Mauer SS

SashaV

Very Active Member
As Deb requested :D:D:D

@Deb & Wink
So something strange happened.
She got no insulin last night, +7 without insulin she was high as a kite at 418.
This morning, and no insulin for 24 hours she's at 297.
I was expecting a black reading.

Thankfully I got a lot of help yesterday! I didn't know what I'd do without it!!!

Hope your headache is better :bighug:
 
I'm glad to see that Mauer did NOT have a black reading this AM.

So even without an insulin shot, her pancreas must have been producing a little bit of insulin to bring her down from that red BG reading last night.
With the skipped shot last night, and the low numbers during the AM cycle, Mauer will be higher than usual for a while, with a combination of bouncing and getting back on track with the dose.
 
I'm glad to see that Mauer did NOT have a black reading this AM.

So even without an insulin shot, her pancreas must have been producing a little bit of insulin to bring her down from that red BG reading last night.
With the skipped shot last night, and the low numbers during the AM cycle, Mauer will be higher than usual for a while, with a combination of bouncing and getting back on track with the dose.
Wrong! She's freaking GREEN!!!!!!
 
Options.
1. Carb her up and abort the cycle. Feed her medium carb or high carb food. That is what "aborting the cycle" and feeding her high carb food should do.
Give her only the gravy from the high carb food, if you have that in your "hypo toolkit". This is not yet a hypo, and Mauer is at +6 in the cycle, so should be going back up.
2. Give her some simple sugar, like honey, corn syrup, maple syrup or something else you have on hand. Simple sugars wear off fast.


Please reduce to 2.75U in the AM for 8/9/20.
 
Options.
1. Carb her up and abort the cycle. Feed her medium carb or high carb food. That is what "aborting the cycle" and feeding her high carb food should do.
Give her only the gravy from the high carb food, if you have that in your "hypo toolkit". This is not yet a hypo, and Mauer is at +6 in the cycle, so should be going back up.
2. Give her some simple sugar, like honey, corn syrup, maple syrup or something else you have on hand. Simple sugars wear off fast.


Please reduce to 2.75U in the AM for 8/9/20.
This is seriously not my night.
I was SO CLOSE to skipping the test!!!!
I'll feed her a tiny bit of honey and retest in 10
 
Mauer is doing her own thing, and not following the "rules" on bouncing and skipped shots at all. ECID.

Come on Mauer, help your momma Sasha out and go higher please.

If you have any low carb food, you can add a drop of honey to that food, to increase the carb content. A drop, not a teaspoon or a huge amount. A very small drop, like the size of a kernel of corn or a sweet pea or a brown lentil.
 
I know she's totally doing her own thing
I'm glad I didn't skip the test. Omg.
And im half asleep not a good combo
 
Please test again, 20-30 minutes from the last test you did.

Doing one of those "eyes closed down to narrow slits" testing nights again? Not what you want to do, I'm sure. Bright light, so you can aim better for the "sweet spot".

Is it totally inappropriate to ask, when is i safe to go back to sleep?
You want 2 hours of rising numbers.
 
Ok, so Mauer is "surfing the curve" again. (5.2 times 18 = 94)
The dry food takes a bit longer to break down in the stomach and make an impact on the BG levels.
So wet food is the way you want to go.

If she tests over 150, don't feed any more sugar, but try to wait another 30 minutes and test again.
 
Ok, so Mauer is "surfing the curve" again. (5.2 times 18 = 94)
The dry food takes a bit longer to break down in the stomach and make an impact on the BG levels.
So wet food is the way you want to go.

If she tests over 150, don't feed any more sugar, but try to wait another 30 minutes and test again.
So first the honey, then dry and now wetfood?
 
Can't get half hour test in my ss
Stack the numbers in the same cell. Worry about manually color coding that cell later. When you've gotten some sleep.

Sure do hope you don't have to work in the morning.

p.s. Cross posted again. Please look back at my reply #16.
 
I can't stack from my phone and have no idea how to do so on my Mac.

I don't. I'm on early retirement. But I sure do like my sleep!!!!
 
First thing you should reach for, when the BG numbers are a bit lower than you expected, is some of the regular low carb food.
Then you try the medium carb food. If you don't have any medium carb food on hand, you can increase the carb level of the low carb food by adding a tiny drop of honey.
Then you try the high carb food. Dry food is usually high carb, so that could be an option, but it takes longer to digest and won't raise the BG levels as quickly.
You can make home made gravy if you know how. Flour and butter mixed together on the stove top.

Last step to bring the BG levels back up is to then smear the honey on her gums, but that is only if the BG's are <50 and are not rising with all your attempts at feeding the various levels of LC (low carb), MC (medium carb) , HC (high carb) food.
I can't stack from my phone and have no idea how to do so on my Mac.

I don't. I'm on early retirement. But I sure do like my sleep!!!!

One number right after the other works ok. We'll fix it later.

I like my sleep too. It's why pajama parties are so hard for me to do. It's only about 10:30 PM here on the east coast of the US. I'm good for maybe another 90 minutes, max.
 
