to at least 2.25U. Maybe even 2.5U. Try the 2.25U for at least 3-6 cycles, to see how Mauer does before you consider the 2.5U dose.

She did earn the decrease to 3U when she dropped low on 8/7/20 (7/8/20 your date format). So the best dose for her is probably a bit higher than the 2U but less than the 3.25U. You just have to find it.

Cucumber soup is one idea that I will be trying with the cucumbers. Best served cold, so great for a hot day. I ordered and picked up 2 dozen 1 pint canning jars at a local store today, curbside delivery, so I can make pickles too.
I'm a cheese "addict". I probably have 10 kinds of cheese in my fridge right now.
Glad you got to see your good friends twins. Kids change so much when they are that young! I have a friend with a 22 month old granddaughter. Need her to send me some new pictures, but she's off sailing the Maine coast for a month.

I had a Golden Retriever that would steal tomatoes off the kitchen counter, and all you would find is a pile of tomato seeds on the floor. It got so I would toss her cherry tomatoes from the veggie garden, the cracked ones that would not keep well.;)
 
I'll bump her up to 2.25 and hopefully she keeps steady. She hasn't been bouncing much either since our late night pj party.
I'll just throw in a huge ANTI-JINX!!!! to make sure it keeps going the right way!

Sounds delicious with soup!
Loooool I'm a cheese addict too. Its the best thing that can happen to any food - cheese! :D:D

They changed so much and gained so much weight! They were two weeks premature so they have to catch up a bit.
22 months is a great age! Can't wait for the twins to get older!

She was smart! Leaving the seeds. Then you won't have to buy new seeds the next year :D
Very clever dog!!!
 
So she been on the 2.25U for a few cycles now but haven't yet reached the blue or green. It seems like the first few cycles she bounced a lot, is that a normal response to a dose increase? She had higher amps than pmps and if one was yellow the other one would be pink.
So I'm going to 3U tomorrow morning. If you agree Deb.
 
It seems like the first few cycles she bounced a lot, is that a normal response to a dose increase?
Yes, it's normal for some cats to bounce when they have a dose change. It's called New Dose Wonkiness (NDW) over in the lantus ISG group. I kid you not.

Mauer is definitely ready for a dose increase. The 2.25U dose isn't doing much to budge her BG numbers.
Next dose for Mauer will be 2.5U and we'll see how she does on that dose.
 
NDW :D
How funny! I'm glad it isn't just me :oops:

It isn't doing much to get her lower, but she's going steady without the big jumps. Hopefully it's just fine-tuning from now on. I'm an optimist :D:D
 
So I believe she's ready for 2.75, do you agree Deb?
If so, I'll start on Monday morning. Sunday is my birthday and I won't be home a lot during the day, so safer to wait the one day.
She's high pmps so I want my first full night of sleep in a long time.
Hope you're well and safe :bighug:
 
Happy Birthday Sasha, since it's already tomorrow where you live. Although something like 3 AM so you will see this when you wake up.
A slice of rainbow cake for you. There's a color there for almost all the colors on Mauer's SS. Plus, I love rainbows.

Yes, time for an increase. Bump the dose up to 2.75U. Perfectly fine to wait until Monday. Birthday exception applied to the dose increase! ;)
 

Attachments

  • Rainbow cake small.jpg
    Rainbow cake small.jpg
    14.5 KB · Views: 222
Happy Birthday Sasha, since it's already tomorrow where you live. Although something like 3 AM so you will see this when you wake up.
A slice of rainbow cake for you. There's a color there for almost all the colors on Mauer's SS. Plus, I love rainbows.