First thing you should reach for, when the BG numbers are a bit lower than you expected, is some of the regular low carb food.
Then you try the medium carb food. If you don't have any medium carb food on hand, you can increase the carb level of the low carb food by adding a tiny drop of honey.
Then you try the high carb food. Dry food is usually high carb, so that could be an option, but it takes longer to digest and won't raise the BG levels as quickly.
You can make home made gravy if you know how. Flour and butter mixed together on the stove top.

Last step to bring the BG levels back up is to then smear the honey on her gums, but that is only if the BG's are <50 and are not rising with all your attempts at feeding the various levels of LC (low carb), MC (medium carb) , HC (high carb) food.


One number right after the other works ok. We'll fix it later.

I like my sleep too. It's why pajama parties are so hard for me to do. It's only about 10:30 PM here on the east coast of the US. I'm good for maybe another 90 minutes, max.

I'll need to get regular canned food...


Wanna switch? Then I'd have a full night of sleep! :D:D:D:D

I might as well eat my morning pills so I can wake up. Or ill have a black eye tomorrow from bouncing the doors
 
Please give Mauer another teaspoon of wet food, with a 2-3 drops of honey added to it.
Then test again in 20-30 minutes.

3.9 mmol/L (70 mg/dL) is still a safe number
 
It doesn't feel safe.
She's very hungry and playful
Almost like she's a kitty again.
And now thats gone
I'll do another in 20 minutes
 
So ill need to keep testing every 15-30 minutes until I've seen a rise in numbers continuously for 2 hours?
Lather, rinse, repeat, as we say.
Test every 20-30 minutes. It takes that long to see the BG changes from the food.
Feed more food ( LC or MC or HC) if the numbers are low.
Wait 20-30 minutes and retest.

You want at least 2 consecutive tests where the numbers are rising (or stable).
As long as the BG levels are above 60-70 mg/dL ( 3.33 - 3.88 mmol/L) Mauer should be fine.

Is she showing any signs of hypoglycemia? That usually doesn't happen until a cat drops below 50 mg/dL ( 2.77 mmol/L).
 
I'll test in 30 minutes
Is it normal she isn't going up?
With this experience, do I still only decrease by 0.25?
If she's not out of the blue in 4,5 hours do i shoot?
 
She's fed Sheba added sugar so must be high carb and added 3 drops of honey.
She wasn't that eager to eat, so maybe its going up.

I know this isn't high-school, but I only have 3-4 spoons left of the 2 full Shebas I had. The dog ate the rest...... in my sleepy feeding.
Sun is coming up, still nice temperatures here. We're in a national heatwave :banghead:
 
Stores open in one and a half hours.
Now more than ever im glad they sell crappy foods!
15 minutes to next test.

Oh Deb, I really don't know what I'd do without you. And this forum!
I usually keep to one person, my vet said now she got another vet in the clinic, I keep only her for Mauer cause she can't write all Mauers down without writing several pages, and the other vet wouldn't be able to keep up. Thankfully she's comfortable with me riding my own show, with you on the side of course :D
 
Is it normal she isn't going up?
She should be going up a bit more, with the high carb dry food you fed her.
Plus, the honey added to the wet food should make her BG levels go up.
I know this isn't high-school, but I only have 3-4 spoons left of the 2 full Shebas I had. The dog ate the rest...... in my sleepy feeding.
Sun is coming up, still nice temperatures here. We're in a national heatwave

If you have any wet dog food, you could try feeding her that. When you are in a pinch with the food, you feed what is available. Does Mauer like any kind of people food? Cooked chicken/pork/turkey/beef? Cheese? Tuna? How about Miver's food? What food does he eat?

With this experience, do I still only decrease by 0.25?
I think the new vial of Prozinc is dropping her more than you want to see.
How do you feel about a decrease of 0.5U?
If she's not out of the blue in 4,5 hours do i shoot?
Depends where in the blue she is. If Mauer is >150 mg/dL (>8.3 mmol/L), you could go ahead and shoot.
There is also the option of giving a token dose, 10-25% of the normal dose.
Third option is to skip the dose. Call it a "fur shot" if you prefer.

Some cats are more sensitive to insulin when they have encountered low numbers like Mauer did yesterday and today.
You might consider reducing the dose even more.
It's pretty easy to increase the dose again if you need to.

p.s. Heat wave starts here on Monday, 4 days of 90+ degree Fahrenheit (32 + C) temps. With A/C only in my sleeping area.
 
She should be going up a bit more, with the high carb dry food you fed her.
Plus, the honey added to the wet food should make her BG levels go up.


If you have any wet dog food, you could try feeding her that. When you are in a pinch with the food, you feed what is available. Does Mauer like any kind of people food? Cooked chicken/pork/turkey/beef? Cheese? Tuna? How about Miver's food? What food does he eat?


I think the new vial of Prozinc is dropping her more than you want to see.
How do you feel about a decrease of 0.5U?