Yes, time for an increase. Bump the dose up to 2.75U. Perfectly fine to wait until Monday. Birthday exception applied to the dose increase! ;)
Aaaaaaw thanks Deb!
I love rainbows too, and what a wonderful symbolic to Mauers SS :bighug::bighug:

I'll bump her up to 2.75U, since it went wrong with the 3U last time, 2.75 MUST be the right dose. I'm still optimistic :D:D:D
 
What the heck is going on?
I gave her a skinny dose, since she wasn't as high as usual and I had an appointment with the most amazing twins, so to be sure she didn't drop too low I shot a skinny and went home for a +5-6 test, and it almost didn't move. The 2.5U is 6.3 in the syringe, 2.75U is 6.9, so I went 6.5-6ish.
She made the same amps and pmps! Funny thing is, her behavior is as if she was low. No drinking, peeing, being far gone in her sleep and sluggish. Awake, almost playful, purring and curious.
Look how I found her this morning :p:D

Point is, her behavior isn't reflecting the numbers, and the numbers seems high and weirdly steady
If this was in the blue I'd be like :nailbiting::nailbiting::nailbiting::nailbiting:
 

Attachments

  • 20200827_085245.jpg
    20200827_085245.jpg
    45.7 KB · Views: 230
Even if her behavior is not reflecting the higher numbers,she is telling you she feels good.
Sometimes numbers steady in the yellow ranges can indicate that a bounce is about to break.

If the bounce doesn't break, and Mauer continues to get the higher numbers, I think you should consider increasing the dose again to 3U.
 
We've been SO CLOSE to those wonderful blues.
Yeah she bounces the first two or three days on a new dose.

The 2.75U didn't get her blue, but the 3U got her green. Frankly I'm scared to go back up
Maybe I could a fat 2.75U? Consider the fat 2.75U a dose in itself? Before the full 3U.

I've also been thinking.. is this normal, in your experience Deb? That it takes this long to get regulated?
I know patience isn't my thing, but does it really take this long? I know we've been standing still in a month, and I still feel bad about it.
My vet wants a long-term bloodsugertest, and I'm afraid it hasn't moved much since the last time.
How long do I give it, before throwing in the towel and try something else?
My vet listens to me, and the money isn't an issue. So in the overall picture what do you think?

When we tried levemir and it went to **** no one checked her for ketones. She got nauseous, vomiting daily and wouldn't eat, but we got blue. In my entire spreadsheet the levemir period still looks best. Maybe her dose was too high, I wasn't as experienced as I am now, I know now that levemir has a longer duration and a change in dose doesn't show for days, I didn't at the time.
I don't know, I'm thinking out loud really.
 
Yes, some cats can take months to get regulated.
Cats react differently to the various insulins.

Sounds like your vet wants to do a fructosamine test.
Since you test multiple times a day, your testing is showing more detail than a fructosamine test ever would.
Up to you to do that test or not. It gives the average BG for about the past 2 weeks.

Looking back at Mauer's SS, it looks like the dose of Levemir was too high, and raised too quickly too and by whole (1.0)Uunits and not by quarter (0.25U) units.

You could try the fat 2.75U. But it's likely there is some insulin resistance that has built up, with Mauer continuing to be in the higher pinks and yellows.
I would not hold that fat 2.75U dose for long though.

So, levemir is a good insulin for cats. Later nadir, nice long duration, a depot insulin like lantus. I don't know it well at all. Only some of the basics. Take a look at the Lantus/Levemir ISG group, and the stickies over there.
 
Months and now half a year :banghead:

Yeah fructosesamine - I can't even remember it in Danish :rolleyes:

I used the pen, it only has 1U intervals. And my vet switched her on the same dose as caninsulin. Now that I know how it works I'd go slooooooow...
I don't know. Patience isn't really my thing :arghh:

I'll try the fat 2.75U starting Sunday morning.
Is the resistance something that builds up from the BG being too high?
 
You can use a syringe with the insulin pen. The pen is like a miniature vial of insulin, with a rubber stopper at the end.
The syringe is inserted into that rubber stopper, and you withdraw the insulin dose needed. Let's you make changes to the insulin dose, in much smaller increments than the 1U doses that the dial in feature of the pen lets you do.

Once you start to use a syringe with the pen, you need to continue to do that. Changes the pressure or something. My ageing brain forgets exactly why.