Depends where in the blue she is. If Mauer is >150 mg/dL (>8.3 mmol/L), you could go ahead and shoot.
There is also the option of giving a token dose, 10-25% of the normal dose.
Third option is to skip the dose. Call it a "fur shot" if you prefer.

Some cats are more sensitive to insulin when they have encountered low numbers like Mauer did yesterday and today.
You might consider reducing the dose even more.
It's pretty easy to increase the dose again if you need to.

p.s. Heat wave starts here on Monday, 4 days of 90+ degree Fahrenheit (32 + C) temps. With A/C only in my sleeping area.

I'm comfortable decreasing to what you think is appropriate. I do not have your experience with diabetes, insulin, ss and hypos. I know I'm the one giving the shot, and the final decision is all mine, and I won't lay my responsibility on to you, but I listen to you.

Miver gets porta21, RC urinary and RC fibreresponse and raw like Mauer. The dog gets MUSH with vegetables. I might try cheese. She loves ice cream!!!

We have 28-32C, Danish people do not have A/C at all. Only in our cars. And yeah, sometimes we take a longer drive to get cooler. Lol :D:D:D
 
For the AM cycle, yes only a dose of 0.75U.

Not a reduction of 0.75 units, but a token dose of 25% of the 3U dose would be a total of 0.75U. Not even as far as the 1 unit mark on your insulin syringe.

Longer term, I think the dose reduction should be more than the standard 0.25U dose.
At least a dose reduction to 2.5U, maybe down to 2U.
This bottle of Prozinc seems fresher. Dropping Mauer too low.
 
For the AM cycle, yes only a dose of 0.75U.

Not a reduction of 0.75 units, but a token dose of 25% of the 3U dose would be a total of 0.75U. Not even as far as the 1 unit mark on your insulin syringe.

Longer term, I think the dose reduction should be more than the standard 0.25U dose.
At least a dose reduction to 2.5U, maybe down to 2U.
This bottle of Prozinc seems fresher. Dropping Mauer too low.
I'll give her 0.75U in four hours, and see how it goes. Depending on how it works during the day, I might give her same dose tonight, or go 2-2.50U again after evaluating the day.
 
5.8!!!!
We're going back up on our own!
I'll test again in 45 minutes
Thought you would be going back up without food. Since you are very late in the cycle and the insulin effects wear off then.

I will not be up still in 45 minutes. Need a shower to wash off the sweat and bug spray smell, before bedtime.

@Shelley & Jess Will you be up by any chance? I see that you have "liked" a few of the recent posts in this thread.
 
Thought you would be going back up without food. Since you are very late in the cycle and the insulin effects were off then.

I will not be up still in 45 minutes. Need a shower to wash off the sweat and bug spray smell, before bedtime.

@Shelley & Jess Will you be up by any chance? I see that you have "liked" a few of the recent posts in this thread.
But she dropped on her own last night, big drop if you ask me. So I hope you're right!

I think I can manage from now on. If she keeps up and don't drop again.
But thank you for all your help. I'm so thankful! This could have gone seriously wrong if I was on my own.
But I'm an experience richer!

Hope you sleep well, and be safe :bighug:
 
Yikes!!! What a night!
No kidding!! I was at the party, but stayed quiet in the corner :)

I was thinking the same thing as Deb when I checked in earlier in the night - expected higher numbers for a couple of cycles after the lows and skipped shot.

My goodness Mauer sure surprised me when you said you got Green!

Logged off shortly after my midnight & your +8.5 when I seen Mauer was on the rise - WHEW!!

And so good to see she didn't skyrocket this morning at AMPS too!

Hoping you have a good (& restful) day Sasha. And you too Mauer!
 
Sasha, you must be exhausted.
Glad to see you only did the 0.75U dose.
If you are awake around +6, please try to get a test.
Hope you got a chance to run out and get more food for Mauer. Even some "junk food" with higher carbs will be ok. A good thing to have in your low numbers kit too.

I'm "running on fumes" today as the saying goes. When your gas tank is below the empty mark on the gauge, and you don't know if you have enough gas to make it to the next gas station. I think a nap is in my future, how about yours?

When you have a chance, please start a new thread and link this old one into the top. Thanks.

p.s. This is the first pajama party I've done in years. Had to skip my sleep meds in order to stay awake. :eek:
 
I just got home with some more Sheba crapfoods with added sugar :D
I won't ever, never ever not have junk food somewhere in the house, never!

I was really expecting some totally different numbers, high and a battle to get her down again... but she bounces, also more than I can see others do, so something must have told me not to skip the PM testing.
When I saw that number, I was like....byebye sleep!:(o_O

I've had a busy day. Showing my old apartment, vacuuming and did the dishes, sold my guinea pig cage, watched some Hawaii Five O... not tired yet, but I am on Ritalin, your Adderall? let me just say, ill be awake til pmps. But then ill sleep until amps.. and push in a test.

Oh dear, did you stay up for me?!:oops:

Thank you again so much. It means the world!!! :bighug::bighug:
 
Back
Top