Is the resistance something that builds up from the BG being too high?
Yes, having the BG too high and having the dose held for too long when an increase is needed is one reason for insulin resistance.

p.s. Google translate says that fructosamine in Danish is fruktosamin. Pretty close.
 
Danish isn't so far off in many words :D
I sometimes call it something different and my vet corrects me, now I don't remember what I call it :p

Starting the fat 2.75U today, and hoping it takes her down to those lovely blues :cool:
 
16.9 mmol amps, 17.4 mmol +2 so I thought we'd have a quiet bouncy day. I got curious and tested +6 12.8 mmol. So close to blue!

Both cats eats raw and canned, and have done so in a few weeks. No dryfood, surefeeder machines are put in my closet. Since we went 100% raw and canned no one is drinking. They have a water fountain and Mauer usually loves it. She doesn't pee that much either, only once or twice a day.

Although it looks like she ate a balloon. She got thin before her diagnosis but now she's fat again. Other than its generally unhealthy to be overweight, and probably what got us here in the first place, I see a limp on her right frontleg and with the weight gain it's getting worse..

I'm calling my vet and getting an appointment for her, and then I really want an x-ray of her leg and shoulder.

She eats raw homemade low fat, canned food with added water..... how the heck do I get her to loose some weight?
When I can't change food or exercise.
 
11.7 mmol +7
0.5 mmol from hitting blue!!!
I won't be getting a good night's sleep I can feel it already.
She's playful when she gets this "low" and I love it! :bighug:
 
She eats raw homemade low fat, canned food with added water..... how the heck do I get her to loose some weight?
When I can't change food or exercise.
Portion control.
Doesn't have to be a lot, maybe 1 teaspoon to 1 tablespoon less food a day, will add up with time.

Excess weight also contributes to the insulin not working as well. Fat cells do not use the insulin as efficiently as muscle mass.

So close to those blues, but yet so far away.
Playful is good, as it means she feels good at lower BG levels.
 
What a day. Huge bounce today. But yet a really fast one.. in hindsight I should've tested again..

By the way. I miss her, Mauer.
I get up, test, feed, shoot, she jumps in bed, then I'm living and testing. I test, feed and give her the shot and then she's getting up as I go back to bed. I bug her multiple times a day and she sleeps. Tomorrow ill push her out of bed and be annoying until she stays up!

I went up to 3U after 2 cycles of the fat 2.75U. It didn't do much..
 
Cats do sleep alot. When they are in high BG numbers, they often sleep even more than usual for a cat.

My cat misses me, when I'm outside working and playing in my garden. She greets me at the door when I come back in. Of course, she's usually looking for food, either her mid-day snack or it's dinner time. :rolleyes:

I love the weather here in September and October. Great gardening weather.:)
 
Hahaha its a cat thing :D
Mine does that too, specially Miver. Even though it's only been for a half hour snackfaaace :D:p

Me too! Perfect temperature.
I'm making a list of the plants for my cat proof garden. Isn't it better to plant in the fall instead of spring?
 
I'm making a list of the plants for my cat proof garden. Isn't it better to plant in the fall instead of spring?
It depends on what you are planting, and how soon the first fall frost occurs, and when the ground freezes solid. I try to leave at least 6 weeks between my last planting date and the usual ground frozen solid date. Gives the plants time to get their roots established, and not frost heave with the freeze and thaw cycles.

Here, some things are better planted in the spring, to give the roots more time to get established. Like any kind of shrubs, vines, some perennials.
 
It depends on what you are planting, and how soon the first fall frost occurs, and when the ground freezes solid. I try to leave at least 6 weeks between my last planting date and the usual ground frozen solid date. Gives the plants time to get their roots established, and not frost heave with the freeze and thaw cycles.

Here, some things are better planted in the spring, to give the roots more time to get established. Like any kind of shrubs, vines, some perennials.
That was actually a good rule, and easy to remember. We get frost during the night, we've had lazy winters the last few years so I don't think the ground ever freezes solid. But then out winters is very moist..
 
Back
Top